We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had two rooms on the 6th floor. 616 and 618. We had booked the Avon river view. But the the trees were so high and being in the end , you could hardly see the river . Rooms are nice and comfortable. It was very hot and realized later that they had only air cooling and not air conditioning. Grocery shop was very very close. Also nice bars too. Train station is about 25 min walk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    425
    123
    56
    23
See reviews for
89
506
87
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Having taken up a special rate from Secret Escapes we had one night at the Brigstow. We found the staff were very helpful and pleasant and the superior room with river views was perfectly adequate although of course this time of year the trees obliterate any views. We did not have dinner there but thought that the breakfast was excellent. The position of the hotel is very convenient with an easy walk to the shops and yet it was very quiet at night. My only grumble would be the cost of car parking which was £15.10 after the 25% discount that the hotel gives. That's expensive!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your review - delighted that you enjoyed your second visit with us again. Please remember the next time you stay, always check out the Mercure web site for the best rates guaranteed in addition, you will also be eligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club' We shall look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Iain France -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at hotel last night for The Pogues concert on the harbourside so very good location. Friendly desk staff, found us a river view room. Room was comfortable, especially the bed and was very quiet.We didn't have breakfast as we thought it was too expensive but didn't actually see what you got for your money. Would definitely recommend the Mercure for exploring the delights of Bristol.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Beautiful Location on the riverside, We stayed for one night as a last minute get away, the room was spacious modern and clean. The bathroom was very impressive, spacious and modern and clean - the best feature was the television in the wall! The hotel was in walking distance of Cabbot Circus and other attractions. The setting was beautiful especially at night! We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant and were pleasantly surprised! The food was delicious and the view was beautiful - really made a romantic night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Glad you had a good time! We shall certainly look forward to seeing you again and remember to always check out the Mercure web site directly where we offer the best available rates and you will also be elligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club'. Kind regards, Iain France -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembroke
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend break for 2 nights. Lovely location on the river. Breakfast was amazing, delicious food and polite staff. Staff was always friendly on reception. The room was spectacular,very comfortable beds. Didn't have to check out until 4pm which was nice so we could make another day of it. Only problem was, when we arrived in our room there was a lot of hair strands in our bed and also in the guest directory and on the table. But overall very nice weekend break. Will definitely come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had a front facing room overlooking the river. The rooms are well laid out, spacious, modern looking and clean.
Bed was very comfortable but annoyingly there were no electrical sockets next to the bed.
Although I never made use of it the bathroom has a unique feature of having a TV screen at the end of the bath.
Good to see more and more hotels are now including wifi at no extra cost and the signal was very good.
Breakfast was in a nice relaxing setting with the usual array of selection.
I decided I would book an extra night but when I asked at reception they said sorry but they were fully booked however on checking on the hotels website they did have vacancies I then mentioned this to the staff who lo and behold told me they did indeed have a vacancy - however there's plenty of choice in Bristol so I moved on.
Overall a nice stay in a primary location.

Room Tip: I'm sure it costs more but a front facing room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here for a friends wedding and loved the hotel, the rooms are great and the location also. Parking is in ncp next door at around £ 20 per night which is expensive but hotel discount this by £ 5

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.