We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and Grand!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand to your Saves list
Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Broad St., Bristol BS1 2EL, England (Formerly Thistle Bristol Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Bristol
cardiff
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great and Grand!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here with group of friends last weekend. So pleased with our choice. Excellent reception staff and concierge and offered us discounts for food and drink for our party. The downstairs bar was a great place to meet too. Rooms were clean, comfortable and all staff friendly. Close to local bars, clubs and also cabot circus.
Highly recommend this Hotel, couldnt do enough - especially the gentleman on concierge too.

Room Tip: We had 9 rooms - none were of particular difference that I could see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mkelly1233, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Elaina

Thank you for your "Great and Grand" review!

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    381
    190
    95
    58
See reviews for
124
367
71
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with family so room was huge. Tidy & clean which is most important to myself.

Ha a meal and was nice not outstanding tho. Breakfast was ok self service buffet but it was the sitting and the pouring of tea/coffee that's odd you get seated then they are meant to bring you your drink but they are so busy seatin people filling cups ip replenshing breakfast you have to wait a while by time get It it's cold that was only gripe i had but wasn't major so didn't complain should just put a table out to help yourself easier for everyone.

Overall pleased and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mkelly1233, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Nix

Thank you for your "Big Clean Room" review. I am pleased that you were overall happy with your stay and am also pleased that you took the time to offer us feedback on what we can do better. Please be assured that both myself and my Operations Manager have taken your comments about providing self service tea and coffee at breakfast. Ideally I would prefer our team to check every table; however, we are going to trial your suggestion on our next busy Sunday and see how it works.

Thank you

Mark Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend in Bristol in this lovely hotel. The rooms are lovely and clean with a good, strong shower. Breakfast is gorgeous and we also had dinner in the hotel which was very tasty and good value. The hotel's location is superb - a short walk away from everything you need. The pool was great, with jacuzzi, steam room, the works! The only thing about the hotel that bothered us is that the cleaners seemed to use a very strong smelling spray on the carpets all over the hotel and one of our friends is asthmatic so had an unpleasant reaction to this. However if you leave your bedroom window open, it helps alot. Overall we had a really enjoyable stay and would highly recommend The Grand. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mkelly1233, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Em

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review following your stay. I am delighted that you had a "Great" stay.

I have spoken to our Head Housekeeper Evita about the carpets and can only put it down to a recent carpet clean by an external contractor. I have already raised your feedback with them and we are currently awaiting a reply. Thank you for the opportunity to review this to allow us to continue the comfort and enjoyable stay of all our guests.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well worth a visit right in the heart of Bristol lovely clean and friendly , made us very welcome went the extra mile with flowers and wine sent to our room as it was our anniversary well done all staff

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mkelly1233, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Angela

Thank you for your "Lovely hotel and staff" review.

We are delighted that you decided to spend your Anniversary in our hotel and had a great stay.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We only stopped here one night to see a gig at a venue nearby and had room only. It is right in the centre of Old Bristol. It has enclosed parking next door that is free. The standard is good and the receptionist was both friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mkelly1233, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for leaving a "Lovely" hotel review.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other guests and for taking the time to recommend us.

Thank you!

Kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Big hotel, cheap for a 4star so excellent value

It is big though. You know the drill here.

Ask for a room away from the entrance to the corridors where the rooms are otherwise you will be kept awake all night by people falling through them when they come in

Breakfast decent

Does the job

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location, easily walkable to anywhere you'd want to be in central Bristol and harbourside. Stayed 2 nights over Easter weekend as a last minute booking having been messed around by another hotel. Very impressed with staff at both front desk and at breakfast, room was huge (junior suite with massive sofa bed for our 5 year old), unbelievably comfy beds. Only complaint was that we were in a room next to the lift, which was a bit noisy (ask to avoid room 209 if this concerns you) but as we booked last minute, can't be too critical of that. Overall, a great stay in a great city in a great hotel. Proper job.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mkelly1233, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to other guests.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand

Address: Broad St., Bristol BS1 2EL, England (Formerly Thistle Bristol Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#18 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre, The Grand is a quiet haven in the heart of buzzing Bristol. Its central location is ideal for both business and leisure, offering 182 bedrooms and 10 meeting rooms and within walking distance of the Harbourside, Broadmead Shopping and 1m from Temple Meads Station. You don’t have to worry about parking as we have our own car park on-site, which is a real bonus for a city-centre hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand, Bristol Hotel Bristol
Thistle Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.