We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Channings Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Channings Hotel to your Saves list
The Channings Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Pembroke Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 3BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Much better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We arrived before check in time after along drive from Cornwall and we were greeted by a lovely bubbly lady(It was her first day as the new manager of the hotel it turns out) Nothing was too much trouble for her and she made us feel right at home! Being welcomed that way was an amazing start to our weekend in Bristol.The rooms were great for £60.00(for a double)The rooms were very clean and the bar had a great buzz about it.I would definatley recomend this Hotel for a pleasent stay. :@)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    11
    12
    8
See reviews for
6
35
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WELLS SOMERSET
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Without doubt the worst Hotel in Bristol,if not the Country. Room was clean,but thats the only good point. The Downstairs Bar had loud music which ended at 2.45 am. Shouting and laughing from the garden area most of the night-we just couldn'nt sleep for the noise.
When we got up the next morning for Breakfast,together with other guests,there wereno staff on duty at 8.30 am. and there was no breakfast. So we let ourselves out ,and left.
My honest advice "Dont even think of using this Hotel."

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

After booking two room 5 weeks prior to arrival I would have expected them to atleast have some record of it. Until I produced paper evidence to the barman left to run the hotel in his managers absense nothing was willing to be done about it.
Leaving the hotel to sort out the problem and after several phone calls they had sorted out the 2 room I booked previously.
The rooms were average at best and I had to fix my own television using parts from both rooms to make one working set.
In the morning, no continental breakfast was provided as stated when booking the hotel, unless a bowl of cerial is now classed as a continental breakfast. Service at breakfast was shocking, the staff were rude and seemed bothered we had interrupted there morning with are presence.
Altogether a bad experience and I would suggest you avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My partner and I returned from a two night stay at this hotel yesterday and it has to be said that it was a ver pleasant stay.
Our room was very clean if a little basic, the food in the bar was reasonably priced and tasted great.
Only complaint was that it took some staff members an awful lot of energy just to smile nevermind greet us!
I would stay here again most definately, excellent location!
Bar is very popular with local students but noise cannot be heard from the bedrooms, and everything stops at midnight.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I'll keep this on brief. Just had 2 nights here. My room was spacious and clean with all the usual fittings, digital TV and free internet.

There is a bar downstairs which is quite nice with a mixed age range and nice buzzy vibe. Food is good for the price and I had a nice spicy "jungle chicken curry" with mini naan bread and rice for about £8.

Breakfast is a let down. cereal and toast (make your own).

Hotel is in the best part of Bristol (Clifton) but sadly like many in the area, has no private parking

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Please do not book this hotel, go somewhere else.The room was clean, but there were stains on the bedroom wall and also bathroom.

We were woken in the early hours by someone trying to get back to their rooms.

At least we thought we we would have a nice breakfast before we left, ha ha we took one look at it and drove to the nearest service station.

For the price we paid, which was not cheap, it was day light robbery. Clifton Village was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I only wish I'd read the reviews before I booked. Had the same breakfast(or not!) experience as other reviewers and there was a noisy disco downstairs until midnight. Do not book this hotel. It's just a bar with rooms not a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Channings Hotel

Address: 20 Pembroke Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 3BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Channings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Channings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.