We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Washington to your Saves list
The Washington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 -15 St Paul's Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Bristol
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfectly Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Celebrating our son's graduation in Bristol, we advance booked three double rooms for one evening at the preferential rate. We would be the first to admit the place is in need of some serious investment but for what was required it ticked all our boxes. The laundry was clean, the en suite facilities did not job, there were ample tea and coffee making ingredients available and the staff, from the receptionist to the housekeeper could not have been more obliging. We also took advantage of the cheap parking Another plus is that it's only a short walk to the city centre. . Had we been staying much longer we would probably sought somewhere a little bit more up market but for our needs it was ideal. Also, may we add that heeded by a previous visit to the Washington a year ago, we decided to enjoy breakfast at a café in Clifton. Would we return? For one or two nights without any hesitation.

Room Tip: room 44 on the second floor was the best of the three we booked. Quieter and much more roomy than mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear "Len G",

Thank your taking the time to review the Washington - I am very pleased to hear that you would return to us when next in Bristol!

I am particularly pleased that you picked up on all the little extras we put in the rooms to enhance our guests' stay. As mentioned in your review, we have rooms of all shapes and sizes due to nature of the conversion of our Grade 2 listed property - we are always happy to allocate rooms according to a guest's need. Please do feel free to contact us prior to your next stay and we will arrange for the rooms you request to be available.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    121
    95
    52
    44
See reviews for
46
93
75
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. The room was dated, ripped net curtains, paint peeling off the window frames, the radiator was rusty and fruit in the basket was mouldy! ( that was not replaced in the duration of our stay either). The room was small and the bathroom could have done with a good clean.On the first day, we ordered the full English breakfast but they had no bacon or hash browns even though there was a tesco's just up the road! When we went downstairs to breakfast, we had to manoeuvre round a couple of big laundry bags full of dirty linen that had just been left on the stairs, Health and Safety came to mind!!
On the plus side, the staff worked very hard, were very polite and very helpful.
It has a 3 star rating which surprised us.
If I am honest, I could not recommend this is you are looking to stay in Bristol, pay a bit extra and stay in a cleaner and better establishment, which I wish we had done!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear "Gary W",

Thank you for your review of the Washington - I'm really very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

I have addressed your comments with the teams involved to show them how a small error in one department - when mixed with small errors from other departments can really impact a guest's experience. We have put in place several new measures to ensure that the problems you occurred with your fruit and with the stacked laundry do not happen again.

The Washington is a 3 Star Guest house, not hotel (it is roughly equivalent with a 2 star hotel) which may explain why we didn't meet your expectations. That said, ripped curtains are not acceptable so I have had them removed in preparation for some new ones.

I am very sorry that these problems marred your stay. Should you return to Bristol I would be happy to handle your booking myself in order to ensure that you receive a discount on one of our nicer rooms. Please email me on joanna.tiernay@cliftonhotels.com to receive this.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was the most run down room I have stayed in by a considerable margin. Threadbare carpets, paint peeling from the walls, a shower you cant stand in because the ceiling is too low (I am around 5ft 10 so no that tall!), dark bathroom, mouldy fruit... I could go on. Asked about three different staff members to change my room as I was staying a whole week - none of them managed to do that even though there was a high turnover of occupants during the week.

Choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear "Tom S",

Thank you for your review of the Washington - all feedback, good or bad, is discussed and used to improve our service.

I am sorry that your recent stay with us was not up to standard. We do have some rooms on the lower ground floor level that have quite low ceilings - I have impressed upon my team the importance of noticing, when guests check in, the suitability of the room for the guest. I am sorry that this problem was not picked up prior to your arrival in the room in question.

I have spoken to my Assistant Manager, Helen, about your requests to move rooms and she has informed me that you were offered the room move on at least one occasion, but as you never confirmed with reception that this was what you wanted, no move was actioned. I am sorry that this was not followed up with you more effectively as as we were so busy in the week you stayed, the possibility to move rooms in the evening was not there.

I would like to apologise for the mouldy fruit in your room. This is completely unacceptable and I have had a meeting with my housekeeping team to impress on them the importance of checking the fruit daily.

With regards to the general decor of the Guest House, we are a 3 star Guest House so a certain amount of wear and tear is probably to be expected. In our most recent AA inspection we scored well for the decor and for the extras that we offer our guests (fresh tea, coffee, fruit and biscuits in the room). We do have an ongoing refurbishment here so are more than happy to allocate the newer rooms should guests wish - these rooms are, of course, used as a priority.

Once again, I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. I do hope that, should you return to the Bristol area, you would consider staying with us again. I would be more than happy to handle your booking myself and to offer you a discount on one of our nicer rooms.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

There were two main issues with my stay: (1)the ensuite bathroom contained only a... bath. The attached shower head was for decorative purposes as it did not really work. I wish that I had known about this when making the booking - being forced to take a bath or two daily (I stayed there during the heat wave) was not what I had in mind when making my booking.
(2) the room was ventillated by a single 50cm x 50cm window. It was scorching hot! I preferred staying outside of my room ALL day, which was much cooler, than inside. To the suggestion that they should have, in the least, bought and installed some fans, they replied that they had some but not enough for everyone, and that the warm summer days were unexpected! Well, it is not unexpected to have some warm days in Bristol in the UK EVERY year, and fans are quite CHEAP! Make the effort and buy one for EVERY room! When I pay £59 per night for a 1x2m single room, in the least I'd expect a shower! That's 2013 not the middle ages!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear "Yannis_pa",

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay - all feedback is used to improve our service. I am terribly sorry that you were not satisfied with your room or the Guest house in general - this is not the feedback that any of the team here wish to hear.

We have been having some water pressure problems on the second floor recently but work is under way to improve this with 2 pumps already having been installed. I am very sorry that this problem affected your stay - especially given the heat outside.

The Washington is an old building and is also Grade 2 listed so we do have a variety of window sizes and room sizes within the building. The second floor windows are the smallest we have as the ground and first floor all have floor to ceiling original windows. We are happy to find a room that is more suitable if requested. We do have a good supply of desk fans available, but given the heat they were all in use - I have recently purchased more to satisfy the demand and will be working towards having one in every room.

Once again, I am sorry for the problems you encountered during your stay. Should you wish to give us another try I would be happy to handle your reservation myself so as to make sure you get a suitable room at a discounted rate.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on the 17/7/2013. The hotel is a bit tatty and run down. However, the staff are really nice and helpful which is a big positive in my book. The rooms are small and basic and the bathroom is ok. Put simply you wouldn't come here for a luxury weekend, but it's good if all you want are the basics. The breakfast was perfectly good

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear "Supernickkyles",

Thank you so much for reviewing the Washington - I am pleased to hear that your recent stay at the Washington met your expectations. I have passed your kind comments regarding the service on to all involved where it was received gratefully.

We are always looking to smarten up and improve the rooms for our guests and have an ongoing rolling refurbishment to tidy and touch up the rooms in place. We are more than happy to allocate rooms according to guests' needs - so if a larger room is requested, we will do our very best to accommodate the request.

I do hope we will see you here again in the near future.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Booked a twin room, asked for quiet location and it was. The room and hotel is in need of decorating and updating but for the price for one night was satisfactory. Breakfast was nice, plenty of it and cooked fresh. Staff were helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear "Stephsam1925",

Thank you for your review of the Washington. I am very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your recent stay with us. I have passed your comments about the staff onto the team here where it was gratefully received!

We are constantly looking to improve our rooms here, myself and my House Manager, Anna, have weekly meetings to assess what should be addressed next - I am confident that should you return, you would find the same great value but with an even nicer room!

Many thanks
Joanna Tiernay
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

stayed for two nights. really nice area and it's only a 15min walk to Bristol centre. the rooms were clean and a decent size - only problem was that the pressure of the shower water was very weak. we paid for breakfast included and picked cooked breakfast each morning which was reasonable but there was also a buffet with good variety. some areas of the hotel are looking a bit tired but otherwise it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear "James K",

Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington after your stay in May. I am pleased that you had a good stay and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful - both are areas we try and excel in so it is good to hear that our work is paying off!

I'm sorry that you were affected by poor water pressure. We have had 2 pumps installed in 2 different second floor rooms within the last 2 weeks so I hope that that problem is on it's way out!

I do hope you would consider staying with us again when next in Bristol.

Kind regards
Joanna Tiernay
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington

Address: 11 -15 St Paul's Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.