We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Good Service, and Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
The Bristol Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Harbourside | Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Extremely Good Service, and Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at The Bristol Hotel for the first time on Friday 8th November for one night, having been working on an event in the city.

The hotel is in an extremely central location, a three-minute walk away from the city centre shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife. It's also very close to the Hippodrome theatre.

The hotel is non-descript from the outside, being located in a 1970's building. However, this doesn't matter, and once inside, the decor is fresh, modern, spotlessly clean, attractive and in a good state of repair. Of particular note is the bar and restaurant area at the rear of the hotel, which has a splendid view over the old docks.

For those who are arriving by car, there is an NCP car park attached to the hotel, and guests are offered free parking there for the duration of their stay. Believe me, in Bristol this is worth it's weight, as parking in the city centre is a nightmare!

I had booked a room on-line, on the same day as staying, and got a very good deal. On arrival, the extremely polite and efficient gentleman at reception had all my details instantly to hand. Check-in was quick and easy. I was offered a complimentary upgrade to a superior room on the sixth floor, which was a lovely surprise, as I had booked so late.

The room had everything you could ask for, including free Wi-fi, plenty of power sockets, a work desk, armchair with footstool, and a coffee making machine, which is a nice and unusual touch. The room was in excellent order, spotlessly clean and appeared to have been recently refurbished. It was air-conditioned and overall was extremely comfortable.

I recommend the hotel bar, which was staffed by two charming people. I was impressed by their level of service, Every time they walked passed me in the bar, they gave me eye contact and a lovely smile. This I feel is indicative of excellent customer service, and shows that the staff at this hotel are well trained, nice people! I didn't feel that I was staying in a big "chain" hotel, but in an establishment which really cares about their guests. Huge compliments to all the staff.

I had an excellent, undisturbed night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. Check out time isn't until 12pm, so this is a great place if you fancy a lazy morning lie-in!

I didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but I understand that this is served in the restaurant, which overlooks the docks. A lovely vista!

Thank you to all the staff, for a lovely stay. This is one of the best four star hotels I've recently stayed in, and I would thoroughly recommend it. I'll certainly book again, next time I'm in Bristol.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Nick P,

Thank you for your thoughtful, well laid out, comprehensive review.

we appreciate your positive comments as ultimately this is what drives us on to deliver each time.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    677
    196
    68
    30
See reviews for
169
1,074
79
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our second stay here, and it was just as good as the first, all the staff we encountered were friendy and helpful, we had a room facing the Harbourside and the bed was very comfortable and we didn't here any noise from outside, We were on a room only rate but had breakfast which was good and again the free parking is great. This is definatley our choice of htotel when we stay in Bristol

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Towerbridgecheeselet,

Thank you for the review,

We are delighted to be your hotel of choice when coming to Bristol.

Keep an eye on our direct website when you are next returning, we do some excellent packages which include breakfast and incorporate great value for money.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in October and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were very polite, helpful and friendly. The room was lovely, very spacious, beautiful clean ensuite and very comfy bed. However what i enjoyed the most was the food - we had planned on having dinner one night in the hotel but it was so amazing we dined there again the second night! Exceptional! And those vegetarian sausages for breakfast - a must for everyone - vegetarian or not! :-) The restaurant overlooks the river and is a beautiful setting - very romantic.
The hotel is in a very central location - no need for taxis, all shops, pubs and restaurants are within minutes walk. Across the road from the hotel are numerous bars, restaurants etc. So plenty of options.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.
The management and staff are doing a wonderful job of this hotel - keep it up.
I will definitely be back again soon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Breda M,

Thank you for the excellent review,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and also had time to experience our River Grille restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back to Bristol in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great hotel . They are making a good effort . If I was particular there were a couple of points . 1 gave us a smoking room when we preferred a non smoking . 2 a bit late with the take me to the bar package . . However the room was great . Parking good . Breakfast lovely especially with the guy playing the piano . Would we stop again . Deffo . A great hotel with staff trying hard . Thx

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Barrie T,

Thank you for the review and positive comments.

We really do appreciate the time it takes to leave a review and will endeavour to make sure on your next visit that we eliminate the few glitches you experienced.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Location good and overall a rate as a good hotel. Food in restaurant was fine for breakfast and bar did the job. Bed comfortable and free wifi and overall happy. Only negative was being woken by a wake up call in next room so maybe walls are a little thin, but still a good stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Indytv,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review,

We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again when you are back in Bristol,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for one night. The food and the service was very good. Unfortunately our rooms was tiny. The double bed was approx 4'6" x 6' and there was very little room round it The bathroom was also tiny but the bath was a decent size. Staff were apologetic but could not offer a change.

Room Tip: Make it clear you won't have one of the smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Richardevans99,

Thank you for leaving us a review.

We appreciate your comments and will endeavour to take them on board to improve the hotel experience,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at the Bristol Hotel when visiting the Zoo and Aquarium. Great value family room rate and very convenient parking at the adjacent NCP car park, which is included in the room rate for the weekend. Very pleasant staff, Clean and modern hotel and great breakfast - All very plus points when travelling with 3 young children! Would highly recommend this hotel and will look at using the Doyle Collection in the future when travelling to other parts of the country

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Philip P,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you all had a great experience.

I love the Aquarium over At Bristol, they also have a world class planetarium should you visit again.

We have three other Doyle Collection Hotels in the UK but all are in London. Take a look at our website for best rates.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Address: The Harbourside | Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Business Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol Hotel!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol Hotel. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol’s Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero’s Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol Hotel is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, complimentary car park, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol Hotel, The finest Bristol Hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.