We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugly building but great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket to your Saves list
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Haymarket | Avon, Bristol BS1 3LR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Bristol
Lincolnshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ugly building but great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My heart sank when I saw the concrete monstrosity that is the Premier Inn in Bristol but the location and the staff were wonderful. We had a huge room compared to the usual Premier room so were well impressed. Not the cheapest Premier but compared to some of the other hotels in Bristol, it didn't break the bank!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

The building was once Bristol Council Offices and have been here from 1972 and were converted to a Premier Inn 2000.
Once you see the height of the building it is a shock.

I am glad the room was good and the team looked after you.

Look forward to your next visit.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    446
    153
    47
    54
See reviews for
284
297
83
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

A clever blend of an old inn - right on the dock and behind the Llandoger Trou - the ancient inn down the road from the Bristol Old Vic - a cobbles and character. So an amusing marriage between Tudor and 21st century. Bravo Premier Inn for putting together this interesting pairing.
Beds and bathrooms all top notch but with an excellent breakfast in an historic building.
Parking is not a problem as you get 25% off the multi story nearby

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Robin,

Thank you for your comments which I will pass on to the Team Leader at Bristol King Street Premier Inn.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed 3 nights from Boxing Day. Arriving at 8 in the evening we found the check in very smooth, but our second floor room was cold. After 10 minutes of cold air blowing through the air conditioning I went to Reception and they brought up a heater. The room took about an hour to warm up but was fine for the rest of our stay and we didn't need the heater again. The air conditioning was a bit noisy.

Luckily we didn't have a car so didn't experience the parking problems others did. The bus station is right next to the hotel. To get to the shopping centre the most direct route is through an underpass called the Bear Pit. It is OK during the day, but a bit daunting late at night. If you turn right outside the hotel and walk about 200 yards there is a pedestrian crossing which gets you to the shopping centre without going through underpass.

Breakfast was a bit of a challenge. The servery is poorly laid out meaning staff have to carry hot trays of food whilst negotiating queues of guests waiting for coffee and hot food. Rearranging the servery, adding another coffee machine and a putting out a few more mugs and plates would help reduce the queues and make breakfast more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay.

The Bear pit is at the moment going through an upgrade. We have been informed the work will take up to 5 months to completed.

I will also pass on your comments to the GM in the Beefeater next door about breakfast.

Thank you again.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I arrived at 2 a.m. in the night - very tired after over ten hours on a plane and two hours on the bus. The hotel was conveniently located next to the Coach Station. The man who assisted me at checkin was extremely friendly and willing to help, the room was clean and comfortable, making it an enjoyable stay. I would consider staying here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Dotori,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.
I'm glad to read the team looked after you after your long journey.


Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Hotel full of drunken party people who insisted running and shouting along the corridors at midnight. Second night fire alarm and evacuation outside at 1am. Fire brigade said faulty sensor on 17th floor, and no guarantee it won't happen again. I checked out there and then an went to another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
I am very sorry about your stay with us and the issues raised in your comments.

If we have groups staying with us we do try to put them together which is better for them and other guest.

When we have an alarm activation we do have to act on the issues and wait for the fire brigade to give us the all clear.

Once again I am sorry.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent room, hotel, staff and services. Friendly and very helpful! Clean and very good value for money! Highly recommend! Right in the centre of Bristol just across the road from the Broadmead shopping centre also 10 minute walk away from the 02 Academy and The Fleece so easy for shopping and gigs!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Mark,

Thank you for your awesome comments on your stay.

I'm sure we will be seeing you again, as the O2 have got some great gigs on over the next 12 months.

See you soon.
Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Their slogan says it all. They can guarantee you a good nights sleep! The bed is very comfy, the facilities are what you expect from a PI, the staff are friendly and helpful, the TV is always in tune and the rooms are warm. The Beefeater attached is good for food with a nice menu and the beer is decent. The PI cooked breakfast isnt top notch but its edible, although the selection is fantastic. The baggage store is handy too, for when I checked out but had to go off to work. I collected my bags later that day. Also, the location is great for all needs. Overall, perfect for what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Dave,

Thank you for your comment's on your stay with us here at the Bristol Haymarket.

Look forward to your next visit.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket

Address: The Haymarket | Avon, Bristol BS1 3LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the heart of the action at Premier Inn Hotel Bristol City Centre (Haymarket). Slap bang in the middle of everything, you can walk to most of the major sights, shops and events, as well as the many business HQs. You could wander along the historic harbourside, stroll across the Clifton Suspension Bridge, or walk underwater at Bristol Zoo. And, in the evening, catch one of the big name acts at the Hippodrome, Colston Hall or O2 Academy. Then, when you're ready to drop, return and refuel in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.