We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Aquarium

Bristol Aquarium
Anchor Road | Harbourside, Bristol BS1 5TT, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 296 things to do in Bristol
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A nice addition to Bristol and it is bigger than it looks from the outside. Some lovely displays but nothing too exciting. A little overpriced. One annoying thing is people taking photos of you and then trying to sell you the photos! Too intrusive.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolaquarium, Manager at Bristol Aquarium, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, glad to hear that you thought our displays were lovely. I am sorry you had a few negative encounters during your visit, we do have talks, feeds and activities throughout the day to enjoy, customer's also have a choice whether they want to purchase or even have any pictures taken onsite; we aim to have a variety of services onsite including our cafe and gift shop for customer's to enjoy if they want to. We do sell discounted tickets on our website and their are a variety of vouchers available off and online for customer's to get money off admission prices. Once again thank you for your feedback it helps us assess any improvements for the future. Hope you consider visiting us again and have a more pleasant experience.
Have a great day ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    161
    141
    48
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fish Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Children like Aquariums and this was no different to many others visited. Ask about good deals on entry or take discount vouchers as can be expensive for a family. Some dark areas which needed guidance for my autistic child. Lots of fish and other water based reptiles to see and read about. Talks by staff at certain times available and feeding times see blackboard or ask staff who give you a piece of paper with all events for the day at entry. No flash photography as scare fish, but lots of people took photos with mobile phones. Watch out for professional photographers who want to take your picture and then try and sell them to you at the end of your visit. make sure you get a good deal if buying photos. Café available but we did not visit. good gift shop but a little pricy I found. Just stick to pocket money gifts for yourselves and the kids. Well worth visiting to amuse and learn about fish. from Jan and Calum.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolaquarium, Manager at Bristol Aquarium, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, very good to hear that you enjoyed many of our activities and displays onsite, we hope that you visit us again in the future; customers do have a choice whether they want their pictures taken or not and whether it be apart of their experience at the aquarium, your feedback is much appreciated as it helps is make any future improvements. Have a lovely day ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“day out with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a great day out in Bristol and visited this great attraction. The kids loved it and their favourite was the rays and they are absolutely great. It only takes a few hours to go round at a very slow pace and all the tanks are really beautiful but it does seem quite expensive for all that's on offer. Make most of the feeding sessions as this makes it more interesting and you can also go in and out in the same day so great to go in the morning then out for lunch/picnic and go back in for the feeding sessions.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolaquarium, Manager at Bristol Aquarium, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, very good to hear that you enjoyed your day out at the aquarium, also glad to hear you enjoyed our rays and talks and feeding demonstrations, we do have many discount vouchers available on and offline to get money off admission and I would recommend to take advantage of this in the future. Once again thank your for your time. Have a great day ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forest of dean
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Aquarium family trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We took our children age 14 and 9 to the Aquarium as Bank holiday monday was abit on the chilly side to go to the beach.We printed a 20% voucher off from smart saver but it still costs £35.50 even with the voucher.For that price We were expecting to be in the Aquarium alot longer than we were.A slow walk round looking at all the exhibits which were well set out and lovely and clean it took us about 1 and a half hours including the shop visit.The children loved taking pictures of all the weird and wonderful fish but I dont think we need to go back in case we missed anything.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolaquarium, Manager at Bristol Aquarium, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your time sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, your feedback is much appreciated.It's great to hear that you have taken advantage of one of our 20% smartsave offering, we do have talks, feeds and activities throughout the day to enjoy alongside our displays around the aquarium, our tickets are also valid all day so customers can come in and out the aquarium as much as they want to. We hope that you consider visiting us in the future.
Have a great week ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited on a bank holiday, it was fairly busy but we were able to see all the tanks. £13 per adult was way too expensive as we were in there for less than an hour but they do stamp your hand so you can come back to watch the shows. There's also a place where u can eat sandwiches which is sweet if u wanna take a packed lunch to save money. There are offers available usually such as 2-4-1's but we couldn't find any at this time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolaquarium, Manager at Bristol Aquarium, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, sorry to hear that you felt it was overpriced, we do have many offers available on and offline for customers to enjoy and we do sell discounted tickets online which we do recommend to customers. We hope that you consider visiting us in the future and taking advantage of our discounted prices on our website or a money off voucher, your feedback is appreciated as it helps us make any future improvements. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bristol Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Bristol Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.