We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful calm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Priory Hotel to your Saves list
The Priory Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Priory Lane | Stretton Sugwas, Stretton Sugwas, Hereford HR4 7AR, England (Formerly New Priory Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stretton Sugwas
High Wycombe
1 review
“Peaceful calm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

We booked for one night (a last minute decision) after meeting friends who were staying at the New Priory Hotel and seeing for ourselves, the peaceful setting and high standard of accommodation. Our double room was spacious and newly decorated with thick curtains and a luxurious bed, both of which contributed to a long and deep sleep. The ensuite bathroom with the rolltop bath was an added bonus. It was calming to wake up in the morning and look out of the bay window at horses grazing in fields and feel to be in the deep countryside, even though we were only about 3 miles to the west of Hereford. Breakfast was a real treat, as the hotel specialises in using local produce. We could taste the difference! And that's the best raspberry jam I've ever eaten. Ignore any reviews written before 2008. Those reviews already on tripadvisor for this hotel relate to a previous ownership and bear absolutely no resemblance to how the hotel is now. They had put me off when I was searching a few months ago for a hotel near Hereford. I enjoyed my stay last night so much though, that the current owners deserve it being made clear that this is the NEW Priory Hotel.

  • Liked — smallness of the hotel (less than 10 rooms), it's setting and the comfortable beds
  • Disliked — The room doors are heavy and so bang behind you
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
16
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

My wife and I live locally, and had our wedding reception at the Priory hotel in 2006. We decided to visit the hotel as it is under new management for a birthday meal.

We were amazed to see the level of refurbishment, the new owners have taken great care with all of the decor, and we could see a huge improvement.

The food is of a very high standard, and the service was friendly and attentive.

Dont look at the old reviews here, visit the hotel and discover it for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

This is one of the worst places I have ever stayed. It is such a shame because it is a charming old building. The roms are shabby, dated and not particularly clean. The bar and breakfast area stink of stale cigarette smoke - smoking is permitted throughout including in the rooms. The icing on the cake is the owner - "Mole" - who would be more at home protesting against bypasses than running a hotel - think Swampy and you'll get the picture - he was just downright rude. Thank goodness we only stayed 1 night!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerefordahireOwner, New Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review, February 29, 2008
I am the new owner at The Priory Hotel, upon purchase we closed the doors to undertake a complete refurbishment. We open the door 21st March with a beautiful 8 bedroom country house hotel, family run, opulant bedrooms, stylish restaurant, decor traditional with a hint of contemporary with all the features you would expect to find in a former rectory. Please give us a try it will be an experience to remember for the right reason. Chris & Chris Rowbotham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

We were recommended this hotel as a place to stay, I would never recommend it to anyone else!

The property looked lovely on the approach up the driveway, the hotel probably used to be a nice place. The reception was full of cobwebs, we had to gain entry via the bar from the man in charge who was busy listening to music.

The room was very outdated, the carpets dirty and there was an abundance of flies in our room. Not a good start. There were cracks in the ceiling, old furniture etc.

Breakfast although served by a very pleasant cook was not great. We had to ask for milk, juice and sauces. The room it was served in appeared to be a storage room with old posters, broken bits of furniture and a "screen" made from an old sheet tacked across the room on a piece of string. The tables were dirty and covered in crumbs and were sticky.

Check out was a mess; the couple in front of us were charged £15 less despite having a similar room and breakfast for the same duration. The man who appeared to be in charge asked what I would like him to do about it ,and suggested it was the cooks' fault for charging the incorrect rate (despite the cook checking with him before payment.) All in all very disorganised.

In short, never again; there must be plenty of other places to stay in the vicinty which are cleaner and certainly more pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the New Priory Hotel in a double room and were really disappointed with the interiors, breakfast and service. The hotel looks really lovely from the outside and very grand, however inside almost everywhere is very run down and does not complement the outside period. Our room was very small and the bathroom was old, so much so that we did not shower the following morning as the shower had mould between the tiles and it just looked so worn. The bed was very uncomfortable and the televison coudl only be watched when both of us were lying flat in our beds as it only had a booster ariel that had really bad reception. The room was also very difficult to lock and unlock! Breakfast was served in a very odd room that had part of it partitioned off with a sheet nailed up. The weetabix I was about to eat was 3 months out of date and the orange juice was in cartons with no scissors to open them! The cooked breakfast was okay although the fried waffle I couldn't face. The saving grace of this experience was the nice guy who obviously cooked and served breakfast, he was helpful but could have done with some help. When I went to check out at 10am the person who dealt with this had to be gone and woken up as he had overslept - a fitting 15 minute wait to finish the experience. What was really odd was that check out took place in the bar which was also a really lovely, sunny room with floor to ceiling french windows and a stripped floor - why breakfast wasn't served here I don't know. Simply find somewhere else to stay.

  • Liked — The outside
  • Disliked — The uncomforatble bed
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

After being a regular visitor at this hotel for a number of years we had no hesitation to re book after an absence of 3 years. I wish we had not.. When we arrived at the hotel there was no one to meet us just a note on the door instructing us to telephone the hotel. there is no payphone in the immediate vicinity and my husband and i do not possess a mobile phone. We travelled half a mile to the nearest payphone and called the hotel. We were told to go back to the hotel and the landlord would meet us there.. this was not the type of service we had experienced before at the hotel and alarm bells started ringing. After a wait of about 20 minutes a large white van came tearing down the drive. a scruffy indivudual alighted the vehicle and intruduced himself as Mole the new owner.
We were booked in for 3 night but left after 1. The rooms were dreadful, dirty and unkept. The bar area was empty univiting and with no draught or bottle beer in date, the restuarant was bare and the menu non existent. The attitude of the new owner could not have been more unhospitable.
We will never return to the New Priory Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: Priory Lane | Stretton Sugwas, Stretton Sugwas, Hereford HR4 7AR, England (Formerly New Priory Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Stretton Sugwas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stretton Sugwas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in rural Herefordshire, but just 3 miles from the Cathedral city of Hereford.Chris & Chris Rowbotham operate the family run country house hotel as a home from home. There are 8 en-suite bedrooms, ranging in size and bathroom options, offering every comfort. At the heart of the hotel is our Hathway Restaurant priding itself on using the finest local ingredients cooked fresh to order. Enjoy a glass of wine or local beer in the cosy lounge bar with an open fire for the winter or on the sun terrace if lucky with the weather. We also are a popular wedding venue in the area, licensed for civil marriage ceremonies and able to cater for up to 80 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Priory

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Priory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.