We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, very well kept hotel in picturesque setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avon Gorge Hotel to your Saves list
Avon Gorge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sion Hill | Clifton Avon, Bristol BS8 4LD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Bristol
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, very well kept hotel in picturesque setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and what a pleasure it was. The room was lovely, good sized and clean with a nice clean bathroom. The views of the Clifton Suspension Bridge are lovely and I'm sure it would be even nicer when the weather's dry! The staff were very professional and efficient and whenever we walked through the hotel therewas always someone cleaning; it's certainly a very well kept hotel. The breakfast was very good, plenty of everything and a good choice of hot dishes too. We had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant which was good, with very professional staff. The only slight downside of the hotel is that parking is a bit hit and miss and wouldn't be ideal for anyone with mobility issues, but a wonderful hotel overall.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked the road, but it certainly didn't affect our sleep, so there can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    203
    136
    50
    22
See reviews for
90
221
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

In its white curving terrace it breathes the the atmosphere of another time - you can almost catch a glimpse of a Regency beau. It's quiet and peaceful here but you may have to drive round for a while to find a parking place. This was our second stay in three years and we had the same first floor comfortable room with its period balcony and grand view of the Avon Gorge and the suspension bridge. There is a programme of refurbishment but it's a pity that this does not include rooms for people with disabilities. Dinner varies from so-so to good depending on the chef and this calls for improvement. There was a good selection for breakfast which was served with enthusiasm although we were a little late. Without exception staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Asked for a refurbished one, preferably with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed one night at the Avon Gorge Hotel, we had a dual aspect room overlooking the village one side and the suspension bridge the other. We had lunch in Clifton and walked through Ashton Court Estate late afternoon to see all the balloons beginning to take off, the bridge is free to walk across and the estate is also free, the deer park is also free. We had supper in Long Ashton with friends at their house. We walked back to the hotel, it took about 50 minutes. On Saturday we had a good breakfast included in the room cost and friends came round for coffee on the terrace which was great as the Grommit was there to see, Bristol had 80 to see and find, we only saw 3. We would recommend this hotel for a short break, it is a bit tired but service was good and breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view corners are great dual aspect village and gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent location, great breakfast.

I commented that the bathroom was dated with stains on bathroom ceiling which although they are updating rooms one by one, I would recommend a quick touch up for poorly decorated rooms to reflect highly rated hotel.

Personally I felt room was acceptable for myself, and provided this feedback direct to hotel manager, who took the time to call me and thank fr my constructive feedback.

Definitely recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting friends in Clifton. The location was brilliant, just a short walk into Clifton village centre and had amazing views.

The room was spacious and very clean, the bar was very lively with a very friendly atmosphere. The staff was very pleasant.

We enjoyed it so much that we have just booked to go back over New Year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordon, Hampshire. UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was in a party of 8 spending a long weekend in Clifton, Bristol.
We had a super stay at the Avon Gorge Hotel with a lovely room and superb views of the Clifton suspension bridge. The evening meal on the Friday night was superb with Grilled Scallops with black pudding for starters and Grilled Hake on a bed of puy lentils for main. All finished off with 3 scoops of local ice cream. "Yum!"
The staff were very attentive and helpful and the cost of the meal was acceptable.
The only blot on the landscape occurred on Saturday when we returned from a trip to Bristol with a view to spending time on the terrace in the wonderful sunshine, only to find that there were 2 wedding receptions in the hotel and the terrace was overflowing as was the bar and there were also no seating available.
Apart from this we all had a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After booking a weekend at Avon Gorge, the nearest hotel to our son's flat, I was concerned to read some unflattering reviews - the wrong way round, I know! We arrived on Friday afternoon worried about what we had done. Our worries were unwarranted, we did not find a tired hotel with unhelpful staff. The receptionist could not have been more pleasant or helpful. We had one of the Gorge view rooms which has obviously been recently refurbished to a good standard. The large old fashioned tv mentioned in some reviews was not there; instead there was a modern slim tv on the wall of a good sized room. The wifi is free and the broadband is fast. It does annoy me that some hotels still regard wifi as an opportunity to make money out of guests. Car parking is also free, and in Clifton parking is at a premium, so a charge would not be a surprise.
We only had breakfasts in the hotel, where again the staff were very helpful and the food quality was very acceptable - not gourmet, but who wants gourmet for breakfast? There was no fuss made about our son joining us for the meals.
I thought I had left my iPod at the hotel, and the efforts the staff and management went to to try to retrieve it were exemplary.
We would definitely return when we could hopefully enjoy the terrace which has a spectacular view of the Gorge and the Suspension Bridge

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Address: Sion Hill | Clifton Avon, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country.This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunels Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the countrys finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, its just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Gorge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.