We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location when travelling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   South End, Temple Gate House, Bristol BS1 6PL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #37 of 86 hotels in Bristol
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location when travelling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We came to Bristol by train, one night stay. We chose this hotel because we had large heavy luggage and didn't want to be far from the station. This hotel is seriously, right out side the train station, so it worked prefect for us!

The staff was friendly and helped orient us for our 24hr stay....and a good price. Rooms were good, basic, what you usually get from a Holiday Inn Express. Breakfast the next morning was busy and nothing exciting. We had things to do in Bristol that day so they were happy to keep our bags until we were ready to leave.

I would stay here again, location to the train and downtown was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Happy Travelscml,

I would like to thank you for your positive feedback following your stay with us.
We are pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and very helpful, we believe our team is the soul of this hotel.
It is rewarding to hear that our standards lived up to your expectations and that you would be staying with us on another occasion.

Once again, many thanks for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Raquel Lopez Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    144
    92
    36
    20
See reviews for
37
88
40
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A good basic clean hotel in a great location, directly opposite the railway and bus link to Bristol airport. As you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express, a small bar and snacks. Definitely for commuters, not families or people looking for facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear ianmickey

I would like to thank you for taking your time to post a review for us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us during your visit. Also thank you for mentioning our perfectly located hotel for public transport users. We hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next visit again.

Regards
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was in a great central location in easy walking distance of local shops, amenities, transport links and night life.

The staff were friendly and gave us a code to access the secure car park.

Rooms were modern spacious and clean.

All needs were attended to.

There was even a 'Lift and Look' mechanism on the toaster meaning that you can check the status of your toast without cancelling, this scored many points!

BUT......................

The cooked breakfast only included scrambled eggs, sausage, beans and toast!!!
Bacon, the main ingredient in a full English breakfast was nonsensically missed out!

I wish Holiday Inn would furnish me with the reason for this shocking emission. I'm only glad I wasn't staying there a fortnight. I literally would have gone mad!

I mean you wouldn't expect your bed to be lacking pillows would you?

Next time I visit Bristol, I'll only stay here if they have sorted out this abomination. Otherwise I shall perhaps pay extra to stay in a hotel which does not leave me bereft of bacon.

Nice towels though :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear John P

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that our customer service and room have met your expectations but at the same time sorry to hear that you felt let down due to the lack of Bacon. Unfortunately, it is a brand standard which we must adhere to at present. There should be 2 Firm and 2 Soft pillows in each room so I shall liaise with the housekeeping team if purchase of more pillows is required. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to stay with us soon.

Regards
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, Dorset
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I booked a twin-bedded room at this hotel via Booking.com. When a friend and I arrived we were told that one of the beds was a "sofa bed". The hotel was unable to change our room as it was full and we were advised that the problem was due to Booking.com who had not requested two 'proper' beds! There was nothing we could do but accept the room.

However, i would advise anyone else booking this hotel through Booking.com to be careful as the so called sofa bed was in fact a chair bed, very narrow and not long enough to prevent feet hanging over the end!

I would have been perfectly happy at this hotel is we had had twin beds as it was very convenient to the train station, provided breakfast, was very clean and the staff were very helpful and suggested an Italian restaurant 3 mins walk away that was excellent (we both had beef stroganof.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room overlooking side road and make sure you do not get a 'chair/sofa' bed unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear emmieBournemouth,
So very sorry this happened to you which is not hotel`s fault but we did our best to provide you with separate beds .We fully understand the inconvenience you experienced and deeply apologize for that .Overall your stay proved to be enjoyable and you were satisfied with the location , breakfast ,staff and a nice meal in the nearby restaurant .May we have this opportunity to invite you to stay with us again and we will make sure you have a twin room .

Best regards ,
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very clean room, comfortable bed and fantastic location. The staff was very helpful and kind. I was disappointed from the WiFi service which was extremely overpriced, but worked perfectly. The breakfast lacks in variety and quality and is not what you would expect.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room! They are well isolated from the noise of the quite busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Andrew- GRK,

We hope you enjoyed your trip to Bristol all the way from Greece and thank you for mentioning "fantastic" location ,clean rooms and helpful staff . The charges for WIFI are in line with other hotels of our range , same with the breakfast .Sorry it was not to your expectations .You are most welcome to stay with us again in the future as there is a lot to see in Bristol and area .

Kind regards,
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Genereal Hotel Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Located near train station so very convenient as I travel mostly by trains. Room was clean and well presented, staff friendly, breakfast was ok, good value. Not far from City centre, will definitely use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Peter B,

Review such as yours is always nice to hear . Thank you very much for taking your time to leave it here on tripadviser and may we have this opportunity to welcome you back in the future .

Kind regards ,
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fairly pleaseant for a short stay (1-2 days). Free cooked breakfast only consisted of scrambled egg, sausage & beans (NO bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes) disappointing. Rooms are basic, tired in appearance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Hotel Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Resobko,

Thank you for the feedback and sorry that your stay at our hotel was not to the full satisfaction .Our breakfast is free which you correctly mentioned and it is in line with other Holiday Inn Expresses which don`t provide full english breakfast unfortunately .We try to do our best to provide a nice a memorable stay and welcome you to stay with us again .

Best regards,
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
General Hotel Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Address: South End, Temple Gate House, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 86 hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.