We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks most of the boxes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aztec West, Bristol BS32 4TS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Godalming, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Ticks most of the boxes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed overnight as presenting at a seminar the following day. Refurbishment work going at reception. The hotel check in was friendly and efficient as was check out. The hotel is spread out and a bit of a trek to the room which was comfortable and clean. Trouser press, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge. Couple of odd things. The shower head was not moveable and was set at chest height meaning you had to stoop to wash hair and the towel rail was immediately above the toilet and as I pulled the bath towel from it, the hand towel fell into the toilet bowl (yes I am a man and I'd left it up!) Reastaurant served some vry good food if not large portions although the wait between ordering and arriving was bordering on poor. Didn't use the spa facilities but walked past them. What does spring to mind is the inadequate parking when they hold seminar or other events. How on earth are people supposed to get there if not by car, but the car park is woefully short of space and double parking or parking offsite was necessary. Not the cheapest hotel and again borderline on value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AztecHotelUK, General Manager at Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments. With regards to your main point, our car park has 250 spaces but there are times when the mix of business does cause the spaces to fill quickly. We have a car parking attendant there to help with the flow of cars and an arrangement with the business park to deal with overflow. We have also just collaborated with a coach company who are offering a shuttle between the hotel and local train station to assist with this issue. I’m glad to hear that you liked the facilities in the room and that you liked the food in the restaurant.

Kind regards

Chris Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    159
    66
    20
    12
See reviews for
105
102
20
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here before and it has always been very good, and to be fair it still is but, this time it was Very busy and breakfast was a joke,
Greeting each person and taking them to a table was taking forever
And the Que. just got bigger and bigger, service was slow and clearing plates was down to do it yourself, sorry Aztec not impressed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AztecHotelUK, General Manager at Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I’m sorry to learn that following previous good experiences, you were let down on this occasion. Be assured that I am taking immediate action to relook at breakfast service in order to make sure that the points you raise do not occur again. I am confident that a few small changes will result in quicker service and so I hope you will visit us again soon to see the improvement.

Kind regards

Chris Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a work conference, the conferencing facility is fantastic with lots of flexible rooms and good snacks and lunches provided.
The hotel rooms are okay if a little hot, the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment so the smell of fresh paint does waft around the hotel but the bits that have been refurbished look good.
The only downside was the restaurant facility, service at dinner was slow, and if you wish to have a glass of wine with dinner I suggest speaking to your bank first to arrange a small mortgage. Breakfast was even worse, food was fine but if you want a warm drink I suggest you make your own in the room and take it with you as despite three requests it proved impossible to get a cup of tea or toast in the restaurant.
Overall the hotel is good but let down by the service in the restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AztecHotelUK, General Manager at Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks for your great comments about our conference facilities. We are very proud of our meeting rooms and Conference Café refreshments/lunch offering. I do hope you weren’t too inconvenienced by the painting – we have tried to keep disruption to a minimum. I’m glad you like what we have achieved so far and will return again to see the finished product. As I have mentioned to another reviewer, I am making changes to breakfast service in order to improve the experience.

Kind regards

Chris Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Very friendly staff, good bar food and really good breakfast. Comfortable and quiet rooms. The hotel probably needs updating but there is a refurbishment under way. Didn't use the spa facilities so can't comment on that. It is expensive but maybe if you use all the facilities it's better value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AztecHotelUK, General Manager at Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
As you mention, the décor of the hotel had begun to get dated so we are currently undergoing a major refurbishment of the corridors and public areas to freshen the place up. I’m pleased to hear that all the staff you encountered were friendly and you enjoyed dining with us. I hope to welcome you back soon so that you can see the results of the refurbishment.

Kind regards

Chris Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is easy to find just off Junction 16 of the M5. Reception was very helpful and we were able to book in early for the wedding. The room was very clean, tidy and spacious. Although the bar prices were high this has to be expected. The wedding breakfast was very nice and well cooked and the waitress was very good and friendly. Although we didnt use the spa or swimming pool this is all included with the room.
Breakfast was very hot and the staff we very good.
A great hotel to stay, not cheap but well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AztecHotelUK, General Manager at Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay. I’m very happy to hear that you enjoyed the wedding celebrations – especially the food. I hope you will be able to make another visit to the hotel on a more leisurely basis so that you can enjoy our spa facilities. We offer a great spa package break!

Kind regards

Chris Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed for a spa break with my sister as it was her birthday. I was looking forward to spoiling her and the experience at this hotel certainly did that. When we arrived we had to check in at a makeshift reception as the front desk area was being refurbished. My hat goes off to the ladies on reception for making us feel so welcome despite the disruption. We caught a glimpse of the spa as we made our way to our room and it looked so inviting that we couldn't wait to get settled then go down to sit in the Jacuzzi. Our room was lovely with fluffy bathrobes awaiting us to use in the spa. This was just one of the many little touches that made the stay special.
After an afternoon relaxing, we had dinner in the restaurant. I must have mentioned by sister's birthday when I booked but I didn't make a big thing of it. We were both very surprised to see that the reservations department picked up on this and had arranged for our table to be decorated with birthday confetti - again, another special touch. My sister was a little embarrassed but I think she secretly liked it! Dinner was amazing - especially the choices from the Taste of the South West table. It was like a little buffet of all the best local produce.
We had treatments the next day followed by lunch in the spa lounge - everything was so easy to arrange and it was nice that we could sit there in our fluffy robes rather than having to change to sit in the bar area. We were so relaxed that we didn't want to leave! Although we were in our home town, we felt we had travelled to a spa resort and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax without really going too far.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AztecHotelUK, General Manager at Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your great review – I’m so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that your sister had a birthday to remember. As you say, we firmly believe that little touches make a big impression and it’s lovely to see that you have commented on aspects such as the bathrobes. I’m very proud to see that you describe us as a ‘spa resort’ – you are right when you say that you don’t have to travel far to feel far away and relaxed. I hope to welcome you back again – perhaps your sister will book you in for your birthday!

Kind regards

Chris Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stay in this hotel on a regular basis - it manages to combine the feel of a family run business with the slickness of the best 4 star hotels. Its location is superb for commuting or sightseeing, due to its proximity to the main motorways. The hotel sets its standards from the moment you enter - the reception is friendly, good humoured and professional. Everything else follows on. I particularly like the facilities in the Spa as this allows you to unwind after a busy day with some excellent gym equipment followed by a great swim and sauna, with excellent instructors on hand if required. This facility, not forgetting the excellent main restaurant, set it above any other hotels in the area. I would highly recommend this hotel to either a business user or a those on a mini break.

Room Tip: Room selection all depends - if there is a group booking in as an example - but if you want a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AztecHotelUK, General Manager at Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
As a regular guest, it is lovely to hear your feedback as you have experienced the different aspects of the hotel, dealt with various staff members and tried different dishes from the menu. It is therefore very pleasing to hear that you have only positive comments and feel that the hotel is a home away from home. The spa will be proud to learn that you single them out as a particular reason for returning the Aztec. Thank you for recommending us.

Kind regards

Chris Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa

Address: Aztec West, Bristol BS32 4TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#6 Family Hotel in Bristol
#10 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 4 star hotel - stunning timber beams blend with contemporary artwork and stone flagged floors adorned by brightly coloured feature rugs. With an easy to reach location - just off the M4/M5 - and within the borders of Bristol City centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Aztec Hotel Bristol
Bristol Aztec Hotel And Spa
Aztec Hotel Bristol
Aztec Bristol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Aztec Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.