We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Town and Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Town and Country Lodge to your Saves list
The Town and Country Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A38 Bridgwater Road | Bedminster Down, Bristol BS13 8AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I must admit to being worried as to what I was letting myself in for but what can I say it was excellent value for money the room was large plenty of tea coffee and biscuits iron and ironing board provided and hair dryer, the beds were comfy and two pillows each The bathroom was clean with plenty of towels the bath towels were not just towels but bath sheets which was a nice surprise, the staff were friendly and breakfast was great, again a lot better than I expected for the money. We ate in the pub/restaurant on the evening of our arrival and the food was lovely. We were staying for four nights and enjoyed our stay and will certainly stay again on our next trip to Bristol.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    55
    40
    17
    16
See reviews for
45
48
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here after flying back from Egypt on Sunday 15th June . Arrived at the lodge at 3:30 am and was met by an unorganised chap . Pointed out directions to our room. Opened the door and was greeted by a smell of must ! . Carpets was stained to high heaven . Sheets was marked . Bathroom had 2 spiders in the bath that looked like they had been there for a while .
We was supposed to have breakfast there but we was worried with the state of our room , just how clean would the kitchen be ?? . Worst £60 I'd spent on a hotel ..Ever !!!

Room Tip: Don't choose any !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff who make you feel welcome. Great location and lovely breakfast to start the day. Had a night time meal at the restaurant and we both enjoyed it. Would go back any time I'm in the Bristol area. We stayed for three day and it was excellent value for money, the accomadation was basic but very clean and the room was cleaned every day. All the staff we dealt with were very helpful and friendly and are a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed in this b&b for two nights whilst visiting family in Bristol. It reminded me of a dingy American motel seen in films! The room was large but grubby and reeked of cigarette smoke! The whole place is terribly run down which is a shame as with some investment it has the potential to be really nice. The walls are paper thin and every little noise could be heard from the room next door! On a positive note, the staff were very pleasant and courteous, for me the highlight was the lovely lady in the kitchen who was loving life and singing as she worked! Breakfast was ok but you must ask for an egg which is cooked fresh to order. All in all this b&b served its purpose but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great place if you have a late/early flight to/from Bristol airport.
Taxi service to and from airport, 7 nights parking and 1 nights B&B included in the deal for about £110....this represented excellent value.
Very smooth and efficient drop off, pick up and parking, lovely breakfast....the rooms were basic but OK for 1 night.
Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I needed to book a room in Bristol at short notice. This was best option in terms of cost and location. Couldn't beat it on value for money and room has all the facilities you want in a hotel/motel room. Only thing I'd say is don't eat in the restaurant in the evening as choice limited and not v good. Also avoid the beer if you like beer! Stay there but eat out is my advice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spent 3 nights here, as visitors to Bristol. The staff could not have been more friendly and the breakfasts were excellent. However the ambience and decor are really poor. Both the restaurant and breakfast room are dim, tired, with no character and a throwback to 1980 which is probably when the place was last decorated. It is a favourite stop for people using the airport as it has airport parking, so perhaps character is not top of their list. The rooms are in a separate building, sort of motel -style. Ours was 41, quiet, at the end of the row. People obviously smoke on the walkway and this was covered in cigarette ends which really were unsightly. The room was, well, almost clean. Don't look too closely and you'll be fine! (Especially shower head and washbasin overflow hole ugh!). A good place to eat is less than a half mile up the road towards the airport - the Winford Arms where we had an excellent pint and lunch.

Room Tip: There are stairs to be negotiated - but I imagine the top floor rooms are spared noise from the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Town and Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town and Country Lodge

Address: A38 Bridgwater Road | Bedminster Down, Bristol BS13 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Town and Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Town and Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town And Country Hotel Bristol
Town And Country Bristol
Town Country Lodge
Town And Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Town and Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.