We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as the reviews say!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Gorge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Avon Gorge Hotel to your Saves list
Avon Gorge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sion Hill | Clifton Avon, Bristol BS8 4LD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Colyton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not as bad as the reviews say!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to a wedding here on Friday 7th June and having read a lot of the reviews we were expecting the worst! However we were very pleasantly surprised and have to say we could not really fault the hotel. I have to agree with "Gymnast_Grace" - this is a lovely hotel for a wedding. The check in was very quick, the staff very friendly and helpful. The room (325) overlooking Clifton village was lovely, clean, quite roomy and with comfortable bed and lovely fluffy pillows. The shower in bathroom was great, lovely powerful one. We didn't find the decor dated but maybe that's because we are over 50!! To be honest decor doesn't really bother us anyway - as long as a room is clean, bathroom particularly, and no fixtures broken or hanging off the walls, comfy bed, quiet part of hotel, then we are happy and the Avon Gorge gave us all of that. Despite the weather not being brilliant the wedding was lovely vastly helped by the attention of the staff (one waitress needs to learn to smile a bit more though!). Drinks were not as expensive as anticipated and we were very surprised to see how little we had actually spent when the final bill was presented. We did not find the bar service slow at all. The hog roast at the evening reception was great and it was lovely to be able to use a private part of the terrace and rooms above restricted to wedding guests only. The view from the terrace is absolutely fabulous - you have to stay here just to be rewarded with that. The hotel really is in a very enviable position and in a gorgeous part of Bristol. The only criticism I would have is with the lack of organisation at breakfast. Cannot fault the actual breakfast - plenty of fruit juice, fruit salad, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereal, meats, cheese, croissants, different breads and full cooked breakfast. I did spy chocolate muffins which looked divine but didn't indulge! Toast and tea/coffee were brought to the table. Why I say lack of organisation is because there certainly seemed to be a lack of staff, guests didn't really know what to do on entering the restaurant, some went and just sat down as no staff around to greet, some stood at the sign that said "Please wait to be seated" (and stood there for ages!) and it all seemed to just be chaos. There doesnt appear to be enough room in the restaurant either to seat all the guests if everyone turned up for breakfast at the same time. Tip - go down before 9am - it was quieter then. As I say that is our only criticism as everything else was lovely. We found the staff lovely, friendly and very helpful. We would definitely stay here again and our recommendation is don't hesitate in booking up even if you read bad reviews. I do think some people have exceedingly high expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    182
    128
    49
    21
See reviews for
79
196
18
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The food was good , very poor service and the staff weren't alot of help The private dining room wasn't private , we had people walking through our wedding and guests were verbally abused . Also our wedding cake was damaged . Hotel rooms are outdated with poor decor . Even the rooms that are refurbished look terrible . They could do alot more in a lovely building

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Avon Gorge Hotel was a lovley place for a wedding reception and vastly helped by the beautiful weather allowing us to use the terrace over looking the gorge.

I stayed in room 135 which is huge and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and the shower powerful. Yes the decor and the TV were a little dated but apparently there is a massive renovation going on at the moment so this should change soon enough. The only down sides were the bathroom didn't have any natural light and that the room got very hot at night. I did mention this at check-out and the receptionist promised to look into it.

Bar service during the wedding was slow but then again there was only 1 person serving whilst another polished glasses....and I'm not sure that either of them were prepared for a guest list that was mainly rugby players.

Finally, the breakfast was lovely. The food was cooked well and my friends assured me that the chocolate muffins were to die for.

Overall, a very nice stay in a tired but comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: If you want space, ask for room 135. Apparently it's one of the largest although it does over lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We attended a wedding and stayed at the Avon Gorge recently and were very disappointed with a number of aspects. Firstly the beds in the twin room (there were no double rooms left when we booked several months ago). Although the beds themselves were ok the duvets were tiny and didn't come over the sides of the bed culminating in a fairly chilly night. Luckily yet staff were very accommodating in swapping our room when we returned to find our original room filled with smoke from burnt food in the kitchen below. Unfortunately the new room also smelled strongly of burnt meat meaning we had to sleep with the window wide open adding to the chilliness of the night. Decor was dated and the old tv needs updating to the 21st century! The decor, especially the carpets, need to be renewed in a lot of the building...very tatty!
We found the bar to be very expensive.... Higher then London prices for a pint! Young staff working behind the bar weren't particularly efficient and were in desperate need of some training to pour the most basic of pints and work the till correctly.
Breakfast was good once we got it although poor replenishment of hot food and initial service to bring coffee and toast.
All in all it was a bed to lay our heads but not worth the £95 we paid and that wasn't even with a view of the Gorge!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived mid morning - able to check in immediately room 215 overlooked the street - but was comfortable,clean and fine for an overnight stay.

Pros: Really welcoming reception and bar staff; they were all very helpful and polite. Food - Thursday night is steak night - we had rump steak really chunky home made chips and salad and a decent bottle of red wine -all for £25.00 for two- beautiful food, very good value and very popular - so much so that we couldn't get a window table. The view from the restaurant over the bridge is stunning.

Cons: couple of minor things - don't let the view from the car park put you off - our hearts sank when we arrived, as the back of the building looks to be a state of some disrepair - this is certainly not reflected in the hotel itself. Breakfast - felt like the sausage & bacon had been out for some time, quite hard and brittle. The tables weren't laid out properly - no small plates and knives for toast - had to get our own from the breakfast buffet. We didn't see any evidence of toast & coffee being moved from vacated tables however, our milk jug only had a very small amount of milk in it, which would suggest that this might be the case - again had to get our own milk from the breakfast bar.

Clifton village itself is fantastic, all in all we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night. The room was small but clean and the bed comfortable. The view of the Clifton Suspension Bridge and over theGorge lovely to see from the bedroom window. The only thing that gives this hotel a low score is the fact that at breakfast, which in itself was ok, was the fact that as people left the breakfast table the new arrivals were given the toast and the coffee off the tables that were just vacated. I would have thought at the prices charged at this hotel fresh toast and coffee would be a priority. Gripe over but if staying there check your toast is warm and that your coffee pot has more than half a cup of coffee. I saw this happen myself so know it is true.

Room Tip: we were in room 405, small but lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAvonGorge, General Manager at Avon Gorge Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on the hotel. You are correct, we are very fortunate to have such a wonderful setting here at the Avon Gorge Hotel.

I must say that was shocked to hear of what you saw at Breakfast time, I was glad to hear that it did not happen to you. Our aim is to deliver outstanding customer service; I can assure you that we serve fresh toast and coffee or tea to all our guests at Breakfast. I would be delighted to hear of your experience personally.

On a positive note, I was glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly decorated rooms; we do proud ourselves in the cleanliness of the hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Guillaume Lesage
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for 44 years.

It's not very often 'Jewels' stay the same, I can report that the hotel may have changed its name since I first stayed there. It was called the 'The Grand Spa' and it was very grand - it was the best hotel in Bristol by far.

It might not be the priciest hotel in Bristol, but for me it's the best, great food, wonderful friendly staff and located in the nicest part of the city.

Clifton is a wonderful area for pubs, restaurants and nice shops.

You could not have a better place for a base, on street parking is tight - but I haver never failed to get in the car park.

Gorge views are my favourite - the hotel is vey homely now, and the staff make you feel at home.

It's very worth staying - most of my trips are just 2 days, I would love a longer stay.

Room Tip: Room 124 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avon Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Gorge Hotel

Address: Sion Hill | Clifton Avon, Bristol BS8 4LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avon Gorge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settings rarely come like this: nestled in the heart of Clifton Village, Bristol the Avon Gorge Hotel offers a unique location for any trip to Bristol or tour of the West Country.This historic hotel offers unparalleled views of Brunels Grade One listed Clifton Suspension Bridge, said to be one of the worlds greatest bridges. Boasting fantastic panorama, the hotel is also in a very central position for both business and leisure trips alike, with Bristol City Centre within walking distance. The views don't stop here, from the popular Bridge Cafe and White Lion Bar, with an extensive all weather terrace area, enjoy the spectacular panorama of Somerset and the southern areas of Bristol. By foot discover some of the countrys finest architecture in the surrounding area of Clifton, its just on your door step. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Avon Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Gorge Bristol
Hotel Avon Gorge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Gorge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.