We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs if you're Disabled, or even if you're not.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket to your Saves list
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Haymarket | Avon, Bristol BS1 3LR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Bristol
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Avoid at all costs if you're Disabled, or even if you're not.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Despite offering "accessible" rooms, this hotel is not suitable for disabled guests, especially wheelchair or mobility scooter users. The rooms are very small, and do not provide the space needed for wheelchairs or mobility scooters. There are no plug sockets to charge up power chairs or scooters. The beds are very low, and if like me, you get into bed from a standing position, it is extremely difficult and extremely painful to do so. There are no handrails to assist you in or out of bed and the beds are not height adjustable. The mattresses are very soft and lumpy and do not offer good support. The room I was given smelt musty and was not very clean, not helped by the fact that the windows can not be opened. The towels and bed sheets were stained, and very well worn. The bathroom was very small, did not have a walk in shower or wet room, just a shower over a bath which I could not get into. All the handrails were badly placed and prevented use of the shower. Breakfast can not be brought to the room and getting from my room to the breakfast room required me to pass through 6 very narrow and heavy doors, non of which were automatic. Tables in bar and dining areas are placed very close together making it impossible to move about in a wheelchair. Staff are generally unwilling to help and convey the impression that disabled people are considered an inconvenient and expensive nuisance. There is very little provision for disabled parking. When I was there, a non disabled person stole the disabled parking bay reserved for me, leaving me stranded at 1am with nowhere to leave my car. Staff refused to ask the owner of the offending vehicle to remove it and showed little concern for the position this left me in. Staff also refused to help me with my suitcase, leaving me to rely on the help of another guest. By far and away the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in. Needless to say I will never book with Premier Inn again. Holiday Inn and Travel Lodge are much much better, beyond comparison.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn we take the needs and equal treatment of all our guests extremely seriously. We have invested heavily in this area in recent years and are committed to ensuring our facilities and services are accessible to all. Therefore, Premier Inn aims to comply with the requirements of the relevant Building Regulations and British Standards. As such, the fixtures and fittings within the UA bedrooms and bathrooms are installed in accordance with their guidance.Premier Inn has a very large and diverse estate of over 600 hotels, including purpose built new builds, conversions of existing buildings and acquisitions of going concerns. Most Premier Inns have universally accessible bedrooms, which are adapted for guests with disabilities. These rooms will generally have a double bed, a lowered bath and grab rails in the bathroom. In all of our new build hotels and extensions 50% of the accessible bedrooms will incorporate a wet room, with the other 50% having shallow, accessible baths. This will offer greater flexibility for our guests and will be in accordance with best practice recommended in the relevant British Standard.
As part of our ongoing refurbishment programme, we are also looking to convert half of our existing accessible bathrooms to wet rooms where the size, layout and suitability of the hotel allow. In addition, we are working with an Access Consultancy Company who are currently auditing our UA facilities within the estate and on completion of the audits, this in-depth information will be available on our website, thus, improving our communication for our guests and offering the feature of wet room locations. If you would like the opportunity to discuss the issues you encountered in more details, please email talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    446
    152
    47
    54
See reviews for
284
297
82
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Haymarket Premier Inn right in the centre of Bristol. Excellent family room. It was massive! Staff were really great. Beefeater next door was good and staff friendly. Parking was a bit of an issue (limited) but there is public parking at the bus station opposite at the same price (£8) for the night.
A little bit of night time noise from emergency ambulances going to the BRI Hospital up the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi Peter,

Thank you for your comments, which I will pass on to all the team.

Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Premier inn has always proved comfy and clean in the past and this branch was no exception. Easy check in, pleasant staff and the breakfast we had next door was very enjoyable also. Wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay and breakfast.

I will pass your comments on to all departments.


Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Staff were more than helpful. They went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel welcome. Confortable rooms as always. An ideal location right next to the bus station with a great shuttle service to the airport.




  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your commensts.

Hope you had a safe journey home.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A lovely hotel very clean and fresh. The beds are very comfortable and staff always very helpful and obliging. We stayed for two nights and we would not hesitate in booking again. The hotel is located next door to the bus station which is very convenient. It is also just across the road from the big shopping centre. We stayed in a family room which was big and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi Terry,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Look forwadr to seeing you on your next visit.


Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Premier Inn used to be a bastion for, 'on the road' workers like me...It was always pretty much guaranteed you got a room for sub £60. Last night i stayed at this place for £81, plus £8 for parking plus £8.25 for breakfast, plus wireless plus plus plus

Premier Inn are now the Ryan Air of hotels. The staff were ok, all one of them...There was an automated check in, thanks for the personal touch.

I cant believe i parted with very nearly £100 to say in this hotel...Anyone who has stayed in a Premier Inn, will know, that there isn't a premier inn that exists in this universe that is worth over £60...

After last night I have advised my staff to stay in other hotels B&B, as it cost nearly £500 for three of my staff and me to stay there last night....disgusting!

The room smelled of damp and there were kids running up and down the hallway until 1am. It was not a great nights sleep.

Before you reply, can you advise why for £98.25, there is no room service, no free WiFi, no free breakfast, no free parking, smell free rooms, only two tea bags, one bath towel, automated system. For £90 we could have stayed in the hotel over the road and got free parking, breakfast and gym...

I think the problem here is they market this brand as a value brand, when in fact it isn't as you have to buy every normal service as a massive extra cost.

Room Tip: Book a year in advance for this hotel and you might get a deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I have read your commenst and they will be passed to our Head Office.

Dawn and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel on and off since spring this year. The hotel is fine but is totally let down by the catering operation at the associated Beef Eater. Breakfasts have gotten worse and worse over the course of the year and the service in the evening is so bad that you don't even think about taking meals there.

I've resorted to going to the Tesco express over the road and making a picnic meal in the room

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city rather than the bus station
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn W, Manager at Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi Jim,

Thank you for your feedback.

We do pass all our guest comments to the General Manager of the Beefeater.

Dawn and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket

Address: The Haymarket | Avon, Bristol BS1 3LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the heart of the action at Premier Inn Hotel Bristol City Centre (Haymarket). Slap bang in the middle of everything, you can walk to most of the major sights, shops and events, as well as the many business HQs. You could wander along the historic harbourside, stroll across the Clifton Suspension Bridge, or walk underwater at Bristol Zoo. And, in the evening, catch one of the big name acts at the Hippodrome, Colston Hall or O2 Academy. Then, when you're ready to drop, return and refuel in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Bristol City Centre - Haymarket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.