We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Networking heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berwick Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Berwick Lodge to your Saves list
Berwick Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Berwick Drive, Bristol BS10 7TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Networking heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Berwick Lodge is the perfect venue for holding a Networking event. I am a member of the 4Networking orgnisation and have always found that the Berwick Lodge breakfasts and staff attention to detail to be excellent in every way. Highly recommended for this purpose. The reception rooms are comfortable and classically furnished. Looking forward to plenty more breakfasts and business generating events there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    39
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
22
86
5
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have visited Berwick Lodge many times and have always found it an uplifting experience. Apart from the beautiful building and grounds the staff are notably welcoming and friendly. Plus the breakfast is one of the best in the South West. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My first visit to Berwick Lodge got off to a great start. A hugely warm welcome, a room upgrade, prompt room service and the most amazing bath and space age shower/steam cabinet! And for those who have read earlier reviews, there were lovely L'Occitane toiletries. I do however concur with the earlier comments re the towels - luxurious but square!

Ironically, after many sleep filled nights in the centre of Bristol, there was no chance of quality sleep in this semi-rural location. Earlier reviews have referenced the proximity of the M5 - oh how I wish that was the only problem. Throughout the evening and into the early hours, a large party of guests gathered to chat and smoke immediately outside the main entrance. Staff subsequently admitted they felt powerless to address this issue in the absence of any options. If this is true, then if you have to stay at Berwick Lodge I suggest booking a room to the rear of the building! Personally I would rather drive home to Wales than stay there again!

The final straw came on route to the Dining Room for breakfast, when I was advised my B&B booking did not include breakfast. Fortunately I was able to immediately produce my email reservation which clearly stated that my booking included breakfast. I was the advised that I was very lucky given I was so cheap. No - that is not a typo!

Sadly my breakfast experience was further limited by the kitchen requiring 20 mins to prepare hot food - even though I was the only guest in evidence at 07.55.

All in all highly disappointing given the very high standard of care and service offered pre and on arrival. Other staff have some catching up to do - but not at my expense!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A truly stunning house despite the plastic windows - probably replacing the originals would be prohibitively expensive. The welcome was warm and friendly and the room was beautiful albeit the furniture was not really in the Arts and Crafts style. Lovely bathroom too. Small details however spoilt the overall feeling of luxury. No shower gel and the towels, although good quality, were very small and there were no bathrobes which would normally be expected at this level of hotel. There was a dried up bar of soap under the bath but this didn't look too appealing! The food was outstanding and good value for the care and attention to detail. Cheese plate was entirely French which disappointed when there are wonderful local suppliers. Tea/coffee facilities in the room lacked milk or creamer. Would probably stay again but would not be prepared to pay the full advertised price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A fabulous room, on arriving at 9.30 in the evening, the welcome was warm and friendly. Unfortunately, the kitchen had closed so could not get room service but staff produced some lovely cheese, bread and biscuits, even rustling up a gorgeous cheddar for fussy me.
The room was amazing, huge and furnished in keeping with the building.
Bed was comfortable and the en-suite rainwater shower a treat.
The reason for not awarding this a 5 was that a few comforts had been missed. No shower gel/cream, nowhere comfortable to use a hairdryer, impossible to dry or style hair in front of a mirror, no milk in the room for the brilliant ground coffee. Only minor issues but things, we feel, should have not been overlooked for an establishment of this calibre.
Breakfast also was average, some good and unusual choices but the standard of cooking let down the brilliant presentation and amazing surroundings.
Despite the above we would stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and large so a hard choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We only stayed one night, but would have been happy to stay the week.
Excellent facilities, and we were upgraded to a beautifully furnished room with a quite stunning bathroom.
We will know where to stay in Bristol on our next trip out

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My other half took me here for my birthday. The food was easily the best I have ever had anywhere in Bristol, and certainly ranked up there with my top dishes of all time. The service was good, staff were attentive. The only thing I would say is that in the morning we went for breakfast at 10:05am - but they stopped serving at 10am and so - no breakfast! They did refund a token amount though. The setting is wonderful and it certainly is a hidden gem of Bristol.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berwick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berwick Lodge

Address: Berwick Drive, Bristol BS10 7TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Berwick Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Berwick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berwick Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berwick Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.