We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Backpackers Tourist Hostel

Bristol Backpackers Tourist Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bristol Backpackers Tourist Hostel
Save
You added Bristol Backpackers Tourist Hostel to your Saves list
17 St Stephen's Street | Old City, The Centre, Bristol BS1 1EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Bristol
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Blocked toilets, bedbugs, dangerous electrics, shabby, unheated, dirty overcrowded kitchen, stoves don't work, food theft common, wifi keeps crashing, noisy drunks rampaging round building, staff often rude, barely speak English. Long timers mostly Spanish workers who shout at each other, ignoring everyone else. Should be renamed as backpackers fled long ago. If you complain, they tell you to go elsewhere. Customer service? Don't make me laugh!

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    9
    3
    12
See reviews for
1
3
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Arrived there unexpectedly after my plans changed and I had to find a place in Bristol to stay. The guy on reception seemed friendly enough, cost me £16 to stay there. The dorm had about 12 people in it (male) and had a relatively good night, waking up once or twice from others coming in late, but that is expected as there is no curfew here. I didn't really get a chance to see around the rest of the hostel, however the showers and toilets were clean (though small) and the free wi-fi was a bit slow but very useful. It is in a lively part of Bristol, lots of things to do nearby, would recommend it to young people who want to see more of the city.

Room Tip: I think if you sleep away from the dorm's door, it would be a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wyalong, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I lived in this hostel for 20 months beginning in Jan 2010 - a large number of the people staying are long termers. This creates quite an atmosphere, but can be a little daunting to solo travellers who are not so confident (I was there for a week before I spoke to any of the 'long term' crowd! Do persevere though, they're a friendly bunch once they know your name!). Lots of Aussies, Kiwis, South Africans, Canadians, French, Spanish and Italians.

The facilities are pretty good, although most of the building would benefit from a coat of paint (this is a long ongoing process that the staff are working on). There's a pretty big kitchen (I've cooked meals for 30 people in there before...), a movie room that gets a lot of use, free wifi, and of course the bar, where a lot of backpacker bonding takes place!

The bathrooms are a little grotty in places, but generally fairly clean. And honestly, the best showers I've ever had - great pressure and very reliable, I had the water go cold on me once in 20 months! (Not quite sure what that other guy a few reviews down is on about, perhaps he couldn't work the taps properly? They are a bit confusing at first)

I cannot recommend this place strongly enough. It might have its flaws (but hey, it is a hostel after all!) but you will leave this place with a bunch of new friends and a lot of fantastic memories!

Room Tip: They have girls only dorms, mixed dorms and all boys dorms, as well as a couple of small private roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I Love This Place and I come back every year its great crack and very clean A+++++++++++ People working here are very friendly and helpful there is a Music Room downstairs in the Basement with various Guitars and a Piano it also has a Laundry Room and even a Bar down there. The Bar was great Crack I had checked out various Bristol Pubs but they where all very quiet on a Tuesday night but this place was buzzing. There is also a Television Room with a Huge Flat Screen TV and various DVDs to watch and free WI Fi and other internet access . A great Kitchen area with free tea and Coffey and other free stuff + nice seating areas with tables and settees . Beds where comfortable great hot Showers. Bristol is also a cool City for any traveller and I have enjoyed every minute of my stay ,it has everything you would find in London + a lot more and everything is near by the Hostel and the Staff are always on hand with helpful Travel advice . The Hostel itself is set within a huge Tudor Building with vaulted ceilings and ornate original features that you just wouldn't find in a hotel you will also meet various travellers from around the world with similar interests . I just love this Place .
Check it out its great.
Best Wishes Chris C

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I really enjoyed my four day stay. I would go back. Comfortable and plenty of chances to make freinds which is helped by the bar in the basement. Found it pretty clean too. Got plenty of sleep when I needed it. To be fair the place is getting run down and could do with a bit of ongoing cosmetic work inside.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

A pretty relaxed place, there's a decent sized well kitted out kitchen although not much space to put your food (not a problem for me as I was only there 2 nights but I can see it being a pain for longer stays) and the bunks are comfortable and pretty big, which is a nice change after some of the shoeboxes I've had to sleep in recently. Showers are top quality, strong, hot and no bloody annoying push-every-thirty-seconds-for-more-water buttons I've had to endure in a few hostels on the continent. There's a good vibe to the place, lots of foreigners and judging from the pics in the bar, some good parties. The other backpackers seem a mixed crew of travellers and long termers - no sign of drifters, wierdos or unemployed (dude, who pissed in YOUR cornflakes?) but maybe they moved on before I arrived lol. It could use a coat of paint but a lot better than many of the places I've been to. Not the draconian hellhole I was expecting after looking at some of the reviews, I've stayed in far, far worse hostels. I had a good time and it was money well spent - I'll go back if I'm in the city again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

we had a great time here. the location is great- close to everything in town. the rooms are small, but really comfortable and clean enough- what you would expect of a backpackers really. great facilities, free wi fi, movies, books, and great communal space and kitchen facilites. staff were ok- inparticular one staff member was very helpful (Felipe). Good value for money really.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Backpackers Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Backpackers Tourist Hostel

Address: 17 St Stephen's Street | Old City, The Centre, Bristol BS1 1EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Bristol
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Bristol Backpackers Tourist Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Backpackers Tourist Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.