We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
The Bristol Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Harbourside | Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

just spent a lovely weekend at The Bristol Hotel with the wife, check in was swift and staff very pleasant and helpful, a request was made for a high floor over looking the river which was great providing lovely views, as we were celebrating a birthday, the hotel had a very pleasant surprise for us with slippers and dressing gowns, and complimentary cocktails, the hotel staff were superb and always smiling, The hotel has great looking and comfortable rooms, the hotel bars were a very comfortable place to sit , and enjoy a peaceful drink and chat before going out and then returning for a night cap, the location was perfect for getting about. we will certainly be returning

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the river provide great views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear SteveB,

Thank you for your great review and five stars,

I am glad you enjoyed your birthday celebrations whilst with us and all aspects of your stay lived up to your expectations.

If booking again, remember our best available rates and packages are always found on our direct website,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    745
    213
    72
    33
See reviews for
191
1,191
84
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at the Bristol hotel a few weeks ago - and it remains a very pleasant memory. Lovely comfortable room and exceptional service. At reception they could not have been more helpful in resolving a query I had regarding directions to my meeting the next day, at dinner the staff new my name...and again at breakfast. Exceptional processes in place to make you feel a valued customer. Will definitely stay there again when in Bristol.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear PeterF,

Thank you for the great review, I believe this is your second one for the property.

We appreciate all your kind comments, ultimately this is what drives us on to continually improve and deliver.

We hope to see you again when back in Bristol,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manger
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Last time I stayed here my room was hot and noisy. When they asked for feedback I told them. At my next booking without prompting they upgraded me and the customer service was excellent. With parking next door, good rooms, a decent breakfast and excellent staff I'd recommend the hotel so long as you get aircon in your room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Rob C,

Thank you for your review and feedback,

It is pleasing that we dealt with your concerns immediately and appropriately as we know we will not always get everything right, however we should be always able to rectify it if made aware,

We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary car parking also,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on 23 November for our first anniversary having been so impressed by our mini moon stay last November.

Again, the service was brilliant, staff couldn't do enough for us and our champagne and breakfast was delivered to the room spot on time.

Room was luxurious, comfortable and the shower amazing! We took the option of a late check out and so glad we did.

The hotel is right on the waterfront so it is a little noisy at night but not enough to bother us nor put us off returning. We found it a massive plus point being so close to lots of bars and restaurants as we had a great choice for dinner!

We will be back next time we stay in the city. I've stayed in a lot of hotels this year for business and pleasure and this is deffo one of the best

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Fairy1984,

Looking at your review I am delighted that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and indeed my sincerest thanks for you taking the time to write the review.

Feedback such as yours is a great boost to everyone as we make ever greater strides to look after our guests. Memorable luxury experiences are what the team continue to strive for and I am thrilled that in this instance you were looked after as you were.

I look forward to seeing you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wedmore, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed on the night of 22 November. Perfectly comfortable hotel, with a good room & great breakfast. A couple of issues though, the sink in the bathroom was cracked, there was only 1 hand towel & 1 bath towel for 2 guests, and no full length mirror to my wife's disgust. Service was good, staff lovely & helpful, but attention to the detail would make it better.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear jim_fish_12,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We appreciate your comments and i will ensure they are circulated to our team so we can review and ensure we don't frustrate future guests in a similar fashion,
Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My stay at The Bristol Hotel was a fantastic one, the brilliant customer service and care I received from their very friendly staff (Reception, Room service, Restaurant...) coupled together with their Yummy food, fantastic bedding and warm environment made my business trip a very pleasant and enjoyable one!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Timytz,

Looking at your review I am delighted that you had a most enjoyable stay with us and indeed my sincerest thanks for you taking the time to write the review.

Feedback such as yours is a great boost to everyone as we make ever greater strides to look after our guests. Memorable luxury experiences are what the team continue to strive for and I am thrilled that in this instance you were looked after as you were.

I look forward to seeing you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nice central location, free parking, good breakfast included, and staff were friendly and professional. Clean and comfortable so overall excellent - the only downside was the room was small and the bathroom very tiny. And the corridors were a bit depressing - painted a nasty shade of grey. But it was great value!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear LizC,

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate your comments on the corridor colour scheme, "depressing" wasn’t quite what we set out for but we will certainly take them on board for future consideration!!

Overall I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back again when your next in Bristol.

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Address: The Harbourside | Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol Hotel!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol Hotel. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol’s Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero’s Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol Hotel is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, complimentary car park, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol Hotel, The finest Bristol Hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Jurys Doyle, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.