We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel i've stayed at in Bristol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
The Bristol Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Harbourside | Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rushden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel i've stayed at in Bristol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

I travel to bristol most weeks on business, and have been making a tour of the hotels to see which i preferred the most. So far this has been the best i've stayed in, and i honestly can't fault it on anything. Easy parking in the NCP car park, good food, clean fresh rooms where the decor looks still new. Great experience all round

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    677
    196
    68
    30
See reviews for
169
1,074
79
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford, uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I have just returned from a perfect two night break in Bristol. This hotel was amazing, from check in to check out. We got the deal which included breakfast and dinner from travel zoo. The food was the best I have had at a British hotel. There was a good selection of hot and cold food at breakfast, i opted for the hot cooked breakfast which was brilliant, there was also fresh fruit, selection of breads and pastries, juices and cold meats.

The room was outstanding, we had a 6th floor room with amazing views. The bed was so comfy and I had the best two nights sleep!

The three course set menu, which we had included in our stay, had a great selection of dishes and what I had was very tasty and nicely presented. The staff were very polite and friendly and I was never made to feel uncomfortable or that anything was too much trouble (not that we had any problems).

The hotel is in an ideal location for sight seeing, eating and drinking out, shopping and walking around Bristol as it is in the heart of everything. The bars across the harbour are very nice and not too highly priced.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a lovely relaxing stay in Bristol.

Room Tip: Ask for a 6th floor room, to experience the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location to go out and visit Bristol, nice hotel with a car park next door.
Great breakfast (buffet) and friendly staff

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Very Nice refurbished hotel with excellent location for Bristol City centre , Cathedral and waterfront.
Stopped new years eve and could not fault anything ,Used room service , Restaurant for dinner and breakfast and all good.
Best of all were the staff who seemed genuinely happy to help.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed at The Bristol on the 30th December to enjoy some last minute sales.
Once again our stay was fantastic from arriving to checkout nothing was too much trouble the room was massive and very warm we even had to have a window open!
I missed the man playing the piano at breakfast because i really built that bit up to my sister but i understand everyone has to have a day off ha ha
Great location, great staff, great hotel thanks Raphael and team.
Will never stay anywhere else in Bristol as long as they make me fell this welcome
Kim

Room Tip: Never had a bad room yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed here with my fiance for NYE having got engaged in Bristol 12 months ago, we were really looking forward to our stay. We are frequent visitors to Bristol as have family in Shirehampton and having previously stayed at the Royal Marriott, Novotel and both Mercure's i must say we were very, very dissapointed with the room we were given.

A tiny bedroom and bathroom was not what we were expecting after paying almost £100, there must have been a 2 ft gap either side of the bed and the bathroom was the smallest i think i have ever come across, barely enough room to wipe. i did not see a description of such a room via the Doylecollection website before booking so even though the actual Hotel was ok and we were given our room early and the location is good with free parking this would not be enough for us to return.

You can get the Marriott, Saco appartments, Radisson for a very similar fee.

Room Tip: Avoid the end rooms, think we had room 324 (box room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Arrived at the hotel on Saturday late afternoon. The attached carpark is extremely handy and literally minutes from the hotel entrance. Reception is clean, modern and nice. Reception staff were also very good. The staff were more than happy to answer what questions we had and to arrange us a taxi for later on that evening.
We stayed on the 5th floor in a deluxe room. Room was fine, clean and decorated in a modernish way. Room was a good size. Small let downs... no wardrobe door (sounds picky, but just looked takcy, hairdryer not great (to be expected in the majority of hotels, and no wifi in the rooms (I should have really checked this before booking). Thed bed wasn't overly comfy (down to personal preference), but could have done without 2 single beds being pushed together to make a King!
The bathroom was a huge let down. Extremely small for the size of the room. It was very VERY basic. 2 main faults, which again sound picky- made showering very awkward. Firstly, the shower/bath screen was to short in width, making it almost impossible not to soak the floor whilst being in the shower. Secondly, the bath was obviously not designed to have a shower above it as the plug could not handle the drainage. I don't think it was blocked, just that as the plug barely lifted, the water could not drain quick enough- resulting in having to stand in luke warm shower water for the remainder of your shower.
The room was extrememly cold. I like a warm room, but my partner who prefers rooms cool was also very cold. There was no individual room control panel for the heating in each room (most hotels decent sized hotels I've stayed in tend to have these). I did mention it to reception on our way out and the gentleman explained that the heating was controlled centrally and he would arrange for an extra heater to be sent up- he was very helpful. When we arrived back the heater was there as promised. As the room was large, the heater did not seem to make a huge difference, but it did warm it up slightly. The shower temperature was also on 50 (the hottest) as was not overly hot- I'm assuming this is linked with the heating.
The main fault which completely ruined the stay was the noise. I fully understand that the hotel cannot control who is booking rooms etc, and it somewhat completely out of their control but there was a group of girls on our floor who spent from 6.30pm (when we arrived) to 8.30pm (when we went out) slamming doors, shouting, running from room to room etc. I was hoping this was just the excitement of getting ready for their night out...Until the first half of them returned at 12.45am and the second at 3.30am. I think the constant door slamming may have been down to the heavily closing doors (after reading a previous review).
Breakfast was fine, a highlight was a VERY pleaseant gentleman who seems to be in charge this morning. His customer service was faultless, which unfortunately seems to be a rare in this country nowadays. He was so helpful and a genuinely nice person.
Due to the standard of the bathroom etc. i would probably not rate this hotel a 4*. But I really must point out how pleaseant the staff were- much nicer than several 5* establishments we've stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Address: The Harbourside | Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Business Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol Hotel!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol Hotel. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol’s Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero’s Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol Hotel is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, complimentary car park, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol Hotel, The finest Bristol Hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bristol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.