We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for wheelchairs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Filton Road | Hambrook, Bristol BS16 1QX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Bristol
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for wheelchairs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Firstly, this hotel is great for wheelchairs. Good parking - albeit a bit rough, so take care. I found the barriers a bit of a pain - dont forget to get your ticket stamped in reception, so take it in with you.

The worst bit, and its only a small bit, was that the reception area was very noisy. Somehow the acoustics made it very hard for me to hear the receptionist. It might have been just busy elsewhere, but I was alone in the reception area. Its a small beef, but I struggled there.

My room was very comfortable and easily accessible. I don't know if its just me, but the beds seem to be getting smaller these days. It was a double, but it would have been nicer if it was a king.

The breakfast was great, the staff really helpful - the chef even knocked me out a couple of poached eggs. That was a treat.

I really enjoyed my stay, very comfortable and relaxing. You also have a choice of two restaurants to have an evening meal at. I enjoyed Sampans, a great experience.

Would I stay there again? You bet.

Room Tip: 108 Disabled room was large and window faces the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaraBeechey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton.

I am extremely pleased that you had a very comfortable and relaxing stay with us. This is how we want all of our guests to feel. I will be proud to share your comments with my team and thank them for helping to make your stay a pleasant one.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the reception area. Please be assured that I have taken your comments on board to review with my Front Office Manager.

It’s fantastic to read that you would stay with us again and my team and I are very much looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lara Beechey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    292
    150
    41
    21
See reviews for
117
159
40
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with work. Clean, compact rooms- liked the complimentary Mars Bar! Good breakfast selection. Easy to find from the motorway. The bar menu was varied but on the more expensive side for food. Car parking was ample.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaraBeechey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton.

I am pleased to read that you found the hotel to be a good place to stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton the next time you are visiting the area.

Yours sincerely,
Lara Beechey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My partner & I stayed here for 2 nights May bank holiday, to attend a wedding on SS Great Britain.
We stay in many hotels abroad and in the UK and this is one of the cleanest we have found.
The room was a good size and looked out to a garden where there were Geese with their babies, rabbits, squirrels - lovely.
Plenty of tea/coffee. The bedding was clean and the sheets/pillow cases, crisp & white. What made it for me was the bathroom was spotless with a great power shower and bath. The towels were White and thick and fluffy, wonderful.
We ate in the restaurant when we arrived on the Friday evening. What did disappoint me about the hotel is the prices for food and drink, which were excessive for this type of hotel, but they know they've got you unless you try and find somewhere and would have to drive.
Breakfast was very good with a great selection. Pay in advance when checking in at reception and they give you tickets. This is much cheaper than paying direct as you go into the breakfast room. Unfortunately on Saturday morning there was a family with their young kids (kids still in PJ's!) who were screaming & running around the room. The parents didn't stop them from causing disruption and we had to move tables. However we could still hear them. This is not the fault of the hotel, but I think the breakfast manager should have asked them to control the children as other diners also made comments about them.
We used the swimming pool and that was a nice size and again, very clean. Towels are available in the pool area reception, so you don't have to take your own.
On the Sunday, before making our journey home, we walked around the grounds and watched some people fishing in the small lake. The setting for the hotel, although near the motorway is lovely.
I have given 4 stars because of the price of food & drink, but our room, friendliness of the staff, cleanliness and facilities would be 5 star plus. A really enjoyable stay and when next in Bristol would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: We had room on 1st floor. Lovely view and sunny. Buy breakfast vouchers when checking in to save mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaraBeechey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay whilst recently visiting Bristol.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us over the May bank holiday and that you were particularly impressed with the cleanliness of our public areas and rooms. I will be extremely proud to share your comments with my Housekeeping Team and ensure that they are recognised for their hard work.

I am sorry that you were disappointed by our food and beverage prices. Please be assured that we do review our pricing regularly and that we are in line with others hotels in the area. We do our utmost to provide great value for our guests; please do not hesitate to contact Bristol@ihg.com prior to your next stay to ensure that we can offer you any inclusive packages that may be available.

Thank you once again for your review and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Lara Beechey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the bank holiday weekend. We had booked and paid in advance and got a good deal. Our executive room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet. The room was clean with adequate facilities. We used both restaurants and enjoyed our meals.
As ever with Holiday Inn hotels all the staff were pleasant, friendly and efficient. Breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday were really busy but there were no delays or lack of food. Again I noticed the staff never got flustered and were dealing with customers in a friendly and efficient manner.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphael H, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay over the bank holiday weekend and found the staff to be friendly and efficient and your room to be clean and quiet. I will be very proud to share your feedback with my team.

Once again, thank you for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are visiting the area.

Yours sincerely,
Raphael Herzog
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Thanks so much for posting my dopey husbands shirt to us after he managed to leave it behind in the room last weekend! Much appreciated!
He says he had a very pleasant stay, room was clean and the breakfast was scrumptious.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaraBeechey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for leaving us a great review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay and particularly enjoyed our breakfast offering. I am also glad that your husband has received his shirt.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lara Beechey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, Swansea
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed twice. Good sized room, good facilities. Efficient reception service, lots of parking, good location. Used room service once, BUT No free wifi anywhere in the hotel and costs £5 per hour or £28 per day which is ludicrous. Would like to be able to stay again as it suits me but lack of wifi is a show stopper - too reliant on it for work these days to be without.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaraBeechey, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for leaving us feedback following your second stay at the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton.

I am very pleased that you enjoy staying at the hotel; however I am sorry that you are disappointed by our Internet charges. I am pleased to let you know that we do currently offer complimentary standard Internet for Platinum and Gold IHG Rewards members and that we will be offering this benefit to all IHG Rewards members from 1st July 2014.

I do hope this has restored your confidence in our hotel and that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton the next time you are visiting the area.

Yours sincerely,
Lara Beechey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed as a family group for 2 nights over bank holiday weekend. We were in Executive rooms, they were of a good size and clean, however not sure what made they executive, there were no robes or slippers, just a couple of bottles of water, 1 mars bar and a few extra bits on top of the usual bathroom amenities. The bed was comfortable and had a nice view of the lake. Both nights though were disturbed by large groups of young men banging and crashing in out of rooms and knocking any old door, they should of been blocked booked into one section of rooms.

Lounge bar - Was shocked to be charged service charge for a tea and sandwich, and at £3.65 for a cup of tea we didn't bother again.

Breakfast - great selection was something to please everyone, even pancakes for the kids

We had one drink in the bar on the 2nd night, but there was no atmosphere at all and returned to our room,

Leisure - strange set up had to walk through the gym to get to the changing rooms, which are in a dire need of updating. But the kids enjoyed a splash around.

There is large grounds and play area to keep families happy.

Great location and easy to find, not stuck in the city centre but easy access to all of Bristol.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphael H, Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback following your stay at the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay; however I would be grateful if we could discuss some points from your review in more detail. Please contact me on Bristol@ihg.com at your convenience.

Please be assured that all observations have been noted for review and any necessary action to be taken and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely,
Raphael Herzog
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton

Address: Filton Road | Hambrook, Bristol BS16 1QX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#20 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that this Bristol Hotel has to offer, 15 minutes from Bristol City Centre and 5 minutes from Bristol Parkway Train Station the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton is a great location for business and leisure travellers situated in 11 Acres of land with its own Fishing Lake.The Hotel has two restaurants, Sampans Oriental, and The Junction, plus a fully licensed lounge and bar. From a great breakfast to a relaxing meal in the evening, our team looks forward to welcoming you.The hotel has 211 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and an Academy Conference Centre boasting 17 purpose built meeting rooms that can accommodate training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings, dinner dances and graduation balls.The hotel is located within close proximity to UWE, Abbeywood, Airbus and Aztec West, and easy reach of the M4 & M5 motorway network with 300 complimentary car parking spaces. Our Spirit Health and Fitness Club has an indoor pool, sauna, gymnasium, and onsite Beauty Therapist. The Holiday Inn Bristol Filton is within close proximity to Bristol s Cabot Circus Shopping Centre, The Mall Cribbs Causeway, and Bristol Zoo and is a great base explore the south west including the historic city of Bath, Cardiff s Millennium Stadium, and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton Hotel Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.