We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Filton Road | Hambrook, Bristol BS16 1QX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Bristol
wales uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here last weekend, good directions given of web site, plenty of parking even though the hotel was full. Booked into straight away the receptionist was efficient but acted like a robot and didnt take a breath!! Our room was over looking car park which didnt bother us, room on small side but was very clean. Our biggest problem was the air conditioning or lack of it, the room was very warm and though we turned it down it remained hot, we were able to open window but the noise from the road kept us awake for most of the time.
Used swimming pool, staff very helpful and pool lovely and warm, unfortunatley there was no body wash in any of the showers so had to shower again in the room.
Restaurants - Saturday we ate in Sanpams, the waitresses looked lovely in their chinese dresses, and the surroundings were very tranquil. We ordered the meal for 2 which was £22 each and well worth the money, it was very tasty and plenty off it, in fact most of it was left bacause of the big portions. My gripe and it is a BIG one is that we were charged £7 for a pint of becks and over £7 service charge, i should be the one to decide what tip i should leave, there was only 2 of us this is usually enforced for parties of over 6.
Next day my husband went down to watch the football in the lounge reluctant to buy a pint but to his shock a pint of becks exactly the same was £4, we had been obscenely over charged the night before!! We discussed this with receptionist who stated that they kept in line with other hotels, when we explained the difference in prices the £3 was deducted from our bill, but if we hadnt spotted this how many other people have been over charged? While watching the football on the big screen (no sound) a group of men came and stood in front of him, when he asked them to move they said sorry but the computer station was based right in front of the big screen, WHO designed this!!!!
Next night we went to the juction only 4 other couples so nice and quite. Ordered our food and waited and waited 40 mins later it came out ,after asking waitress was there a problem, it was obvious we had been over looked as the next couple that came in from sitting down to havind there food took 11 mins we timed it. Again service charge added. These things might never happen to any one else and i hope they dont.
Breakfast on monday was very quite compared to the sunday morning. Nice selection to choose from, but here we go again waitress came over to ask if we wanted any more from hot buffett we said no, so they started to clear up but i didnt realise that they cleared every thing so we couldnt have any toast, fruit or pastries, so we left quite disaponited.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinn_Filton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton.

I am sorry that you felt let down by some aspects of your stay; I can assure you that this is not indicative of our usual standard and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your review in more detail. Please contact me on Bristol@ihg.com with a suitable contact number at your convenience.

Please be assured that our service charge is discretionary; please accept my sincere apologies that this was not communicated to you.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,
Lara Beechey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    293
    151
    41
    21
See reviews for
118
160
40
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Having stayed here a year ago we booked two rooms for the three of us at the ridiculously low price of £44 per room direct as the comparison sites wanted a lot more, up to £144.
Great service, great staff. Easy to find and good parking + very clean and modern. They even rang up the day before to double check the booking.

But - there's always a but. Absurdly they do not have free Wi-Fi and expect £5 per hour plus of £16 per day. The lounge drinks are loaded eg, awful Starbucks coffee with extra charges. Only one beer on tap and that's Boddingtons with one bottled beer which is Newcastle Brown. I jest not. Drink lager or forget it.
The wine is 4 (four) times a full supermarket price in the lounge alone and the so called 25 tv channels are far less with a poor reception.

Having said that I like Holiday Inn and will take a dongle, packed lunch and a bottle of wine with a flask of coffee in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinn_Filton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay whilst recently visiting Bristol.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience and found your room to be great value for money; however I am sorry that you were disappointed by other charges. Please be assured that we do offer complimentary WIFI to all Platinum and Gold Elite IHG Rewards Club members and that we are currently reviewing our offering for all other members.

We do review our pricing regularly and I can assure you that we are in line with other hotels in the area.

I am very glad that you like Holiday Inn hotels and I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton in the near future.

Yours sincerely.
Lara Beechey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Holiday Inn at Fulton is okay. The room was clean and and well appointed but could have benefited from a comfortable chair. The price of the room matched (and it seems exceeded) Central London but the complimentary refreshments were lacking, just tea and coffee and UHT milk, no fruit teas, hot chocolate or biscuits. A small frustration, but when arriving late after a long journey, noticable. I stayed five nights, and two of the entrance doors were out of order for four of them which suggests a lack of attention to detail. The was a reasonable buffet style breakfast but it should have been as it was roughly an extra £10 per day. WIFI is provided but again is an extra (£5 per hour or £16 per day), most hotels have moved to providing at least some complimentary time where WIFI is available. The hotel doors seemed very noisy, and there was constant irratating banging between about 10pm and 1am which was very disturbing. Wouldn't have any qualms about staying again but would pack ear plugs, however would look for alternates as I didn't feel it represented especially good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinn_Filton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton.

I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations; your observations are very helpful and please be assured that I have noted all of your comments in order to act upon them where appropriate.

I am pleased to inform you that we do offer complimentary WIFI to all Platinum and Gold Elite IHG Rewards club members and that we are currently reviewing our offering for all other members.

During your stay, only two entrance doors were operational due to the cold weather we have recently been experiencing. Please be assured that this was intentional in order to keep our guests as warm as possible during this time; however I am sorry that this was not communicated to you.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that you will give us the opportunity of looking after you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Lara Beechey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed overnight on business. Hotel is clean, rooms nicely furnished, quality of food in main restaurant ok rather than great, but limited options nearby. Overall OK for an overnighter on business or pleasure, price more than a Premier Inn but better quality.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinn_Filton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton.

I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we have to offer for your overnight stay; my team and I look forward to the opportunity of looking after you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Lara Beechey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I came here for a family occasion in Horfield- so the location was handy for the M5 and we didn't have to pay city centre prices. It wasn't easy to find though, tucked away behind trees in what is a very built up area with lots of roads going off all over the place.
We arrived about 8:30 in the evening, after a five hour wait in traffic on the M42 and we were very hungry. Family recommended the bar meals so I ordered a burger and a bottle of wine. Yes, it wasn't cheap but service was quick even though the hotel was very busy. I enjoyed my meal- the portions were generous and the wine very welcome! We were pleased to find we had been upgraded to an executive room, the only drawback being that it was right at the end of a very big hotel and on the fifth floor. We did have a view over a green garden, pleasantly surprising in such a built up area.
The room was fine, soon warmed up and spotlessly clean. Rather bizarre that we only got one complimentary Mars bar though! Would rather have had biscuits...
My main complaint was that there were not enough pillows and the headboard, (very badly designed wooden and convex) made it impossible to sit up in bed!
Breakfast was very good- possibly the best I've had in an Holiday Inn. Fresh and lots of choice with, again, friendly, relaxed and calm service.
I go to Bristol often and would now stay here rather than the usual place I stay and would definitely recommend if you are around this area for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The wooden head board was uncomfortable for sitting up in bed, ask for extra pillows or a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinn_Filton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton.

It is always great to hear our guest’s feedback; your observations and comments are extremely helpful in assisting us to keep our service and standards high. I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience, particularly our breakfast offering.

Should you visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact our reception team who will be more than happy to provide you with extra pillows.

Thank you once again for your review, I hope you had a lovely time at your family occasion in Horfield and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lara Beechey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Easy to find,very clean and comfortable room.free parking and lots of spaces.friendly helpful staff in bar and reception.however,breakfast not served until 7.00am so left hungry in morning.food in bar was good but rather expensive.bar lacked atmosphere and was more geared to business travellers.can't complain at £44 per night for the 3 of us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinn_Filton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us; I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton.

I am sorry that you were left feeling hungry. Our breakfast is served from 6.30am on weekdays and 7.00am on weekends; however we do offer an option of a continental breakfast before these times.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lara Beechey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Was determined to walk she short distance from Parkway station rather than get a taxi but it was quite hard to find. Lots of parking though. Check in was efficient and room looked out on a grassy quadrangle which made it really quiet. The doors to the rooms closed relatively quietly so one isn't frequently disturbed by the comings an goings of others.
The restaurant was very quiet (Thursday evening) The staff were attentive and pleasant but not keen to go the extra mile to find extra information when asked about hotel or local amenities.
Bed was very comfortable- not too hard- shower worked well without me needing to put glasses on to see the controls! The fridge managed to lock itself at one stage with my wine inside! A quick call to reception though soon put it right, remotely, so clever! Was a bit surprised that there wasn't a Gideon bible in the room. Hope this is rectified. Fortunately I had my own with me.
Internet reception was poor on the ground floor. Had to walk out in the rain for a decent signal or pay the hotel rate, rain it was then!
Hotel has good links with taxi company who arrive very promptly.
Breakfast is typical fare for business hotel

Room Tip: A room facing the quadrangle for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinn_Filton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and for providing us with detailed observations from your recent stay at the hotel. Please be assured that I have noted all of your comments in order that we can act upon them where appropriate.

I am pleased to read that you found the hotel to be quiet and that your check-in experience was efficient. I will be proud to share your feedback with my front office team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your comments and I look forward to the opportunity of looking after you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Lara Beechey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton

Address: Filton Road | Hambrook, Bristol BS16 1QX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#20 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that this Bristol Hotel has to offer, 15 minutes from Bristol City Centre and 5 minutes from Bristol Parkway Train Station the Holiday Inn Bristol Filton is a great location for business and leisure travellers situated in 11 Acres of land with its own Fishing Lake.The Hotel has two restaurants, Sampans Oriental, and The Junction, plus a fully licensed lounge and bar. From a great breakfast to a relaxing meal in the evening, our team looks forward to welcoming you.The hotel has 211 fully air-conditioned bedrooms and an Academy Conference Centre boasting 17 purpose built meeting rooms that can accommodate training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings, dinner dances and graduation balls.The hotel is located within close proximity to UWE, Abbeywood, Airbus and Aztec West, and easy reach of the M4 & M5 motorway network with 300 complimentary car parking spaces. Our Spirit Health and Fitness Club has an indoor pool, sauna, gymnasium, and onsite Beauty Therapist. The Holiday Inn Bristol Filton is within close proximity to Bristol s Cabot Circus Shopping Centre, The Mall Cribbs Causeway, and Bristol Zoo and is a great base explore the south west including the historic city of Bath, Cardiff s Millennium Stadium, and the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton Hotel Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.