We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best in the chain” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not the best in the chain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

Having previously stayed at the London Westminster and more recently the excellent new Manchester establishments, we were expecting more of the same in Bristol. However, a few things disappointed us. We noticed were that there was no hand soap in the bathroom. The liquid soap dispenser had been removed from the wall. We couldn't get access to the mini bar because it was locked. We called reception who sent someone up to investigate and after a short delay, provided us with soap and a key to the fridge. The room was small (but we didn't expect it to be large). During the night, we heard other doors opening and closing as the refurb hadn't included 'noise free' door close features which is standard in many hotels these days. The most disappointing aspect was the breakfast - full buffet style (unlike Manchester which provided cook to order on hot food). The eggs, bacon etc on the buffet were cold and unappetising. Tea was served in the teapot the size of an eggcup and toast came in very small portions for two people. We wouldn't stay at this branch of the City Inn again - it really seemed like the 'poor relation' to its siblings in London and Manchester. Don't understand why this hotel has in not of the same standard when they are all supposed to be 4 star.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — lack of attention to detail
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    522
    146
    43
    16
See reviews for
87
498
105
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

I have stayed at the City Inn several times on business. I used to be satisfied with the hotel but on recent visits there is always something wrong.
The modern compact rooms are OK for one traveler but crowded for two, the bathroom is very small with only a shower. Soap is in dispensers; on one visit neither of the two dispensers would pump any soap. For two days I dismantled them to get the soap out but the staff didn't have the savvy to realise that they didn't work and just kept putting them back together.
The rooms were refurbished recently although that didn't improve things much. Simple problems become annoying when there is always something wrong - I don't expect to keep asking for obvious things to be made available such as, no coat hangers, no TV remote, DVD wasn't connected to the TV, safe locked by previous guest and inaccessible, no complimentary beverage.
The restaurant serves expensive micro cuisine - don't eat here if you’re hungry.
I received a very pert letter following one visit demanding 65 pence for a minibar item that I didn’t take – would you risk upsetting a client for this amount of money?
The hotel seems to lack management setting any exacting standards.
I now stay at the Marriott when I am in Bristol – a far better option for the same price.

  • Liked — Location, free parking if spave available
  • Disliked — Poor standards, expensive restaurant, indifferent staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for a 2 night break at the beginning of October (Fri and Sat nights). We had booked this hotel as most other hotels in Bristol were fully booked on the Saturday night.

We got a fairly good deal which also included breakfast. The bedrooms are contemporary style, with TV dvd player and stereo, and tea/coffee making facilities and minibar. The bedroom was fairly compact as was the bathroom (shower only - no bath) but it was sufficient for our stay. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. We stayed in room 112 overlooking the churchyard at the back.

The location was good - a brisk 10 minute walk into Broadmead shopping centre, and also a short walk to the centre/Park Street area. Being in the business end of town it was probably quieter than being right in Bristol city centre. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel which goes regularly to Clifton/Whiteladies Road (bus numbers 8 and 9) so we took this option rather than a more expensive taxi.

Parking at the hotel was fine - we paid £7.50 per day to leave the car there and then just explored Bristol on foot.

Breakfast was good - a buffet style continental and cooked breakfast. The hotel was busy but they had quite a few staff on and kept things moving.

Overall, I was pleased with this hotel and could quite easily have stayed a few more days!

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Nothing negative to report
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

My bf & I stayed here for 3 nites beginning of September & I must say that everything was just perfect. Room is a bit small but you have everything you need. Very modern, contemporary --- the room has a minibar which is very handy & the staff are very friendly. There are bath robes & special added bonus is the power shower with different, different setting (champagne, rain..) The room is overlooking the road but it wasn't noisy at all. The location is very central too!!! The price is very cheap when the standard of the room & the quality of service are impeccable!!! Love this hotel... would definitely recommend!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

This is a grea hotel in an excellent location. All the staff looked after us extremely well. The food was of a very high standard and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be returning very soon.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

Stayed at the City Inn w/c 3rd Sept and enjoyed the stay with only one problem of the internet cable not working one night which was quickly resolved by David in Guest Services who was lovely.

W/c 10th Sept back in the hotel with work for another 4 nts. Check in was fine again. Room 135 - went and unpacked only to find out the internet not working - David helped again but advised me to change rooms - so changed to 140 across the hall.
After unpacking again surveyed the room to find wine stain on carpet, toilet roll holder and soap holder coming away from the walls, no desk lamp and no CD player - not too bothered about CD player as don't use them.
Made reception aware of the problems - nothing can be done about the desk lamp or the carpet - soap and toilet holder both fixed

By Thurs starting to get sick of the posh menu and craving some normal food. On the menu it says if there is something you want but it is not on the menu just ask -so I did and wish I didn't.
Ordered room service and got the Chef Peter who was rude and aggressive. He said they did not do that and if they had prior warning then maybe get something else in but would need 10 days notice! All I asked was could I get a burger or something like that - I had the lamb burger last wk and was not keen on all the spices and chillies in it I just wanted something plain!
I told him fine don't worry and ordered the omlette which I have just had and was lovely all though having worked in hotel restaurants years ago when at Uni, was probably spat in or something - maybe not - who knows!
The one excellent thing on the menu is the cheese and biscuits which are homemade oat cakes and taste gorgeous!

As for Peter well next time I am in Bristol for the wk with work I will
look into other hotels - hey they may not be so upper class but at least they may be friendly

Stay in rm 140 at your peril!

  • Liked — Comfy bed
  • Disliked — Peter the chef!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

This is the frist time I have stayed in a City Inn hotel. Great place, very clean and the staff were really friendly. Room was above my expectations and I will definately stay there again.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#8 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.