We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food & great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delmonico

Delmonico
217a Gloucester Road | Bisphopston, Bristol BS7 8NN, England
01179445673
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #352 of 1,460 Restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: A charming family-run restaurant, Delmonico serves modern British cuisine with international twists. As well as tapas and sharing platters for more casual dining, a gourmet a la carte menu features Delmonico's renowned dessert creations. In the dining room filled with bistro furnishings and 1920s prints, guests can head to the sweeping mosaic-tiled bar for a choice from the well-chosen world wine list.
1 review
“Lovely food & great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Headed to glos rd to find somewhere to eat, came across delmonico and decided to give it a go, it seemed very busy and we were unsure whether we would get a table but this was sorted out straight away.
The service was very good and the food was lovely me and my partner had braised belly of pork best bit of pork I've ever tasted!
Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone that wants a decent meal out which is fairly priced.
Would defiantly return!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food in a cozy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Last night we had a bread and oil starter, the special steak fillet and pork belly with mash. For desert we had the sharp lemon tart. Simple meals done exceptionally well. It was only £50 all in with drinks.
Def check it out, yum!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great for locals and tourists to the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited Delmonicos for the third time this year last weekend. The food is always good and great value and a good selection of wines. A few have commented about slow service but I would call it more relaxed. You never feel rushed to leave... We had our table from 7.45 and were the last to go.
We have also been to Delmonicos with groups and they have a private dining room upstairs which is ideal for this - this probably takes up to about 25 to 30 or so. We have booked it for our annual pre Chstmas do with friends. There is usually about 20 of us, the food always comes out at the same time so you always eat together. There is a TV screen so you can take a computer and stream photos, DVDs etc which is good for celebrations
They are accommodating so if you have any particular requirements mention it the them when booking

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Defo worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I know some reviewers have commented on the slow service...well, in my opinion, when you are out for a romantic meal with a partner, who cares whether the service is slow or not?
Our starters of "Piri piri chicken and mixed leaf salad with a yoghurt, cucumber and mint dressing" and "Warm deep filled leek, mushroom and cheddar tart served with homemade relish" were both very good. We opted for the belly pork with mashed potato, sauce vierge and a currant sauce, which was beautifully cooked and really tasty.
Seeing that the portions were very generous, we shared a lemon tart with raspberry coulis ~ lovely.
We would thoroughly recommend Delmonico to locals and those travelling from a bit further than Bristol.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We dined here on a friday night a few weeks back. The restaurant is slightly archaic in it's design but this added charm and atmosphere to the place. The food was plentiful and well cooked ,I found the main a little bland for me, I had ordered the spicy chili but felt it was missing a kick! The staff were polite and friendly although the service was slow due to there only being two serving staff. The restaurant appeared to be a much loved popular place as it was constantly full throughout the duration of our meal. I would visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delmonico also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Delmonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delmonico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.