We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Afternoon Tea EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tyrells Restaurant @ Thistle Hotel Bristol

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tyrells Restaurant @ Thistle Hotel Bristol
Broad Street, Bristol, England
+44 (0) 8703339130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #546 of 1,460 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $40 - $49
Cuisines: British, Bar, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Afternoon Tea EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

To celebrate my colleague's last day before maternity we went to The Grand by Thistle for Afternoon tea - Quite honestly, the BEST afternoon tea I have ever had!!

Tea, Bucks Fizz and a mug of mulled wine followed by brie and brioche, little lovely sandwiches, every type of cake you could imagine and of course, a delicious warm cream scone.

We were very well looked after and had a lovely afternoon

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    2
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The food was great and we had excellent service from our waiter, David. He was very friendly, helpful, funny and knew when to leave us to enjoy our meal. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangadog, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Grand service, grand food at The Grand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My partner and I had a very pleasant overnight stay at the Grand Hotel, Bristol. Our experience was considerably enhanced by eating dinner and breakfast in Tyrell's Restaurant. I agree strongly with other reviewers in praising the choice and quality of the food and wine, the pleasant atmosphere. The staff were efficient and friendly but I must mention the waiter who looked after us at our evening meal. David was attentive without being intrusive, personable without being over-familiar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a lovely meal here last night with a friend. Service was great, food enjoyable. Really fair priced and great wine. Will return for my friends birthday.
Many thanks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our waiter David was superb! Very friendly, funny, helpful and knew when to leave us to enjoy the food and conversation. Lovely food and relaxing atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tyrells Restaurant @ Thistle Hotel Bristol also viewed

 

Been to Tyrells Restaurant @ Thistle Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tyrells Restaurant @ Thistle Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.