We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stuff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raj

Raj
35 King Street | BS1 4DZ, Bristol BS1 4DZ, England
01179291132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 1,456 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Bangladeshi, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A traditional Indian restaurant in the heart of Bristol. Established since 1981, The Raj has endeavored to serve the finest Indian cuisine, using the highest quality ingredients.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great staff who were very pleasant. Very forthcoming with the drinks! Lovely pomps and pickles before the main course too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    113
    37
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Revisiting after 10 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

It has been a long time since I last visited this restaurant which i remembered very fondly for its wonderful food. It was even better than I remembered! Located below street level in what looks to be an old cellar, this is quite a small establishment with bags of character. Accessed via stairs so more challenging for some, but if you can negotiate these, it is well worth it. We arrived about 7pm on a Sunday and it was quite quiet. By 8, it was filling up fast. Our table was in one of the cubicles which provided some privacy and was quite romantic in a way. We went for the Earlybird offer which seemed to be available all day Sunday. The menu options on the offer were extensive....we had no problem picking out a starter, a main and a choice of naan (for her) and a rice dish for me. Oh, and a drink too and all for £15 per head. Service was good. Food was delicious! The menu did suggest the Jalfrezi and the Dhansak were quite hot and this turned out to be an accurate description; perhaps dare I say it, a little too spicy and we like our chili! There again, perhaps my view is colored by not being able to get a decent curry back home for a reasonable price!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not great at all...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

It was our second time eating at Raj and we still don't get why it's so highly rated here on Tripadvisor.. The main was OK, but nothing to write home about, the rest was pretty bad. Naan breads were dry and awful and the garlic one tasted of fish, which was disgusting to my wife, as she don't like fish to put it mildly. Service also wasn't great. Waiters kept forgetting things, like bringing drinks we ordered etc. Overall not a great experience. There are many way better Indian eateries in town. We won't be coming to Raj again in near future.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Set in the historic part of Bristol, the Raj Tandoori is a lovely resturant with an absolutely wonderful atmosphere, feels very genuine. The staff are friendly and approachable. As a student, it's great that they are part of Taste Card, so we get discount! With a wide and unique menu, matched only by the variety of the drinks menu, the Raj has a great deal to offer to those who are experienced in the world of curry and to those who are still novices. In conclusion, the Raj Tandoori is a fantastic resturant for everyone - fully recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Unfortunately we didn't have a great experience here. Our starters were forgotten, so we waited over an hour for them, though when they eventually came the waiter apologised and the chef sent out a free extra one. The chicken tikka starter & onion bhaji were good but the Shish kebab was very dry. The mains were ok, Jalfrezi was quite tasty, the Reeza pretty bland.

All in all not a great meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raj also viewed

 

Been to Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.