We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Just enough' Mint Hotel Bristol” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 25% off
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“'Just enough' Mint Hotel Bristol”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at the Mint Hotel on 15th and 16th September- the Hotel overall is very modern and clean but lacking in the 'final touches'.
We had a room for two but only one bathrobe was supplied also one tiny little bottle of shampoo was left in the bathroom for both of us!!!.
The tissue box was only topped up with a dozen or so new tissues (what's wrong with replacing with new).
The bottle inside the shower ( which i assumed was shampoo) was actually handwash.
And the real sting in the tail came when we were checking out - the hotel gives the impression that parking comes with the Hotel rate - but the cheerful man on the check out desk asked me if I had a car in the car park and when I told him I did he asked for ten pounds!!!
Mint still has a few things to learn about attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    579
    162
    47
    17
See reviews for
102
557
110
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
middle england
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

A modern, unfussy hotel: check in/out quick and efficient. Rooms a little small but welll equipped: every room has an apple mac which has its upsides, the downsides being less good TV picture. The bar was humming on Saturday night and the bar staff were good humoured.
The only downside was the parking which was a litttle zany to say the least and the less said the better.

Room Tip: All rooms are triple galzed to reduce the traffic noise: very efffective
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Excellent room, friendly staff and great value. The Mac in the room is a bonus but it also serves as the Tv so watching and surfing isn't really an option. No bath but good shower. I got a smoking room which was a luxury in this age. Afternoon service in the cafe wasn't good but room service and breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is located very close to the train station and the city centre, which is very convenient for those without a car. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the imac was a nice touch. The room service was excellent.

We had a Summer Break deal and breakfast was included in the price of the room. Whilst the breakfast was fine, I am not sure if I would have been happy paying £15 for it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We booked two rooms as our daughter and her boyfriend were running the Bristol Half Marathon. There were a lot of other runners staying in the hotel. The staff were brilliant. Very relaxed and really helpful. Check out time was midday but we asked if we could checkout later so we could shower after the run and it really was no problem. Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked. Lots of choice. We even got a free jug of Pimms with our room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Visited in Sept 2011, nice hotel, but the biggest surprise was the tiny car park and being charged £10 a day to use it!!!! This wasn't advertised when I booked it. The location is fine and relatively close to local amenities. The room was clean, but a little on the small side. The bed was very soft, so didn't get much sleep. Was initially given a room facing the dual carriageway out side, but was changed on request to a room on the highest floor facing the park at the back (nice and quiet). The MAC computer was a nice touch, but the tiny remote was very fiddley. The best thing about the hotel was the breakfast. It was well cooked and plenty of choice.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Very near to train station which suited me. Room itself was more than adequate in terms of comfort. Had dinner in the restaurant - food was enjoyable and service was very good. Would certainly stay again if I need to be in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#15 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.