We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday celebration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Americas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“50th Birthday celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Bowl of fruit and card were waiting in our room, very nice room overlooking the inner garden, Hotel was perfectly placed to enjoy Bristol, 2 mins walk to the river front and next door to the Cathedral, and this was not a problem as the hotel was very quiet. Also very close for theatres and shopping, we only ate breakfast in the hotel but could not fault that, they served everything you could wish for and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Swimming pool was of an acceptable size for a hotel and sauna and steam room you could use together (sometimes the sauna is in the changing rooms so you cannot go in with your partner) we loved Bristol and would not hesitate to go back to this hotel for another long weekend. It had everything to make a short city break very nice.
My only fault (if any) would be that the lighting in the room was not that good, the bedside lamps were too bright so no good for reading but the other lights were not bright enough, so if you like to read when you go to bed I suggest you take a small lamp, but other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    437
    144
    64
    34
See reviews for
195
463
42
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

great hospitality ! amazing food! awesome decor and cozy environment. Elegant and comfortable interiors. The prices are very high! the room are charming. the rooms, almost all of them are equipped with excellent views.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel is situated next to the cathedral and college green, well placed for the floating harbour and other attractions, but some little way from the main shopping centre. This hotel was fully up to Marriott standards during our stay, and looking for a superior room we ended up with a junior suite. It was enormous with all facilities, and we felt reasonably priced at about £200 per night. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but the bar and lounge are comfortable rooms with an imaginative menu which we enjoyed. There is handy parking next door at £12.50 per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We've stayed here twice recently, both times for the weekend. Communal areas have lovely luxurious feel to them, and rooms are excellent too. Fantastic staff, especially Monika who with her staff handled our little emergency (sick child in the middle of the night) brilliantly! Thank you so much, and I'm sure we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was at the hotel for a conference last week and on arrival received a room upgrade. I have to say the room was of a excellent standard with great views (Floor 3). Very roomy, very comfortable and every need provided for, most importantly, very clean! The shortbread supplied with the tea and coffee went down a treat.

I eat in the restaurant on the first night, I have to admit, I didn't the menu was incredibly varied. I went for the "beefburger and chips" Simply put. It was very nice and the meat was excellent! It was a good portion and had been cooked to order. At £17 I thought this was pricey, especially when you are on an over night accomodation allowance. Just out of curiosity I asked for a wine list, Aprox £25 for a bottle of house Rose. I opted for a pint of Becks Veir, £4.35. Lets say I made it last.

I understand there are other restaurants very close by which are much more competetive. The breakfast is buffet style with lots of variety. Excellent sausages!!

On balance this is a good hotel, I would stay again, but would probably eat out. Maybe a meal deal for business travellers would be a good idea to fit within overnight allowances would draw more to eat in.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just stayed at the marriot royal for 3 nights, in room 1409. Managed to check in at 12pm (thank you daniel) and got a room on a high floor as requested, so that was great. The room itself was roomy, elegant and very well equipped, and the bed was amazingly comfortable.
I really liked all the lounges, except that a cup of tea costs a ridiculous 4.75!!!
The leisure centre was really good (once all the screaming kids/ useless parents had vacated it!) and the gym was fab.
As to meals, On the first night we had a meal in the hotel restaurant - was a bit disappointed that some vacuous designer had been allowed to remove all the charm and replace it with nauseating blandness (why do hotels think guests want generic bland charmless featureless rooms which look like airport lounges - it loses all appeal and AMBIENCE!!!!!!!!!) the meal itself was quite good though 2 of the vegetarian. Options contained beetroot as the main ingredient -why?- what if you don't like beetroot?? The soup and the pudding (creme brulee) were lovely but the main was just weird (beetroot. Ravioli.yuk). Also, I object to the menus - looked like something out of a wetherspoons. That god-awful designer again.....

I have to say that the breakfast was fantastic - great choice, fresh, tasty, abundant. Fab! Well done. Omelette too mmm

As to the staff - the young waitresses in the restaurant on the evening of Friday. 13th were amazing. Genuine, smiley, helpful, polite - they were utterly charming. Great job.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recomend this hotel (just please put back the traditional restaurant - if I wanted a corporate, generic, boring, clean lines type hotel I would have picked one! Listen to your guests, don't. ASSUME they want modern).
Thank you.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms are on the 3rd floor, suites are on the 1st. Some rooms have designated cathedral vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a very comfortable hotel with all the advantages of staying in a renowned establishment.The staff were friendly and welcoming.A big advantage is the underground parking- available at a discounted rate for 24 hours, this represents great value and convenience- Bristol is notoriously expensive to park in! However, we did not realise that the bedroom windows did not open- maybe we missed this on the website? We usually check in advance as this matters to us but it did not occur to us that it woud be necessary here. Also, breakfast service was marred by having a queue for the egg preparation- more than 10 minutes for an omelette and still not ready!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms offer the best chance of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#9 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Family Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.