We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for 1 night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Bristol Severn View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Bristol Severn View to your Saves list
Travelodge Bristol Severn View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moto Service Area, M48 Motorway | Severn Bridge, Bristol BS35 4BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Bristol
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great for 1 night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

This hotel does not deserve to have had such bad reviews. It is a basic Travelodge, no frills, no toilettries etc, but it is cheap (especially if you take advantage of the special sales they have), so what do you expect!
This particular hotel was in a great position, easy to get to with lots of parking right outside and it was in a quiet area, which is just what we wanted. We took our dog with us here and requested a room right by the entrance which we got, the receptioist was extremely helpful and friendly and asked if there was anything else we needed. And it is manned 24 hrs, so if there are any problems - all you have to do is ask.
For any dog owners, there is lots of grassy areas for your dog to have a sniff around and our dog settled in straight away.
The bed was comfy and clean. The shower looked abit old, but we were only there 1 night so it didnt matter.
Note;- There isnt any toilet roll provided, so take your own!
They provide towels, a kettle, tea and coffee and a little milk.

Overall, this hotel is great for a cheap 1 night stay, but i wouldnt stay longer unless you really need to. But it is clean and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    48
    24
    38
See reviews for
50
56
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

Stayed here for one night due to other hotels in area being booked up, found it to be rather run down and in need of renovation. The lady at the front desk was happy and cheerful and the room was good enough for one night if you can find nothing else.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

The bathroom fixtures where not clean and covered with lime. There was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom. The bathroom had rusty a shower curtain rod.
We booked for 3 days and would have left after we saw the room but it was prepaid. The pillow did not have any pillowcase and we where told that none were delivered on Saturday night. We had to use a bed sheet for a pillow cover. During our stay we where given one piece of soap and three plastic drinking cups which where never replaced. We had to ask for a second soap and had to wait for the next day to get it. The floor was not vacuumed or hovered during our stay and the bed where not made.
The motel should be given a one star rating

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Stayed for one night prior to a training day with work and this is THE worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

Really shabby and run down and not inviting at all. There is a musty stale smell as soon as you hit the corridors with the shabby carpets and dirty walls.
The rooms are basic to say the least and although i appreciate it's a travelodge im sure they could spare more than one tea bag !!!

The bathroom was tired and shabby and there was a tiny bit of toilet paper, they couldnt even be bothered to leave a replacement.
The matress i can only discribe as something you would find on a skip and very uncomfortable, something that was mentioned by others the following morning.

The travelodge website has photo's of smart uniformed receptionist, all warm and cosy but this is not the case at this hotel.

Dont stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Stayed for 1 night prior to catching flight from Bristol Airport .. Glad it wasn't any longer as it was one of the worst travelodges i have stayed in .. i had to ask for towels & bedding on arrival.
The place was badly in need of smartening up & the location was a bit out of the way ..
Give it a miss unless you just need a bed for the night & you get it at a knock down price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Stayed here overnight after a rugby game in Cardiff as I drove from London. Good value considering it was a Heineken Cup Weekend. I recall this place years ago as we passed through on a family holiday and though the surrounding services had gone very run down. However this is nice in its own right, it you do stay and its a clear evening walk up the hill towards the Severn as the views are spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Another stay at another awful, run down, dirty, eastern european-esque Traveloge, even at £9 for the night they are not worth it.

The place is desolate, cold, a little smelly and quite frankly not worth using. I would advise using a Premier Inn or local independent B & B or pub instead of these terrible places. Travelodge obviously don't seem to bothered about making these places at all nice to use.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Bristol Severn View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bristol Severn View

Address: Moto Service Area, M48 Motorway | Severn Bridge, Bristol BS35 4BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Bristol Severn View 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Bristol Severn View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bristol Severn View Hotel Bristol
Travel Lodge Bristol
Bristol Travelodge
Bristol Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Bristol Severn View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.