We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   South End, Temple Gate House, Bristol BS1 6PL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very welcoming staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

In terms of fixtures and fittings, this HIE is pretty much like any other you'll visit.

However, we were particularly impressed by the warm welcome by Victoria at the front desk and the friendly check-out by Audrone. It certainly made the HIE Bristol a cut above others we've visited.

One tip - you'll need to collect an authorised ID slip from the front desk in order to park in the car park behind the hotel. You could park up, go to the hotel. collect the paperwork, go back to your car and display it on the dashboard. MUCH easier is to park in the temporary space immediately behind the hotel, check in, get the ID, drop your bags off in your room and then park up in the multi-storey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the rear of the hotel - much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Mediatwin ,

Thank you for taking your time to leave the message about your experience at our hotel . Much appreciated you mentioning our welcoming and friendly staff .
Your suggestion about parking first on one of the temporary spaces is what we advise to the quests . We do our best to make the process of check-in and check-out as quick and comfortable as possible . You are most welcome to come and stay with us again .

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    159
    101
    39
    21
See reviews for
42
107
42
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night on business last week. The Hotel is a few hundred yards from Bristol Temple Meads station so is very well located. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar / reception area was bright and clean. A large glass of red wasn't too pricey either! the room was clean and tidy and had all the basics I needed.

I thought that the hotel WiFi (through Swisscom) was a bit pricey as it is in a lot of hotels so if you have an iPad or a WiFi enabled laptop you might want to have a pay as you go solution to save yourself money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, the view is not great but it will be much quieter in the morning if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear James_and_Tracey

Your review is very nice , thank you very much for your kind comments .We always try to improve the things to meet the needs of our valued guests .Agree that internet access is of great importance for our business guests and we are trying to improve it .At the moment every guest gets 30 min free in the lobby and chargeable in the rooms .Hope we will find a better solution in the near future .
Regards
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed Friday and Saturday night at end of September 2012. The hotel is easy to find and does have secure parking for £6 per 24 hours. The check in was fine and we were given quiet rooms. Breakfast was good and rooms were standard HIE rooms. We found the staff helpful, they gave us directions to the pubs and restaurants we were booked in at. We booked this on a discounted deal but would baulk at paying the full price which would have averaged at £85 per night.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given one at the back overlooking the car park and this was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Leedsfansontour

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a feedback and a nice one .We are pleased you liked the breakfast and the staff was helpful .We will make sure your next visit will be also enjoyable .

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie

Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend break with three girlfriends. Great location for us, opposite the train station as we were all arriving by train and ten minutes walk into centre of town. Had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the car park so nice & quiet. Check in staff were very efficient, helpful and friendly. Our room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds, great shower, good TV, tea &coffee etc. in the room. A/C worked well. Couldn't fault the place really. My first experience of a Holiday Inn and I would not hesitate to use them again. Breakfast was self service, limited choice of cooked food, but enough cereals, fruit, pastries & toast to keep us happy. Extremely good value for what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the car park, rooms at the front are on a very busy main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Annaliesemccarthy
What a nice review ! Thank you for your kind comments and delighted you and your 3 girlfriends enjoyed a weekend break and the stay in our hotel .Glad you liked our breakfast as well .You are welcome to come and stay with us again .

Best regards
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie

Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here for 5 weeks in August 2012 and September 2012, whilst the hotel it self is getting a bit tired and could do with a revamp. the staff were excellent, couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating, making me feel welcome on every arrival. The rooms themselves are the standard you will get with HiExp. Rooms all very clean and linen etc all up to standard. They are making the most of what is now a bit dated hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear UkSil
Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review .We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay as " a crash pad " . We are trying to keep the hotel clean and fresh in spite it being older than the others as you noticed . The area around the train station is quite safe and we never had any issues with that but sorry you felt unsafe .Once again thank you for your feedback .

Best regards
Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I would say this HIExpress must be older than most as the rooms are looking more tired than most.

However if your in late, or out for an early train, it couldn't be more convenient. I had a room it te rear overlooking a multi storey carp ark,so was quite.

The a/c worked well, however with so any hotels, it turned itself off mid night so the room was overly warm by the morning.

The is not a great deal locally for the night and it didn't have the best feeling as an area if you wanted to walk around on the evening.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear UkSil

Thank you for taking your time to leave a response about your stay with us .It is really in a very good location for an early train or flight as the airport flyer runs 24/7 from the train station .Sorry about your feeling not very comfortable but the area is quite safe ,we never had any issues with that .
We try our best to keep the rooms clean and fresh for our quests .Our apologies if they looked tired to you .Once again thank you for your feedback , it is very important to know what the quests think of the hotel to improve the things .

Regards

Ekaterina Basaeva-Beattie

Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My son (aged 10) and I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights as it was cheaper to stay here than in Cardiff for a trip to the cricket. Excellent location for Temple Meads Station as its just over the road, but a good 15 min walk into the centre of Bristol, ask for a map at reception as its not the easiest job to find which direction to go. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and friendly, we were checked in quickly. The room was fairly spacious and clean, bathroom spotless, bed comfortable, TV worked with fairly good choice of channels and overall very happy with the room. The complementary breakfast was good too, my only slight gripe was when stocks were running low the staff were a bit slow on topping them up and the toaster took what seemed an absolute age to toast the bread even on a low setting. On the whole a great place to stop if travelling by train for a day or two (it was my first visit to Bristol and I liked the place) and don't mind the trek into the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Siethepie
Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your first trip to Bristol. We hope you and your son have enjoyed the cricket in Cardiff. We are glad to hear that our customer service and facilities have met your expectations and the issue regarding our toaster has been passed onto our maintenance technician. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your 2nd visit.
Regards
Katya Basaeva-Beattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Address: South End, Temple Gate House, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.