We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakham Treasures

Oakham Treasures
Portbury Lane | Oakham Farm, Bristol BS20 7SP, England
01275 375 236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 97 Attractions in Bristol
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Weston-s-Mare
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A treasure house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited recently as a volunteer with a group of older people from a day centre. There are a lot of exhibits on display and I mean a lot. Not the type of museum where everything is individually labelled with a description. That would be impossible, rather the exhibits and displays speak for themselves.
Probably most rewarding for the over 60s, but younger age groups and even children will find things to like here.
The cafe area seems a bit dark, but that maybe just a contrast to the brilliant sunshine outside.
Our group especially enjoyed reading the naughty postcards!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your visit, the postcards are a firm favourite!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

working with visitor attractions every day could mean that I would feel like I was at work when visiting as a punter, but this really didn't feel that way. I was instantly lost in the sea of wonders! There's so much to see and read that I think one visit is just not enough. It was a delightful trip down memory lane. The staff were friendly and helpful, the cafe was sound and food was tasty. With such a large site I would have expected more in terms of a gift shop though as there just weren't enough bits and bobs to buy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A treasure trove in the middle of the country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Called on the way home from our stay in Somerset. My husband had been there before,I was not that keen of calling in, but I was amazed at what I saw. An under one roof museum with everything from tractors to a wedding dress. I cannot find a fault on this attraction except that museum is closed on a Sunday and Monday. Pity, as we usually like to go on a day out on Sunday, and as usual the food is a bit pricey in the restaurant. In all it is well worth a visit to bring back memories of the good age gone by.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

What a remarkable collection i was amazed at the collection of so many different things i have told my friends and family they must visit and i will definatly be going back for another look. And the cafe sells fantastic cake!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments and good to hear that you are recommending us to friends and family. We do pride ourselves on the homemade cakes and meals that we serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real treasure trove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Not very far from Bristol, down a country lane off the M5, is an ordinary looking 'farm building' type warehouse with a small car park. Although it doesn't look very much from outside once inside you are in for a treat - particularly if you are 40+ and have nolstalgic memories of the sixties (or earlier). Within a relatively short space there is an amazing amount of memorabilia packed into display cabinets, mock shops etc. No surface is left unfilled - and most items appear in amazingly pristine condition for their age. Utterly fascinating. Especially good for outings with aged relatives - they will be transfixed!
One star deducted because the cafe (very nice decor it must be said) it a tad expensive (albeit there is no competition!) and - more importantly - the gift 'shop' is a huge let-down - a few postcards and unrelated tat - you will not find anything to purchase reflecting the museum contents (shame) a very big missed opportunity: but its not a reason not to go!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for your comments which have been noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakham Treasures also viewed

 

Been to Oakham Treasures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakham Treasures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.