We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dim Sum is very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Sky

Water Sky
Eastgate Oriental City | Eastgate Road, Bristol BS5 6XY , England
0117 951 2888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #649 of 1,460 Restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Dim Sum is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Been here to have Dim Sum many times and being an ex-Hong person, I have always found the food of very good quality. Could it be improved, yes, but you would have to go to Hong Kong or at the closest London. Most of the bad reviews are over buffet or 'eat all you can' service which is unlikely to provide high quality food. Service is also good but does tend to be friendly to those they know, mostly obviously Chinese.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    26
    14
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a mistake”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The other negative reviews say it all. No atmosphere, perfunctory service...small portions of so-so food. When is a buffet not a buffet? Look no further.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DON'T BOTHER! I KNOW I WON'T AGAIN”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

All you can eat buffet! well... ooh i cant let you order any more dishes as you've ordered 12 already! you have the overiding feeling that you better not leave anything on your plate or they wont let you have anything else, the whole atmophere just seemed wrong "you not here to enjoy yourself" kinda feeling. seemed if you were Chinese the reception/service you got was better and to cap it all 3 pints of flat lager! when we asked if could be changed we were greeted with the response "well no one else has ever complained about it" which i guess makes it all right then. reluctantly they gave us some bottled beer instead but then we had to endure an evening of being scowled at from behind the bar by some old lady/manager type! I won't be returning nor will any of the 12 members of my party, We will take our money elsewhere thank you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I love this place - all you can eat & a whole separate vegetarian menu. Food is pretty good & being able to have veggie crispy duck is brilliant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My partner and I visited on a Saturday night, after a number of very good recommendations. We were seated, then a waiter took our order, after a long wait my partners starter arrived, after he had eaten it, a good 10 minutes, mine arrived, This set the precedent for the evening, the service was poor and slow, the food came out in dribs and drabs, personally I thought the sweet and sour pork was like fried fat. The rice was cold, and for the money (£16.95 each), the food, and the service was disappointing. I realise the place was busy, but it was not acceptable. I feel more waiting staff would be a good idea (a smile wouldn't have gone amiss), and maybe an explanation of how the "eat all you can" menu works. No one asked if everything was alright. We were very disappointed and will not be visiting again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Sky also viewed

 

Been to Water Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.