We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Di Meo

Di Meo
314 Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8TJ, England
117 924 5676
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 1,460 Restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: 0117 9245676
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I live down the road from this place and I've never been disappointed with their food. Their bruscetta is excellent, crisp and soft bread, and cool, fresh tomatoes and garnishing. Their pizzas are fresh and thin, and the cheese always melts in the mouth.

The ambience is excellent, the desserts excellent and all in all, I would recommend Di Meo's to anyone who has a long-standing love of Italian food!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have been to this restaurant several times over the last two years after recommendations from friends. We have been impressed by the quality and service, lovely friendly atmosphere, nothing is too much trouble, the scallops in brandy are truly wonderful and the pizzas and garlic bread are a cut above the rest in quality. Perfect for a family celebration or a spontaneous economical treat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly local italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Good food, absolutely lovely people, fab authentic atmosphere. The fish dishes are really excellent - better than steaks which can be a little on the well done side. We visit regularly, and are never disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Little bit of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We visited this restaurant upon recommendation from a friend. Upon arriving the service was personable and friendly

The food was really reasonably priced, full of flavour and we had entertainment by an Italian guy singing with his guitar. He got the restaurant singing and laughing.

Loved the atmosphere and I would really recommend the prawn starter.

Definitely will visit again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“DI Meo Italian Restaurant Bristol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant for some months now and never been disappointed.
this is a real family restaurant nothing pretentiousness about the place, good service, nice atmosphere and really good quality fresh Italian food.
One slight downside is that for a party of over 5 diners you get charged 10% additional on the bill - cannot think why a small restaurant like this would want to put off larger parties, it is in small print on the menu and we missed it so really could not get too upset.
Just a bit confused at the end of the night as to why.
However the next time we went there in a large party of seven we got adjoining tables and separated the table bills.
That apart we are going back because this is real Italian food at very good value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Meo also viewed

Bristol, England
 

Been to Di Meo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Di Meo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.