We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Base Bed & Breakfast

The Base Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Base Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Base Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
564 Fishponds Road | Fishponds, Bristol BS16 3DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 89 Bristol B&B and Inns
castlebar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Myself and 12 other girls just got back from spending 3 days here on a hen weekend and we had the best time ever!!! Bristol in general is a great lively spot with great shopping and lots of bars and clubs to choose from. The Base was perfect for us as we were all together and with Morrisons just down the road we were able to do some shopping and stock up for our weekend. The owners Fiaz and Jacqui are always at the end of the phone should you need to know anything and even sent us a text to check that we were all ok and were having a good time. The apartments are very clean and spacious and theres a bus stop just down the road to take you in to the centre which is about 10 minutes away. If you need somewhere as a group to stay then this place is for you and I for one would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBaseBristol, Owner at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
It really was a pleasure having you all, although next time I'd rather you served the cake in the kitchen ;-) There's a new page on our website thebase.vg for Group Bookings which shows the self contained units where groups don't have to worry about disturbing other guests (and vice versa!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    46
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
29
23
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed at The Base a few times and I love the everything about it. The Base is unique, in that it offers good quality rooms at affordable prices, which are clean and well decorated and there is a huge kitchen to cook breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition it is pretty quirky, with letters discovered from previous owners displayed on the walls of the dinning room and also the mannequin who is always there to greet you.
The owners are great and have even accommodated me at very short notice.
I would definitely recommend this place to visitors of Bristol.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBaseBristol, Owner at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much! You can come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midleton, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

There is a fridge in every room. Lidl & Morrisons are 300 m up on Fishponds Rd. Very warm, well heated during my 7 nights. Hot water in bathroom. Well equiped common kitchen / dining room. Clean & good service. Very good bed. Good front car park for 5 cars. One must park in the corner (for those, who will leave later). I have received an SMS with the access code for the keys locked in a small box near the main doors before my arrival.

Room Tip: Go early before 8 a.m. or after 10 a.m. to bypass the trafic jam on FishpondsRd. If there is free on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBaseBristol, Owner at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Yes, the Lidl and Morrisons are soon to be joined by a new Aldi too, which is opening soon. But closer than all of these is the "International Food Centre" run by very friendly Turks. Last I heard is they even offered to carry a guest's shopping back to The Base for them! You can't even pay for that kind of service at chain stores. All hail the small business owner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just happened to be passing through Bristol and decided we wanted to stay over and explore the town a bit, the Base was in an ideal location, close to the bus stop and with available free parking. It was easily booked over the phone, very helpful and efficient. Although we didn't cook there, the vegetarian kitchen looked pleasant and certainly would recommend this place to anyone else to stay. Although the fridge was quite noisy at night, this was useful to refrigerate our foods. I would stay again if passing again of course!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBaseBristol, Owner at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Love the photo! So that's where all the loo roll goes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were a group of 13 friends that stayed at 'The Base' in 5 rooms (4 in the main house and 1 in the annexe ) and the apartment .All rooms were nice and clean and most of them had fridges in them.You also have the use of a kitchen, a vegetarian one in the main house and a non vegetarian one in the annexe. These are ideal if you wish to prepare your own breakfasts or snacks. We visited Bristol when the christmas market was on at the beginning of november which was quite good. We found it easy to get into the city centre by bus - nos 48 and 49 - from the bus stops a couple of minutes walk either way out of the b&b. It costs £4 for a day ticket which allows unlimited use. A taxi into the town is approx £12 and there is a taxi number in each room.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 4 were both comfortable and spacious and situated at the rear of the property so were qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBaseBristol, Owner at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Nice having such well behaved lads, you were much tidier than the Hen night! Thanks for crediting the local taxi firm (BD Taxis, Fishponds), they are another example of lovely locals who bring us a large tin of chocolates every Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A unique experience in that the accommodation is a bit like an upmarket student hostel, but it worked really well for Max, my dog, and myself when visiting my daughter and her boyfriend. No frills, but clean and comfortable and the entry system is easy to operate.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The room was great and I love the fact that there was the vegetarian half to the building. I had a lovely walk. If you just want somewhere to stay and then leave without seeing anyone then this is the place for you. I guess I was looking for some sort of interaction with someone.

Room Tip: Go for a nice walk along the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Base Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Base Bed & Breakfast

Address: 564 Fishponds Road | Fishponds, Bristol BS16 3DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in Fishponds, Bristol close'ish to University of West England (UWE) and convenient for City Centre, The Base is a primarily self-catering, down to earth, city B&B with an efficient service. With a good standard of rooms and facilities including free Wi-Fi, fully equipped kitchens, The Base is the place to recharge and prepare for your purpose. The Base has many happy customers from around the world. Card payments accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Base Bed And Breakfast
The Base Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Base Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.