We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here (unless you are a teenager)!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Clifton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Clifton Hotel to your Saves list
The Clifton Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't stay here (unless you are a teenager)!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Noisy until the early hours; rooms not up to standard; reserved car parking space occupied by someone else; overcharged for breakfast and refund refused; customer service awful. It seems we overpaid substantially compared to other reviewers. Having emailed a complaint on the day of departure and no reply or acknowledgement received; wrote directly to the Managing Director and 2 weeks on, still no reply. If you are 18 and want a cheap place to stay, probably ok, but otherwise avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We aim to provide comfortable and clean budget accommodation so I am sorry to hear that you feel your room was not up to standard. I am sorry also that another guest parked in your reserved space and that you were overcharged for breakfast. I hope that a refund was not refused and instead that there was some sort of miscommunication. Customer service is an aspect of the hotel we particularly pride ourselves on and often receive complements about. Any letters of any nature received regarding guest experience with us are treated with high regard, as genuine feedback is the best way for us to make positive improvements to the hotel. Please don’t feel yours has been ignored and please do send it again should you wish and I will be happy to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    75
    66
    70
    68
See reviews for
39
81
39
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Personally, I enjoyed my stay here. A lot of the poor reviews are unfair. This is a budget hotel, not a 5*. The location is good, with the city centre a 15min walk downhill. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, too. The hotel's restaurant serves up some pretty good food, though it is a little pricey. I opted for the soup of the day most evenings as it's the cheapest option at £5. The room wasn't exactly spacious but I wasn't expecting a huge room.

My only real criticism is that breakfast was incredibly slow. So slow that I witnessed another visitor get fed up and leave after waiting over 25 minutes. They insist on providing table service. You can't just grab some toast yourself, or some cereal. You have to be seated and ask for what you want. Breakfast only starts at 7am. I arrived for breakfast at 7am each morning, but didn't manage to leave before around 7:40am. If you're here on business and need to be somewhere, it's quite awkward.

The breakfast was good. Expensive though. I had breakfast included in the price of my room and I'd recommend this, else you'll spend a lot more than you'd like to on a fry up. Don't go for the regular fry up; it'll be too small, judging by the size of the large one.

The staff were lovely and very helpful. If I visit Bristol in the future, I'll most likely return to the Clifton Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Clifton and found the location convenient. You will be pleased to hear that following recent feedback on breakfast service we have made a few changes! A buffet table is now present allowing guests to help themselves to drinks and non cooked items with cooked breakfast made to order. We hope that this will improve speed but still offer the same quality food. Please do come back and give it a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff but the hotel itself has seen better days. It will be interesting to see what it's like after the refurb. It was "cheap" so as ever you get what you pay for. Our room was quite big, the beds were clean and comfortable but the carpet was grubby and the bathroom very tired with a horrible shower curtain. Location was great, near Park Street/Whiteladies Road so loads of places walkable. Didn't have any food here as the Lockside Cafe is the place to breakfast if you're in Bristol. Plus loads of good eateries near by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear there were so many aspects of the hotel you found pleasing, that you enjoyed the location for your trip to Bristol and that the accommodation was both clean and comfortable. You will be pleased to know that over the next few weeks all of the older carpets in the hotel are being replaced and that over a rolling program we are looking to replace all shower curtains with glass screens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Can't believe this was only £25 for the night!

Very friendly service on the front desk. Can't really fault the room. We had a nice double bed, big sash window, TV, kettle, hair drier, fresh loose leaf t&c, bowl of fruit, biscuits, adequet size bathroom. Plenty of pillows, quilts, sheets, blanket.

Decor was a little tired, but for the money, you can't go wrong. Plus I believe they are in the process of refurbishing.

Was a bit worried about noise from the bar, as we were on ground floor. But was perfectly quiet.

Great location, walkable to city centre - but also plenty to do in Clifton area.

Would certainly stay here again if visiting bristol

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear you took advantage of one of our special offers and were able to enjoy The Clifton at a discounted rate. Thank you for taking the time to review us – as a small and independent business feedback is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Don't be put off by the reviews! The hotel staff were friendly & helpful (especially Nathan) and went out of their way to sort out baggage,taxis, directions and helpful advice. The room was clean & comfortable. Great breakfast sitting outside in the sun with an excellent veggie option. Would definitely visit again. Maybe the decor is a bit tired but the smiley staff & good value for money more than make up for this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you found the hotel staff (especially Nathan!) so friendly and helpful; we pride ourselves in providing excellent levels of customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another sunny breakfast should you return to Bristol in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chulilla, Valencia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is in easy walking distance of Clifton village, the suspension bridge and the harbour área of Bristol. Clean, comfortable and excellent price/quality relationship. Good choice of breakfasts and helpful, friendly staff. No complaints from us, who always stay in budget hotels and found this to be one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. As a small and independent business feedback is extremely important to us. I am pleased to hear that you found staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the location for your visit to Bristol. I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

With our son at Bristol Uni I have stayed here for over 5 years and, and until recently the great service and boutique nature (fresh fruit and coffee in the room) plus secure off road parking outweighed the fact that the rooms are very small (and I mean small!) and it was in need of refurbishment, or at least a coat of paint.

But recently we stayed and frankly never again. We booked an Executive Double Room which always used to mean a decent cosy size, fan in hot weather, and well maintained but all that has changed. Our room has a threadbare carpet, tiny windows, and a bathroom that was not quite as wide as the small bath was long. Added to that, there was no fan and when we asked for one we were told variously that it should have one but they were all in use, they didn't all have one, new ones were on order and they couldn't get any. Because of this, we got almost no sleep.

Breakfast (at Rack's in the basement) was always good value but since our last stay 12 months ago it has all changed. Everything is charged for individually (£2.50 for cereal, £1.60 for an orange juice) so a continental breakfast and toast could cost almost £10.

The secure parking is off road in a large garage (suitable for ~10 cars) but evidently the coded garage door no longer closes so it’s no longer secure.

Finally, at check out when we were asked if we enjoyed our stay and we said we had not, the person seemed more intent on arguing than listening. I suspect we were not given an Executive double room though we were charged for one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you feel that the hotel has gone downhill over the years and that you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us. You will be pleased to hear that a refurbishment project will be commencing this August in order to upgrade rooms most in need including many of the carpets in the hotel. Along side this we are constantly running a rolling renewals schedule with items most in need being constantly replaced.

Due to unusually hot weather over the last weeks we did experience a shortage of fans in the hotel and did not have enough to accommodate all guests and I would like to apologize for this. We are currently experiencing some problems with the garage door meaning it works intermittently which are being looked into and we have had several companies come to investigate the problem. In the mean time however we are still able to offer guests off street parking.

I am sorry you feel that the member of staff you checked out with was arguing and I hope that they were just trying to understand your problems and explain the cause. I can also assure you that you would not have been accommodated in a room that was not the type you booked. Should you wish to stay again in the future, when I would hope that we could restore your belief in the hotel please feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure you stay in one of our recently refurbished rooms at a discounted price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clifton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.