We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Margarets
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Cottage B&B
Save
You added Rock Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Rock Road | Newton St Margaret's, St Margarets HR20QW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 St Margarets B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A different B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Spent 2 nights at Rock Cottage and had meals both nights (extra) as there isn't a restaurant or pub in walking distance, so if you want a drink you have to take your own as Sue and Chris do not have a drinks licence (this is mentioned on their web). when we arrived at 4PM we were greeted with a cup of tea and some Welsh Tea Bread (Bara Brith) sitting looking out over their garden and also the following day when we arrived back after being out in the hills.
Sue is a competent and innovative chef and the 3 course evening meals are well worth the money she asks extra.
Why is this all different? The guests sit down at the dining table in the large kitchen with Sue and her husband Chris for breakfast and the evening meal, where lively discussions can ensue on any subject; this makes a pleasant change to being shut away in a dining room on your own.
Our bedroom was the Owl Roost with a large comfortable bed, radio and tea/coffee making facilities, although we only used the tea making once when going to bed as Sue made us a few cups of tea in the kitchen while preparing the evening meal. Our En-Suite had toilet, bidet, shower and basin plus a heated towel rail.
Although Rock Cottage is well off the beaten track up many windy single track lanes the Sat-Nav found it, traffic is minimal past the house so it is really peaceful, so if you are use to trains and traffic through the night the silence might keep you awake.
While there Sue introduced us to the Goat Farm where Angora Goats are kept and sheared for their ‘wool’ which is then turned into many differing garments, well worth a visit while you are there.

Room Tip: Rock Cottage only has 2 rooms, the Wrens Nest which we didn't see and the Owl Roost described ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed for two nights during the Hay Festival. Via hairy country lanes in pouring rain, we arrived tired and despondent, but were soon cheered up by the reception from Sue and Chris and the roaring log fire ( well, it was mid summer in England after all !).
Super big bedroom (Owl's Roost) and quirky architecture from landing to open kitchen makes it unique and delightful.
Terrific breakfast of local fare,with endless choice of home made preserves etc.

Nearby the recently renovated 'Bridge pub/restaurant' was excellent, if rather packed. Ask for a dining room table if booking ahead...not so close to the madding crowd in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I knew Sue and Chris from years ago--and knew Sue was a good cook!--but this was my first visit to their lovely cottage and I was hugely impressed by the warmth of the welcome, the comfort of the accommodation, the beauty of the setting and the trouble they clearly take to make all their guests feel at home. I can attest to the truth of the other reviews on this page and the unanimously positive remarks in their visitors' book that they give a high degreee of customer satisfaction: not only all that you would expect from a top-quality B&B, but also the extras that make it more special: the glass of wine, the chat over the beatiful oak table Chris made (they don't just cook for guests, they share meals and conversation with them), the directions for the special scenic route to Hay which none but locals would know, the freedom to roam over their gardens and field with wonderful views across to the Black Mountains. If you are looking for a base for walking, for exploring Hay's bookshops (less than 30 minutes away) and canoeing, or just a quiet place to get away from the ratrace, look no further than this as you would not be able to better it if you spent a whole week trawling the internet! Richard, Reading

Room Tip: The Owl's Roost is the best room with a spacious en suite and lovely outlook, but the Graden Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at Rock Cottage last Friday and really could not have asked for anything better. We had the warmest welcome from Sue and a tour of the rooms that were available for us to relax in. After we had settled in Sue made us tea and coffee and invited us to choose where we would like to drink it. We booked the Owl's Roost which is the largest room available and it is really stunning. The attention to detail was great right from the L'occitane shower products down to the remote controlled lights that save you having to leave your bed to turn them out.
We hadn't booked dinner at Rock Cottage but the wonderful aromas coming from the kitchen as we headed out to a local pub made us wish we had.

The bedroom and bathroom were a really good size with lovely fresh white bedding and fluffy white towels. There was fresh milk and filtered water in the silent mini fridge and all the equipment to make ourselves tea and coffee in our room. We had a really comfy night in the Owls Roost and felt like we were friends staying over rather than paying guests. The breakfast was substantial with fresh eggs laid by Rock Cottages resident chickens and really good bacon. It was lovely to be joined for breakfast by our hosts and we felt that it really added to the pleasure of our stay. Sue even allowed me to go out and play with their wonderful dogs which was a real treat.

We will be back soon and this time we will book to have dinner there. We cannot recommend this gem highly enough.

Anna and Greg, Bristol.

Room Tip: The Owl's Roost is the largest room and worth every penny of the asking price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Some B & B's are nice but Rock Cottage offer a real home from home. Me and my hubby just had the most wonderful, relaxing weekend at this great hidden oasis. It's great for walks bird watching, or just chilling out in the garden. We couldn't have asked for better hosts, nothing was too much trouble and our great room was really good value for money. Breakfast was a feast fit for a king or queen so we'll definitely be back.

six stars

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Three Old world cottages merged into one dwelling .3 letting rooms , ours was the smallest but very nicley done must be seen to be appreciated .
Owners Sue and Chris very nice people lovley breakfast home made jams and bread
fresh sqeezed whole orange juice .Good value for money
Ralph & jan Kendrick

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This small cosy b and b was fabulous. Comfy rooms, stylishly decorated. On a very quiet country lane. Lovely garden. Woodpeckers on the feeder. Fabulous breakfast with local eggs, bacon and sausage with tomatoes and mushrooms, freshly squeezed orange juice, choice of teas and coffee. Lovely hosts. Glorious area. I could go on but you get the picture.
Great value too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Cottage B&B

Address: Rock Road | Newton St Margaret's, St Margarets HR20QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > St Margarets
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Margarets
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.