We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing refurbishment. Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Merchants Arms (Hungry Horse)

The Merchants Arms (Hungry Horse)
Bell hill | Stapleton, Bristol BS16 1BQ, England
+44 117 951 8771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #787 of 1,530 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing refurbishment. Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just been to the newly refurbished merchants arms Hungry Horse and all I can say WOW. What a massive improvement with its new look its been made modern but without being over the top. I love the booth seats with the television's in which as you can imagine the kids wanted to sit there. We ordered our food and it was delicious hot and very quick to come out. The kids were given colouring and balloons each and they were over the moon. We can not of asked for a better experience. We will be back again very soon. Definitely one of the best family friendly pub/restaurants in Bristol.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“you get what u pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

overall , staff a very friendly , menu value for money, only drawback the food could be a liitle hotter and even the plates need to warmed up as well. decor need repainted and refurbishment , a very old pub with too many entrances , need one entrance . where we sat was at the door, but to no avail , was told to move round the table away from the door. staff are busy but lack a bit decorum , you have to put up with it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not bad, but not great :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Parking was easy, but I didnt enjoy the food or drink at all. I think it could have been a bit more family friendly too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Never visit if you like hot, tasty food at the same time as the rest of your group”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Service slow. Food brought out on damaged plates. That is the food that wasn't burnt. We informed the staff. They had to get it checked by the manager. He decided to cook another burger which he had to throw away as it fell apart. By the time he got around to cooking yet another burger everyone else in our party had finished their meal. So not impressed. Staff thought we should wait around so we ate in 2 sessions! So not right. NEVER visit again

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great For Families.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

After visiting a few Hungry Horses recently i thought i would try the Merchants Arms and what a little find. Lunch Today for 3 adults and a Child for under £20 as i would expect but the service was excellent , exceptioanlly friendly staff, fab food . Apparently new managers have been in a few months and really changed things and i certainly did not have an experience anything like the ones listed below.
Taking my husband next weekend for Sunday Lunch which i have been assured is Fab!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merchants Arms (Hungry Horse) also viewed

 

Been to The Merchants Arms (Hungry Horse)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merchants Arms (Hungry Horse), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.