We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not really living up to reputation!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jamie's Italian Bristol

Jamie's Italian Bristol
87/89 Park Street, Bristol BS1 5PW , England
01173 700 265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #536 of 1,345 restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Serving temptingly fresh and flavoursome creations from world-famous chef Jamie Oliver, Jamie's Italian Birmingham evokes the vibrancy and passion embedded in traditional Italian cooking and culture. A homely neighbourhood vibe is inspired by the rustic and relaxed ambience of the 'Italian table', with delicious flavours from the menu including truffled turkey Milanese, or a colourful seaside risotto.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not really living up to reputation!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We recently visited the Bristol restaurant of this rather big name brand and disappointment is how I would sum it up.
The menu is mediocre but its execution leaves even more to be desired!
We all had a couple of courses and the house wine which was fine.
The food was the disappointing factor... The main course risotto was under cooked, powdery rice and lacking in body and flavour, it had absolutely no creamyness to it at all. Fried fish was rather a lot of money for such a pathetic amount of fish. On the plus the cold meat platter was rather good, nothing you cannot get from a decent deli though.

If its a high street Italian restaurant you want Strada is still better for actual food....and is that not you are doing - going out to eat?

You cannot fault the over all feel of the place, design has been very well considered so if it sitting in cool comfortable surroundings is all that matters then this is the place, the building looks great.

we will never go here again. what a lot of money for coming home to make something to eat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    123
    136
    132
    105
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Up to standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Been three times, having also visited Oxford and Bath restaurants. Service has been good and no complaints about the food. Also have a gold card, and the nibbles and discount were welcome. Sorry that George's bookshop disappeared but Jamie's makes good use of the premises.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food, could do with abit of attention to detail!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've been wanting to go to Jamie's for a while as lover the one in Bath! My gran, husband and 1 year old went for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the food. It was quite quiet as it was a Tuesday lunchtime so not a great atmosphere, but this can't be helped!

Staff were friendly and attentive and gave my daughter colouring to occupy her. The menu is lovely and we could have ordered loads, but settled on the specials and some sharing plates.

One thing that would have made the experience even better was that the water caraf and glasses were quite dirty and the floors/tables has a stickyness where a deep clean is needed.

Overall though a very pleasant lunch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sort it out Jamie !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé have been to Cardiff twice and the food was lovely, but bristol I'm afraid was definitely not up to scratch!! We had a gold card and were expecting free nibbles etc as my parents had used theirs in Cardiff the week before and recieved free nibbles a bottle of wine AND a dessert!! Us on the other hand only recieved our 10 pounds discount! We ordered the crispy calamari which was basically a pile of batter and hardly a piece of squid in sight... Very disappointing as we had it in Cardiff and really enjoyed. We complained about that to start! Then out mains came, I ordered seafood pasta, the pasta was burnt and had a very small amount of fish... A boring dish to be honest! We also ordered a steak which came cold! We were told this was how it was meant to be but it didn't state this on the menu plus it was a very small portion! They did take the calamari off the bill and the wine and also 2 free cocktails which is fair enough but still we were supposed to get some things complimentary anyway !! It cost us 30 pounds in the end which to be honest is still expensive for a meal which was pretty much inedible!! so a little message for mr Oliver....I'm afraid bristol is letting you down and needs to be sorted as you will be losing customers and reputation. Next time im going to cook at hone and save our money :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Acceptable not exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Visited last nite, initial thoughts were pleasant then taken to the table where we might as well have been sharing, too close together no privacy, therefore couldn't wait to get out. Food was ok but had better value for money elsewhere in Bristol. Would I rush back No.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian Bristol also viewed

 

Been to Jamie's Italian Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamie's Italian Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.