We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly okay stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand to your Saves list
Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Broad St., Bristol BS1 2EL, England (Formerly Thistle Bristol Grand Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Perfectly okay stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed at the Grand last weekend and had a really nice time.

I was worried about choosing this hotel after I read some poor reviews, but in my opinion it really isn't that bad.

We arrived to be greeted by friendly staff and discovered that our booking was incorrect, which they quickly rectified (we had already parked the car in the hotel's car park which was secure and easy to find).

We booked an upgraded room (on the second floor) and apart from the bathroom being slightly dated, it was hard to complain about the size, decor or cleanliness. I used two pillows and found them to be comfy (I see another reviewer complained about them).

On our first night, we decided to try the hotel restaurant. From the outside, it looks a bit dull and the menu looks unappetising. It's fair to say we were in for a very pleasant surprise - the food was amazing and you could not fault the service.

Our room rate included breakfast which was really nicely laid out, lots of variety and quick to get served.

When we checked out, the Receptionist informed us that there was no parking charge as it was included. We were rather impressed since it is £15 a day to park there (this is a much cheaper rate than the local NCP car park).

A top tip from me is for the ladies to use the ladies toilet on the ground floor - if like me, you like original features, you will find a rather interesting bathroom.

I would recommend this hotel for couples wanting a romantic break (like we did), or for families wanting a relaxing break. As for the groups of young people, there were some staying, but we did not hear them at night like other reviewers have done and there was no loud music playing or air conditioning units to be heard!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your stay with us.

As a team, we really appreciate your kind comments and the in depth review of your experience and would like to thank you for basing your experience upon previous negative comments. As a hotel we will always cater for all different types of guests and especially at weekends, you will find groups of young people staying in all the Bristol hotels as it is such a vibrant City.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Grand in the near future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    342
    169
    87
    55
See reviews for
108
324
67
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Typical faded glory hotel in need of some money being spent on it and some customer service training. The sink in my room was badly cracked and off putting (see photo) with the damage obviously not recent so I assume the management have decided to leave it like that. When we tried to get a drink at about 6.30pm we were told the main bar was shut but the other bar was open soon. After 10-15 mins trying to work out what to do, the two members of staff in the bar decided they could serve us after all but we'd have to take our drinks to the reception area. This was all repeated later the same night when we asked for a nightcap at about 11pm.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your stay with us.
I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments with you in person and would be grateful if you could contact me at the hotel.
I look forward to speaking with you soon.
With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My family and I (5 and 2 year old) visited The Grand Hotel, Bristol over the May Bank Holiday 2012 and found it to be a well appointed, comfortable hotel worthy of it's rating. The communal areas were modern and clean if not overly opulent. Check in was smooth and we found our family room to be of a really good size easily housing our Super King size bed, single bed and cot. The furnishings were modern and the cleanliness standard high. The staff were very friendly and professional. All good so far!

However, the real problem we had with this hotel were the clientel. Due to it's close proximity to the city centre the hotel was populated by groups of very young students, (there was a 6th form ball in one of the function rooms), hen parties and large groups of men all looking to party. This gave the hotel a very 18-30 feel far from ideal for our young family. Unfortunately this had a very detrimental affect on our stay as the male occupants of the room next to ours returned to the hotel at 3:30 in the morning and proceeded to make an enormous amount of raucous noise until 4:30am. To be fair to the hotel they did deal with my complaint about this the following morning extremely professionally and we were upgraded to a large suite in a quieter part of the hotel for our 2nd night where we enjoyed a much calmer nights sleep. Breakfasts were excellent and the service staff very attentive. Unfortunately we did not get to use the swimming pool and spa adjacent to the hotel.

Overall an excellent hotel with great staff spoiled by it's weekend clientel. On that basis I really could not recommend this hotel to young families during weekends.

Room Tip: Suite 206 was excellent. A great deal of space over 2 rooms in a quieter part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your stay with us.

As a team, we really appreciate your kind comments with regards to the hotel team and the hotel itself and are pleased that you found our cleanliness standard to be high.

I would like to apologise for the disruption that you encountered from the Sixth Form Prom that was held in the hotel, along with what appears to have been a very rowdy stag party who were also staying at the same time, but was pleased to read that we were able to move you to a quieter location for your second night.

We do hope to welcome both you and your family you back to The Grand in the near future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Clean and tidy enough but with some issues. 1) Air con unit from next door's room rattled all night clearly audible in mine, which was annoying. 2) The TV service was poor - only about 6 channels work. 3) No mini-bar in room. 4) The hotel bar closed prior to 11:45!

Other than that, no bother. Friendly staff especially barman in the basement bar who was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the disturbance that you encountered from the next door's Air Conditioning unit, we will be reviewing all units to ensure that there are no noises to disturb guests in other rooms and at the same time reviewing all of our TV's to ensure that channels are working correctly.

Depending on the number of residents still in the bar, sometimes our bar will shut early however our Night Porters can then arrange drinks for you.

We were pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and that our barman in Marlows was helpful during your stay.

We do hope to that you will come back to visit us at The Grand Hotel in the near future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

the room was comfortable and quiet, centrally located, downside was parking was extra, as was breakfast, which was a buffet, but was lukewarm. shower wasnt very hot either.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the fact that neither the breakfast or your shower was as hot as you would have liked during your recent stay, we will certainly review this however would like to assure you that they are within recommended guidelines.

We have a range of room rates which can be purchased, room only, breakfast inclusive and also a rate which includes dinner which I hope will be of help to you the next time you make a reservation with us.

With regards to our car park charges, they are charged separately to our room rates as not all guests require parking facilities and many of our corporate guests require the charges to be detailed separately on their invoice.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

When we arrived at the Grand they were very busy checking people in but the staff were friendly and efficient. The room we were allocated had a very noisy ac unit in the hall outside the room - we asked to move and were put in a room on the floor directly underneath the first which also had a noisy ac unit. Move no 2 was a success and we were given a room on the front of the hotel. It was clean, warm, comfortable, quiet (apart from the returning hen parties - but that is hardly the hotels fault!) with an extremely comfortable bed - one of the best it was really excellent. The staff at this hotel are terrific and go the extra mile. We didn't eat there but had a cup of tea in the bar and a drink - again excellent staff

The only complaint I would have is having to pay for WiFi. For goodness sake I can go to the coffee shop down the road and get it for free why not in a hotel when I am paying to stay there? It really is just mean!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your stay with us.

As a team, we really appreciate your kind comments about the staff here at the hotel and are pleased that in the main you enjoyed your stay at The Grand.

With regards to our current charges for WiFi, if you sign up to our new Signature reward programme free WiFi is one of the benefits of the programme, with further benefits to be had dependant on the number of nights that you stay with one of our Thistle or Guoman hotels.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Great hotel in centre of Bristol within walking distance of all the main attractions. I found the room comfortable and it was a good price for the location. The staff were friendly. Didn't try the restaurant, but from the menu, it looked lovely! Would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Single rooms may be quite small for some, but I found it quite cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you found the Grand to be ideally located to visit all of the main attractions in Bristol and that you also found our staff friendly and hotel comfortable.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand

Address: Broad St., Bristol BS1 2EL, England (Formerly Thistle Bristol Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#20 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre, The Grand is a quiet haven in the heart of buzzing Bristol. Its central location is ideal for both business and leisure, offering 182 bedrooms and 10 meeting rooms and within walking distance of the Harbourside, Broadmead Shopping and 1m from Temple Meads Station. You don’t have to worry about parking as we have our own car park on-site, which is a real bonus for a city-centre hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand, Bristol Hotel Bristol
Thistle Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Bristol City Centre, The Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.