We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more than average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Town and Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Town and Country Lodge to your Saves list
The Town and Country Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A38 Bridgwater Road | Bedminster Down, Bristol BS13 8AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“No more than average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

One night here, when my plan to be in South Wales was suddenly changed.
Good points. Plenty of parking, spacious very clean room, free wifi with good signal strength.
Bad points. Mediocre food, characterless

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    55
    40
    17
    16
See reviews for
45
48
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We used this hotel for parking while on holiday in Mexico, booked B&B and 15 nights parking. We found this excellent value, very well organised, you simply park your car in a gated area and keep your keys. Taxi is arranged to pick you up both ways, and the room was clean and had every thing we needed. We could not find this hotel on the standard comparison sites when typing in airport hotel parking so had to dig around a bit but is was cheaper than any other advertised. Would highly recommend it if flying from Bristol. We will use it again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We needed a good base for a shopping weekend and this hotel came up with great facilities, free parking and free Wi-fi...brilliant. We stayed in room 28 in the main lodge building and the room was very spacious and good facilities within.

There were a few decoration issues, office blinds instead of some nice curtains, the bath panel was a little rotten due to the water probably getting in to he wood but apart from these small issues...the room was very comfortable and clean.

We had dinner on the first night in the main restaurant and it was very nice and priced well. The staff in the restaurant were brilliant and friendly.

Breakfast was very nice with a buffet style full english (help yourself) and there was fresh juice, fruit and a good selection of cereals. Breakfast staff were brilliant as was the reception staff.

We would recommend this hotel for a base to go into main Bristol as the Park and ride is very close and easy to use...£3 return each.

Friendly hotel, great breakfast, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a good nights sleep.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Used this lodge for night before stay before flying from Bristol airport, which I think most people do. Ideal for what we wanted to use it for, we had family room, room really big, small tv , big bathroom and clean, there is a restaurant attached staff nice and friendly, meal portions nice and large, didn't get to eat the breakfast had to leave to early. Tea & coffee making facilities , but not wardrobes but if your just using it as a stopover then it's no problem. Also does airport parking as well we didn't use but useful to have. Overall it does what it says on the tin, great place to stop before early flight, clean and comfortable

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We needed a hotel near Bristol airport, paid £65 for 3 B&B, so was ok with what we got. Room and bathroom clean, double and single bed not noisey on ground floor. Tea, coffee and biscuits. Breakfast a bit scarey staff lound, service indifferent, sausages dangerous! All in all fine but would be awful to stay more the one night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Value for money is good if you are travelling through or using the airport. Room very grubby indeed, photos coming soon of lots of pubic hairs on horrid bath mat that was draped over the dirty bath. Feel groggy next day as so dusty affected our eyes and throats. Hear every cough And splutter from other rooms. Hear when taps turned on so soundproofing none. Like a dated motel. Dust all on skirting, really thick too. Breakfast ok, nothing to write much about, low quality sausages but you can expect that I guess for budget. All in all would not stay again. Real shame as could be so very good if deep cleaned and new attitude to everything adopted

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Decided to stay here as we were flying early hours in the morning. Wish we hadn't. Paid £70 for room and £42 for leaving car there for the week which all seemed reasonable until I walked into room. The room was ridiculously tired with stained carpets desperately in need of a hoover along with stained bed bases, gross! To offer a positive, the bed linen and towels were clean. Price was a total rip off. This place is comparable with a dodgy roadside motel. In my opinion room was worth no more than £40. One word to sum it up, minging!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Town and Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town and Country Lodge

Address: A38 Bridgwater Road | Bedminster Down, Bristol BS13 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Town and Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Town and Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town And Country Hotel Bristol
Town And Country Bristol
Town Country Lodge
Town And Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Town and Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.