We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good choice when you are visiting Bristol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westbury Park Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westbury Park Guest House
Save
You added Westbury Park Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   37 Westbury Rd | Westbury-on-Trym, Bristol BS9 3AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 89 Bristol B&B and Inns
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A very good choice when you are visiting Bristol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We use this guest house when we visit our daughter in Bristol the accomodation

Is comfortable and the breakfast chioce is very good it is hard to beat this guest house we would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
11
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had the pleasure of enjoying Sue Green's hospitality during our travels in November. The room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Ms. Green even provided us with a charging adapter for our cell phone when ours wouldn't function. The breakfast was delicious. We would certainly stay again, and recommend WPGH to anyone needing a haven in Bristol.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times when I could not book in at Mayfair Lodge.

Price was a fair bit more expensive than Mayfair, breakfast was good, single room quite small but still en suite loo and shower. No offstreet parking, did not ask about Wifi. TV in room.

I think staff are hired in, so it seems a bit impersonal, but still a good clean place to stay.

To be fair I think its prices are more typical for Bristol

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night as we couldn't get a room at the Premier Inn, to be honest we prefer a B&B as its more like a home from home and our weekends away are important to us. When you are spending your hard earned cash you come to expect a good stay.

Karen welcomed us briefly - we were visiting Bristol Balloon Fiesta we thought it would have been good if she could have advised us about bus routes into Bristol, we stayed in Cambridge earlier in the year and the B&B provided a little laminated piece of paper with the bus numbers on. This would have been really helpful after a hot quite long car journey and we had to head out straight away to make the most of the day. We have always been lucky enough to receive local transport knowledge from other B&B owners.

Whilst there were drinks facilities in the room, there were no biscuits (some may say we are being petty but we got back late and it would have been appreciated) I was grateful for a bottle of water though as I don't drink tea or coffee. Also I forgot shampoo so the toiletries supplied were great.

At breakfast the cereal was a very cheap brand, my partner had to leave his as he really didn't enjoy it, only 2 pieces of toast were provided but when we asked for more this was replenished, the bread was good quality and very tasty. I had scrambled egg on toast and I can only say I have never seen scrambled egg like it, I did eat it but only because I was starving. My boyfriends bacon was very thick and hard to get through and his poached egg was overdone and not enjoyable, only orange juice was supplied as an alternative to tea and coffee, on asking a refreshing glass of apple juice was provided by the polite and helpful waitress (it would be better to offer this anyway). Sachets of cheap sauce and salt and pepper are really naff I would expect these in a roadside cafe not a lovely B&B, jars of marmite and mustard were on the main table so whats wrong with HP and Heinz bottles?

The door on our en-suite could do with either adjusting or refixing as it sticks and would have become a real pain in the neck if we had stayed for longer than one night. Also the plug for the sink wasn't attached to anything which would have been easy to fix I'm sure.

To summarise;-

Plus Points
Beautiful property, comfortable nicely decorated clean room with good linen and mini toiletries.
Great location on a good bus route.
Guests give breakfast menu choices the night before, a really good idea we thought.
Parking on the road but no charge which is good in this day and age.
Very well organised breakfast service.
Well presented property.
Friendly owner and staff.

Room for improvement
En-suite door sticks.
Perhaps a small packet of biscuits in the room.
At breakfast - condiments in bottles not sachets, quality of food and drinks choices.
The towels in our room had seen better days.

The property has lots of lovely period features and I had the best sleep I have ever had at a B&B, we have stayed at several B&B's now and suppose we have come to expect a few special touches which we felt were lacking here, perhaps it would be better to charge say an additional £5-10 if necessary to achieve this.

I hate being negative on here but thats what this site is all about, I hope Karen will take note for the future guests I'm sure she will receive. She has a very lovely property that just needs tweaking slightly in places and it will be a 10 out of 10 B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay of eight days and nights. The proprietress (Karen) was most accommodating to our needs and helped with our stay in Bristol. We would recommend the Guest House to all our American friends. Great Room, Fantastic Breakfast, and quiet and relaxing atmosphere.
Owen and Mary Nagel - St. Louis, Mo. USA

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently spent 9 nights here. Our room was spacious, well appointed and quiet. We were treated to either a cooked to order English breakfast or an assortment of cereal and fruit each morning in a lovely dining room. Karen is a very friendly and helpful host who obviously puts a great deal of care into her guest house. It was like coming home each night when we returned. It was a real treat staying here.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back of the house. We heard no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We took our two children to stay here in May 2012, it was a really lovely place to stay. Very handy for central Bristol. Very nice rooms and a great home cooked English breakfast. We will be back.

Room Tip: The top rooms good for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westbury Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbury Park Guest House

Address: 37 Westbury Rd | Westbury-on-Trym, Bristol BS9 3AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westbury Park Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, friendly Guest House in ideal location for most of Bristol's attractions. All 8 rooms are en-suite, free wi-fi, no parking problems where we are situated, high standard - we aim to please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westbury Park Guest House Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westbury Park Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.