We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promised a lot but avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge On The Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge On The Park to your Saves list
Lodge On The Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aztec West | Almondsbury, Bristol BS32 4TS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Bristol
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Promised a lot but avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked this based on previous trip advisor reviews. At first fantastic. Room ready at 10.30am so could check in. Staff polite & friendly. Had great day out in Bristol. Got back 10pm! What a change. Group of girls staying in various rooms on ground floor having loud music, door slamming party. They finally went out 11.30 after waiting loudly by door & smoking. They came back 3.15 & party started again. I suppose for a budget hotel what should we have expected? Sadly, based on what might be a one off experience I would not recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    64
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
56
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I've been staying here on & off since Aug 2013 for business travel. It's well equipped, quiet & the staff are efficient & friendly, making it a welcome change from the big chain hotels. The Starbucks & bistro is ideal though menu could do with changing more frequently, the food is good & reasonably priced. As a solo female traveller have always felt comfortable & looked after - recommended!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Had cause to attend a function in Bristol at Aztec West. I've stayed at Lodge on The Park in the past and decided to make use of it again.

Hotel is located next to a Starbucks, where you go to check in. I was pleased that they have dropped the check in machine as it had caused me problems last time I used it. This time a real person checked me in and gave me my key.

The hotel itself would be hard to fault. From the moment you walk into the hotel entrance it is a good experience with a well maintained clean feel to the place. My room was large and comfortable with a good size double bed, a comfortable lounger and plenty of working area i.e. a built in desk area with comfortable seating. The lighting in the room was perfect for my needs.

The bathroom was well laid out and a pleasure to use with a large shower cubicle and very efficient shower.

I would use this hotel again when in the area, and can definitely recommend it.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

After being used to staying in Travelodges and the like it was a very refreshing experience to stay in a reasonably priced hotel that didn't have tonnes of faults. The room was very spacious and comfortable, and being a light sleeper I was happy not to be able to hear the nearby roads or indeed the other guests.

One issue I did find was that the free WiFi was so slow that I just resorted to using my phone's mobile internet, but I suppose that's why there are paid options. The hotel is very convenient overall, especially if you're visiting Aztec West, and whilst the breakfast in Starbucks next door wasn't a full on fry up that you may get elsewhere it had everything I wanted.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

As other reviews state the rooms are very nice, fresh modern and clean. However the restaurant lets it down, arrived and ordered a drink and was told they would come to take my food order. After 15 minutes of waiting gave up and went to the bar to order to be told there were no pizzas left - it was before 8pm on a Wednesday night and the place was les than a third full. The menu has 9 pizzas, 4 pastas and 4 salads so most of the choice was gone. Anyway I ordered and 35 minutes later the main course arrived and 10 minutes after than the starter! The reason given was the kitchen was busy.

No idea how breakfast will be but can't be any worse.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here just one night on a recent visit to Bristol. There is a check in area within the on site Starbucks. The room was very clean and modern and had tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also very modern and the shower was excellent. The car park is free at weekends and we were given a code to use to enable us to lift the barrier to get out as often as we wished. The staff are very friendly and the hotel and grounds are very well looked after and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel, the room has everything I need, the shower is excellent, powerful and lots of space. The staff are really friendly and helpful. This is a hotel that is relaxed and stylish. The added bonus is having Starbucks on site. I have stayed at both The Lodge on the Park and The Hilton and I have cancelled all my bookings at The Hilton as I much prefer The Lodge.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge On The Park

Address: Aztec West | Almondsbury, Bristol BS32 4TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lodge On The Park 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new, stylish affordable place to stay in north Bristol. Rooms designed with you in mind. Double bed, flat screen TV, high spec en suite facilities and free WiFi access. Our delightful continental style cafe, lounge and bar is designed for eating, meeting and drinking, not to mention simply relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lodge On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Park Hotel Bristol
Hotel On The Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge On The Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.