We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, will definitely return.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Hotel & Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bell Hotel & Inn to your Saves list
The Bell Hotel & Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay, will definitely return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned home from our weekend away to The Bell Hotel and Inn at Woburn. This was for my fiancé's 40th birthday and we've had a wonderful time. We had asked for a quiet room when booking and were given a room at the rear of the hotel building on the opposite side of the road to the bar and restaurant. This did prove to be a lovely quiet room. Although this was a small room, it was beautifully decorated to a high standard and clean and we had both a bath and shower in the on suite bathroom.

The pub and restaurant had a nice relaxed atmosphere and staff were very friendly. The meals were delicious, good value and plentiful. Our first night was on a Friday and my partner had a 16oz T - bone steak, with all the trimmings and a free pint of larger on their sizzling Friday deal for £15.95. Breakfast was also good with lots on offer to suit all tastes.

We had never been to the area before and were pleasantly surprised as the village itself is lovely and the surrounding area offers lots to see and do. During our stay we went to Whipsnade zoo (1 full day) and Bletchley Park (1 full day). We intend to return again to The Bell Hotel and Inn, in order to explore the area further including the deer park and Woburn Abbey. The Woburn Heritage Centre Museum and Tourist Information was very useful and offered lots of leaflets on attractions to visit in and around the area. The lady there was extremely friendly and helpful and demonstrated excellent knowledge of the area and local amenities. This is housed within a lovely old church building.

Overall, the hotel and restaurant were very good and we will definitely be returning again. We are registered with Old English Inns and receive periodic emails with discount codes, which we used on this stay making it a great deal at £99 for two nights stay, including breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the hotel side of the road. Also make sure you register with Old English Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
'Thank you for your feedback, it is really important to us to know when we get things right and hope to see you back soon. You should start receiving some new offers now as we're going into the xmas season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    47
    32
    25
See reviews for
23
89
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Visited for a weekend with my wife, slightly unusual that the hotel is split across either side of the road, we were in a superior room in the side opposite the bar. Not a modern chain hotel so don't expect that so rooms are not purpose designed but big enough and comfortable. Bathroom old fashioned but perfectly fine. Breakfast excellent and service fine with people friendly. If you like hotels with a bit of character then book this, if you like modern chain hotels where everything is perfect and exactly the same in every room and hotel then don't.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and i'm glad you've enjoyed your stay with us. You are perfectly right, we are Old English Inns not a modern high-street hotel, but we pride ourselves with our location and the service we provide. Look forward to seeing you return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Took my parents this time and found the hotel just as good as last time we had superior rooms on both sides of split hotel room 1 and 25 both good size and had every thing you needed.
People should remember that these buildings are old and not like modern hotels and that is what we like about Old English Inns. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent on both days and all the staff were very friendly but we feel that Charlotte went the extra mile to make it a very pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quieter room choose one across the road from where the bar and restaurant are locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're really happy to see you using our hotels and inns frequently, i hope we'll continue to impress you on your further stays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

On arrival we went into the pub and this was the first time that we realized the hotel is in two halves!! some rooms are above the pub and others are across a busy road in another building and our room was in this building. The lady from the pub walked over to the building with us. I would have felt very uncomfortable if I was on my own in that building as the reception was unmanned and anyone off the street could have gone in there -also if you stay there in winter you might get wet running across to the pub for your dinner, drink or breakfast!!!!
We had booked a superior double room at a cost of £95 which included breakfast. The room was tired and drab looking, the bathroom was old and the tiles around the bath were grubby - even the bed side tables looked like they used to have drawers in them but they were missing!! Having read other people comments and costs which varied from a bank holiday weekend for £59.80 to a suite for £85 by comparison our £95 room was very much overpriced.
On the upside all staff were very polite and the breakfast was extremely good.

Room Tip: Make sure you know which building you are staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate all feedback and all of them will be taken on board for our next refurbishment. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

On staying for the weekend of the F1 at Silverstone we found the stay adequate but the management need to take note of repeated comments, size of rooms, size of bathrooms and strange musty smell.

Other than the above, the hotel is clean, the staff are polite, the restaurant serves good quality food with the bar being well stocked.

In all the stay please to our expectations.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate that comments about room and bathroom size are found frequently in our reviews and with the risk of repeating myself i have to say this again; the only solution to this problem involves major structural changes which will not be undertaken until the next refurbishment, probably in a year or two and even then it will have to be undertaken with extreme caution as this is an old Victorian listed house. We do our best to keep the standards high and compensate for these small inconveniences with impeccable service, cleanliness and very competitive prices for the time being. Also, regarding the musty smells, with my sincere apologies we have been having some plumbing issues in the past 6 months and it seems these problems just keep moving from one part of the building to the other....i guess the age of the building says it all, maintenance is an ongoing job same as in any old building that's kept it's character. I'm glad you were able to overlook these minor issues and have an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you return. Kind Regards, Dan Pricop General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We situated hotel in a small village, well worth a walk around if you get the chance, the room was clean if not a little small but it was for single occupancy. I have stayed here before and if you get a room on the back of the hotel you won’t hear a thing but if you are on the front you have the traffic rolling past all night or the windows closed. The food, which is served in the pub over the road, is excellent, I recommend the chicken, and the staff are very friendly. All in all well worth the money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and i'm very happy to see you return and enjoying your stay. As we mention to all customers, if there are rooms facing the rear of the building available we are more than happy to allocate them to you. Hope to see you back soon and please try with confidence any item from our menus especially our new chef's specials - i'd recommend the lamb for next time! Once again, thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Despite only staying for a night, we had a lovely time. Room was spacious and clean and the breakfast in the morning was lovely. Despite our room being located on the side of the road, we heard no noise from cars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
'Thank you for your kind comments and look forward to see you return. Dan Pricop'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bell Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel & Inn

Address: 21 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Bell Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel And Inn
Bell Hotel Woburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Hotel & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.