We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Cushendall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Good Overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for the first time in February this year. It is located very central in Bristol, close to all shops. Nicely situated by the river, the hotel has very comfortable rooms, excellent bathrooms, and everywhere is clean! Staff are friendly! One problem was the low staffing in the bar, where the bar person also seemed to be serving the restaurant. On several occasions I had to wait TOO LONG to get served in the bar. On one occasion I left before getting served - there was no one around!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thanks for your feedback! Glad you had a good stay! Just to let you know for next time,
book online on our own Mercure web site, where we promote our City Breaks deals in addition you will also be eligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club' Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    422
    123
    56
    23
See reviews for
89
504
86
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Lovely room, great breakfast, good service. I was in Bristol for a conference, and the reception was helpful with a map, and by calling a taxi. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, good shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on our own Mercure web site to get the best rates available and also be aligible for points with our loyalty program ' Le Club' Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is a solid three star hotel all day long. Everything from the price, decor, service, level of finish and standards. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that. It is what it is.
The problem is that it markets itself as a four star. Without sounding like a hotel snob I have been lucky enough to stay in some proper four and five star hotels both at home and abroad. So I know what four star standards are. Having said that the two main things I look for when booking a hotel are Location and value for money.
When I found this hotel I thought great price for a four star in a great location. Brilliant bargain. However when I got there and found I was getting an average three star for the price of the very top end three star. It got my back up. Instead of feeling like I had got a bargain I felt cheated, and it made me pick up on all the little things that don't make this a four star hotel and just seem expensive. The cold tap leaking in the bathroom, air conditioning that just blows hot air even when set at 10degrees, damaged furniture that is looking tired and tatty, dirty marks down the walls, an odd arrangement of light switches, no water in the room, very poor wifi that hardly works, half of the items from the in room breakfast missing, a TV that half the picture is missing because it is not widescreen. The list goes on. Individually they are not very much but they all build up to the little touches that make a hotel move up to the next level, stand out. Having said all that if the hotel had been sold to me as a three star and the price been tiny bit lower I probably wouldn't have noticed half of the problems or at least accepted them a bit more. By all means book this hotel it's a good hotel in a great location but just don't expect four star quality.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, Front Office Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Really sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to your expectations on this occasion in particular your concern that we are not a four star property, please be assured that we are assessed each year by the AA who award us with this category for the product and service that we offer. Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in April.
Previously had a good experience.
This time the room I had was in poor condition. Safe did not work and the bathroom was in a poor state. Many cracked tiles (some with sharp edges). Handle in bath loose and feels like it might come away. Shower sealant coming away and mouldy.
The location is good but whether or not this room was particularly bad I do not know. I could not be bothered to ask to be moved for one night. I did inform staff of the room condition it was room 304.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments and as explained in my response directly to you after you completed our hotel survey, I can assure you the matter is being looked in to and will
be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, a few days ago. Excellent location for exploring the city, I loved the fact the river was outside the sliding windows. I had brought a bottle of bourbon with me so needed some ice, the bar lady was more then happy to provide me with a bucket of ice with 2 glasses on a tray. Up in the room, was nicely decorated, not the biggest (superior) but comfortable, I made use of the ironing board with iron. The bathroom was also compact but had a separate shower and bath, shower water pressure was a bit low and there was only one towel. Breakfast was really good, provided as a buffet, I had a full english which was superb. Also plenty of cereals and fruit, not to mention pastries.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain France -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed overnight for a gig and left early so we didn't have much time to enjoy our room, but it was clean comfortable, loads of room, a big bathroom with shower and bath, TV, everything you'd want for a good stopover. It also had a really comfortable bed and luxurious pillows, which makes all the difference. Good location, parking nearby, cannot fault it. Well, the taps in the sink were a bit fierce, I got a bit soaked when trying to fill my glass, but everything else was perfect ! And we paid £42, so superb value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again and remember you will always find our best rates and deals available on our own Mercure web site in addition to being elligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club'. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Husband and I were booked in on a 5 night stay. Upon arrival after a very long (From Boston) day of travel, we were told that we were having our room upgraded because there was a problem with our original booking. The fellow behind the desk didn't specify what the issue was, I assume something like they didn't have the room type I requested. I was more than happy to have an upgrade to the premium room, especially because we didn't even have to ask!

The room was very nice. Stylish, comfy, a good size for two, with a nice river view. The aircon could have been a bit better, but my husband (A Brit) tells me that the British just don't do AC all that well. Other than that, the room was grand. A lovely big tub with a TV for me to lounge around in, too.

We didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't speak to the food. We did spend a good amount of time in the lounge having evening drinks and afternoon tea or coffee. I have to say - the tea and coffee service is great. A well prepared mug of tea of French press of coffee, laid out nicely with biscuits. A really nice little touch.

Location is great. Bristol is a great city for exploring on foot, and the hotel is at a perfect starting point. On the weekend nights, we could hear a little bit of noise from the folks down on Welsh Back, but nothing to bothersome.

We would certainly stay here again, and I'm actually intent on seeking out Mercure hotels to stay in when we travel from now on, following a horrible experience with another chain after we left Bristol.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we shall certainly look forward to your next visit. Remember to always check out the Mercure web site directly for the best rates guaranteed including city breaks in addition you will also be elligible for points with out 'le Club' loyalty program. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.