We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient hotel within walking of train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 25% off
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient hotel within walking of train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have had good success with the Hilton Garden chain in the UK and this did not disappoint. The rooms are very clean and well furnished. Free WiFi and an iMac in the room is a nice touch.

I had a room with breakfast included and found it to be a good value and while it was crowded in the morning I had no trouble getting enough food and getting served coffee and tea.

This hotel is convenient to the train station though it is a little further from the 'center' of town than some other possible choices. We were still able to walk to the center and to the University within 20-30 min. and the hotel is by no means isolated.

If I had one gripe it was that the elevators did not work the day we left and we had to climb down several flights with luggage. There didn't seem to be any urgency in getting it repaired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay with us.

I have passed your comments about the lifts on to both the Reception Manager and the Property Manager, who both asked me to send their apologies.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Garden Inn, Bristol City Centre.

Chia Gaddess

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    579
    161
    47
    17
See reviews for
102
557
110
348
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stopped here for one night and were pleased with the hotel and the general decor. The staff were polite and helpful and there was a host of facilities which we never got time to use in our short stay.

Our room was small but very well equipped and we were very impressed with the iMac computer/TV! The shower did seem to have a bit of a mind of it's own but the shower room was very well equipped - certainly a cut above your usual 'budget' hotel chains.

Probably better suited to 20/30's crowd as there was a lot of noise on the Saturday night into the early hours when we returned to the hotel from a night out.

The hotel is a little way out of the town centre, if you are intending on a night out I would suggest that you will need a taxi of which there are plenty in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Garden Inn, Bristol City Centre.

Chia Gaddess

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Since I last stayed here, and wrote a rave review, I stayed here again and there are signs of slippage. I think the hotel is now fuller than it has been during the week and this might be contributing to a slight lowering of standards. The reception staff are still superb and among the best I have encountered. The evening restaurant staff are even better - really attentive, friendly and not intrusive. The evening menu is now looking tired but is still excellent value by hotel standards. Breakfast was hectic and the tables not cleaned which took the edge of an otherwise excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay with us.

Your review made for very pleasant reading, and I have handed your comments on to the Head Chef and the breakfast team. I do hope you can see the improvements made next time you stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Garden Inn, Bristol City Centre.

Chia Gaddess

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well located with access to all the central areas of Bristol. Easy check in and great breakfast. Well equiped rooms and fast free internet access. Would definately choose this hotel again. Car parking provided and was wasy to use.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Garden Inn, Bristol City Centre.

Chia Gaddess

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

As the title of my review,we had an excellent two day stay here .Our room could have done with a touch of paint here and there but on the whole was very comfortable and modern.would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay with us and your very kind words.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Garden Inn, Bristol City Centre.

Chia Gaddess

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here with friends for a weekend break. The place was clean and lively with a fantastic food and drinks menu. The food was presented extremely well and was off the highest quality and tasted great...I get the feeling the chef's have some degree of free reign on the menu and its shows! They also make all their own bread in house which was great. All the Staff were fantastic, extremely professional but also on the same level as the guests at all times meaning a bit of light hearted banter was had! The bartender was highly knowledgeable about the wine selection and all the restaurant staff were very attentive. With reagrds to the rooms, alll of us agreed that they were modern, clean and extremely comfortable (and all include an I Mac computer which is a novelty idea) We all faced the back of the property which over looked a stunning park and avenue with an old Norman church ruins. The proximity of the hotel to the city centre is great meanig that it is a 10 min walk to most areas and bars and 5 mins from the ,main train station. Overall, this was a great stay with great staff and great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay with us.

Your review made for very pleasant reading, and I am also a huge fan of the homemade bread.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Garden Inn, Bristol City Centre.

Chia Gaddess

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A wonderful experience from the moment we arrived. Welcomed by a friendly staff. Room overlooked a park very quiet and lovely sunset thrown in!! iMacs provided! Staff extremely helpful and friendly in the bar and restaurant. Evening meal was delicious, fresh bread baked on site, waiters delivered a superb service.Breakfast was delightful, waffles with homemade berry compote mmm! Great start to the day, enhanced by the cheery greetings from the restaurant staff. Great location, close to Temple Meads and walking distance to the shopping centre and local bars. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Go for the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay with us, it was lovely to meet you when you were here.

I am very glad to hear you made the most of our award winning team of chefs at both dinner and breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Garden Inn, Bristol City Centre soon.

Chia Gaddess

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#15 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.