We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really accommodating staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
The Bristol Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Harbourside | Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really accommodating staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The management at The Bristol were very helpful. They responded to my room requests quickly and sorted them with no fuss at all, including changing the bedding for my friend (who is allergic to feathers) before we arrived. The decor in the hotel is lovely and the beds big and comfy. The bar area is also really nicely finished. It was good to have our own ironing board and iron in the room, and the espresso machine was a great touch.

One small criticism is the lack of storage - one tiny wardrobe space for two people with no drawers is not enough for anything longer than a couple of nights. The bathroom was also quite small - not an issue for me, but for anyone of the larger persuasion they might find it a little tricky maneuvering around the door. The carpet could also do with a good vacuum around the edges! Overall cleanliness was good, however.

We had a really lovely stay here and will definitely stay again if/when in Bristol. It is good value for what you get and is really well placed, plus the free NCP car park (paid for by the hotel) is a real bonus - parking at hotels (free or otherwise) is not standard in Bristol!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    747
    214
    72
    33
See reviews for
193
1,193
84
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

As mentioned, the outside of the hotel looks quite dull, but once inside all was good. Not too big to get lost ( which happens) We thought our room was a little small and only a shower, but I guess you have to pay more for this. The service was all very good and breakfast was excellant which was included, if you want a frothy coffee you have to ask - but all done very efficiently. Drinks a little pricey but then most hotels are ! You get free parking too.

Room Tip: We were facing the River, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have passed by this hotel many times when in Bristol but not stayed there before, maybe because it looks like a 1970's concrete bunker with NCP car park bolted onto the side!
The Bristol Hotel is conveniently located by the old docks about 600m from Broadmead, so you can walk to most parts of the city centre and railway station within 10-15 minutes.
I chose the hotel for convenience to an evening meeting, with early departure the day after, and was quite impressed with the whole experience. Public areas are well appointed, breakfast is taken in a dining room overlooking the dock. The adjoining car park is also very useful.
Staff are all friendly and quietly efficient. Bar food was expensive for what it was.
My room was comfortable and, although the decor/furnishings are becoming a bit dated, was clean and well maintained.
Overall good value and would use again when in the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Clean hotel. Friendly staff. Centrally located for the bars and restaurants on the quayside. NCP car park next to hotel, which the hotel pays for.
Clean rooms. Lovely large bath towel instead of the usual tea towel sized towel found in other hotels I have stayed in. Also, along with the usual complimentary shampoo and shower gel was a tube of hair conditioner, something I have not found in other hotels.

Would stay again if in Bristol.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Leave the car in the free car park and explore the city on foot. It's waterfront location makes this hotel a perfect base. The hotel was welcoming. All the staff pleasant. Can't think of a negative. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A warm welcome and excellent service - it is obvious that the staff are well trained in these matters. I appreciated the room upgrade to luxury, which gave me plenty of bed room and relaxation space. i don't often sleep well away from home but this bed was gorgeous and i certainly did sleep well. Good breakfast and handy parking in the NCP next door made for an enjoyable trip to Bristol. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I retreat to the Bristol Hotel as often as we can, the location is great, the service and the staff are wonderful, the rooms comfortable, clean and mostly spacious. I'm also fortunate enough to go to the Hotel on shopping weekends with some female relatives, our ages range from 6 mths to 63 years old, the hotel is great for everyone.

Go you won't be disappointed, just stress that you don't want a small room, there are some.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Harbourside have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Address: The Harbourside | Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol Hotel!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol Hotel. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol’s Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero’s Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol Hotel is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, complimentary car park, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol Hotel, The finest Bristol Hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Jurys Doyle, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.