We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorns Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Acorns Guest House to your Saves list
Acorns Guest House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Old Farm Downside Road, Bristol BS48 3DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 89 Bristol B&B and Inns
Klagenfurt, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here on January 2nd 2014 as we had a very early flight from Bristol airport the next day. Despite it being tricky to find (satnav didn't find it and we didn't realise we should have been looking for signs for Old Farm rather than Acorns Guest House - we had probably been told but had forgotten by the time we travelled there), we were very impressed upon our arrival. We were met at the gate by the lady from reception (absolutely lovely lady from Latvia who organised transport to the airport and even offered that we could be picked up from the pub after our dinner that evening - what service!!!). She showed us to our room, which wasn't part of the main building but was part of a separate building. Not sure if all rooms are like this but this one was outstanding. It was big, had a couch, kingsize bed, tea-making facilities, big TV (although we weren't able to get ours to work) and very thick curtains to block out any light from arriving cars. Wifi didn't require a code so was very quick to set up. We didn't hear any noise from the airport, which had been my major concern. We were travelling with our 1 year old and were thrilled to see a modern travel cot with a Gro-bag sleeping bag. We have stayed in several places with our little one and a sleeping bag has NEVER been provided so Acorns got bonus points from me for that. All in all, a surprisingly wonderful place to stay. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 and would certainly recommend it! I wonder if all rooms are the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    42
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
42
88
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here on 20th December with my partner and 4 month old but stayed in a double room.
The room was modern, comfortable and of a nice size. Had it own heating options aswell so set it to our own comfortable level. The shower facilities were of a good size, with a hot powerful shower too.
The breakfast is basic but we left at 5 in morning so wasn't expecting a full English.
We also had parking and transfers to and from airport without issue. Definitely stay again if flying out.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just a week ago and to sum the place up i would say it was excellent.

We did have a but of trouble finding it, however that was due to the sat nav/google maps.

Location wise its perfect. Less than 5 minutes from the airport. Noise wasnt a problem either.

For the price we payed i dont see how anyone could complain. The room its self is like a little cabin. It has a very comfy bed and a smart tv. The bathroom is decorated to a high standard and the hotel provide you with a shampoo/conditioner/bodywash dispenser which is handy, as it allows you not to unpack your case looking for these items.

Ive seen some of the reviews compain about the lak of breakfast. But the hotel do provide you with snacks such as orange juice, apple and a croissant. I thought this was a nice touch. If you are concerned just get breakfast from the airport.

Overall we had a great experience with this hotel. I would reccomend this to my family and friends. I will stay here in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in December prior to going on holiday. We purchased a package which included our parking for six days whilst we were away and included transfers to the airport which is only a couple of minutes away, there is no aircraft noise at all though. We received a warm welcome when we arrived at 8.00pm. and were shown to our very pleasant room. We parked our car outside and left the keys for them to move it later. All cars are parked on site and their are double security gates at the entrance. Our room was very spacious, well furnished with a large comfortable bed, leather settee, flat screen T.V, tea and coffee etc. in fact everything you need. There was a well appointed en suite shower room and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Transfers were on time, even at 4.30 am. when we had to leave. When we returned we telephoned for collection when we had our bags and were picked up within minutes. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and will definitely go again, it was also very reasonable, six days parking and one overnight stay was under £80.00 and we got an early morning breakfast pack to take with us as well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here for the first time recently and would definitely return. The large room in a modern "barn conversion" building was equipped with all we needed and exceeded our expectations. There was a large memory foam bad, comfortable settee, flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities (with ample teabags in an airtight container and plentiful milk supplies) and a hair-drier in the drawer of the unit these were situated. The shower room had a large shower with wall dispensers of shower gel, shampoo and conditioner and everything was spotlessly clean. There were small continental breakfasts (100ml orange juice, Nutri-grain bar, choc-chip brioche-type roll, apple) per person, in a sealed polythene bag for use as required.
The property is security gated with CCTV so felt safe and secure - a relaxed way to begin our holiday.

Note - we did not use their "airport park and transfer" service as we had pre-booked parking at the airport, 5 mins. drive away, so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money ... Everything needed was provided ... Clean tidy warm comfortable and great value for money ... Fantastic stay ... Fox and goose pub nearby was great value ... Wine 7.95 per bottle and great food.. Also very secure parking

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Have stayed twice this year in June and Oct. Both rooms were very comfortable and continental packed breakfast included wifh plenty of tea, coffee provided.Flat screen tv's, memory foam beds very comfortable and rooms and bathrooms were spotless in both..Service to and from airport quick and efficient. We have used the airport carparks in the past but Acorns is hassle free!! Will continue to use Acorns again in the future, as we are from the Bridgend area of South Wales and would otherwise have to leave early hours of the morning for an early flight and we know we would have a good nights sleep in a comfortable room and feel refreshed and ready to face the day ahead! Gwen and Ray King.

Room Tip: Would leave it to chance,as we couldnt fault the both very different rooms that we've stayed at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns Guest House

Address: Old Farm Downside Road, Bristol BS48 3DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorns Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Acorns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorns Guest House Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorns Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.