We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Holme Lacy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holme Lacy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holme Lacy, Hereford, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Perfect Short Break away
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Holme Lacy
Oldham, lancashire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful Holme Lacy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We last visited Holme Lacy just over two years ago, and as we enjoyed it so much, my partner booked it again for my birthday, and what a treat it was!

As you drive up the driveway to the house, the excitement begins there. It is truly breathtaking!

Check-in was very efficient by a young lady stood outside, so we didn't even have to get out of the car to get our key. Excellent!

Our room was lovely and spacious, and well-decorated. We had wonderful views over the gardens. The bathroom could do with a fresh lick of paint, but otherwise was fine, and it was nice to have the choice of a shower or a bath. The bed was amaaazing! It was huge!

There is so much to do at Holme Lacy that if you don't want to, you don't really have to go off site. We did quizzes, horse racing, went for a swim and used the bubble spa, walked around the magnificent gardens (in the rain!...was still good fun!) and had numerous hot chocolates/cocktails etc to while away our time. I must say all the staff were so friendly and helpful. They all smiled and said a cheery hello to us when passing us in the corridor. The entertainments team and the lad at the leisure centre desk where all particularly friendly and made us feel very welcome.

All the facilities at the hotel are excellent. I loved the pool, it was so relaxing, and never overly busy which was great.

Meals were fantastic. Really tasty. On the second night, due to bad storms, the power was cut in the hotel, and in fact the whole village. We thought we might have to drive out to dinner that night, but low and behold, the chefs came up trumps and were cooking on camp stoves! I think that shows they go the extra mile.

The waiting staff work so very hard, but still had a smile on their faces. We had a different waiter/waitress each evening, but we were particularly taken by a girl called Aurelia. She was a star!

The entertainment at night was excellent. On the Saturday night it was a tribute to Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons, and it was brilliant, had a great night, but without a doubt, the show that stole it for us was the 'night at the musicals' that the resident entertainment team put on for us on the last evening. It was spectacular, and any one of those performers could be west end material! It captivated my partner and I from start to finish. I really only wish I could dance like them!

From the moment we arrived, to the time we left, we had a ball at Holme Lacy. Even though we were about 30 years younger that most of the other guests there, as we are in our 30's, we felt welcomed and had just a great time as the older guests that were there, and we will definately be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent birthday treat with us.

I was pleased that you found your experience first class from the moment you arrived. I will pass your comments on to the Team here.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back soon

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    150
    46
    26
    23
See reviews for
50
264
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Had a dreadful experience. They charge for your room, they then charge you for basic dining and then charge an extra £18.00 per person per night for fine dining. Then to top it off, you have to pay £3.00 per person for coffee.
We love the orchard restaurant and paid £108.00 extra to eat in there.
The food was reasonable but to give you an additional bill for £6.00 for two cups of coffee was a step to far.
Warners - forget it. That's another year or so we'll give you a miss.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

It’s lovely to read that you enjoyed your dining experience in our Orchard Restaurant.

Separating the dining and room is something that we have recently changed to benefit our guests. Our prices haven’t increased as a result of this; it just means that our guests are able to see what they are paying.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future and thank you once again for providing us with feedback.

Kind Regards,

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We arrived on Monday to be greeted by two cheerful ladies who took us through the easy reception process and showed us where to park our car. We were then taken to our room via the service lift as the main lift was being replaced. Having booked an historic room as we had done previously at Cricket St. Thomas we were so very disappointed to find that the room was small and the "view" was of a roof. The room was worn and dirty in part but the bathroom was modern and fine. The TV was much smaller than as described in the brochure. By Wednesday we decided to enquire about other rooms in the house to be able to compare them with our room. At reception we were approached by Andy Fletcher (one of the managers) and explained our disappointment with the room. He took us to the Terrace Bar where he provided us with tea and coffee and promised to come back within 20mins.
He returned as said and offered us a choice of upgraded rooms. We accepted a beautiful room on the ground floor. A bottle of "bubbly" was brought to our table at dinner which was totally unexpected. Thank you for all that Andy. That is what we call good customer service!.
We had dinner in the quiet part of the Bremner-Scott dining room and were very impressed with the menu and the quality of the food. I tried the carvery one night which was also very good. Our waiter Bart was very professional and attentive.
The in house entertainment team are very talented. The house and grounds are beautiful.
We will certainly return now we know there are some lovely rooms at Holme Lacy.

Room Tip: When we booked we did not realise our room had a limited view. Make sure you check when you book as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, South Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have been holidaying at Warner's for over 20 years now. This was our second stay at Holme Lacy, and we chose it because in January it wasn't too far for us to travel if the weather was bad. It is a lot more expensive, as a rule, than Warner's resorts (our favorite being Norton Grange on the Isle of Wight) We booked the standard room (cheapest!) but it was huge!! (two single beds linked together) The bed was huge too and very comfortable (The view wasn't up to much, overlooked by other parts of the building and roofs but our daughter and son-in-law's room was smaller and had a better view. Everything was beautifully clean and tidy and there were two armchairs for comfortable relaxation and everything you could possibly need - including and iron and ironing board and a safe (at no extra cost.) The food was good with plenty of choice but not outstanding. Whilst we were staying there was a two hour electricity cut (affecting 3000 properties in the area) and it was just before dinner so we expected to be eating salad and cold meat but they coped admirably the lamb was a little tough due to under cooking but hey we had a hot meal!! Entertainment was good, the New Jersey Boys (tribute band) were a good act (lead singer had a voice like elastic!!) and as usual the resident entertainment team & band provided a good standard of entertainment.

Room Tip: room 262 has a view, room 270 is HUGE but don't expect a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Its took this long to write this review as I have been fobbed off with returning letters from management. We arrived to find one of our two rooms we pre booked next door to each other had been giving to somebody else, as this was a celebration and a get together for my family I was annoyed to be split up. Worse to come they said we are fully booked .On finding another room for my son and given a door key card to get in he came back to us to say he walked in and the room was filled with peoples suitcases and valuables but luckily not in bed.
So much for security.Management replied to my letters stating they cannot guarantee room bookings .But I was shown a computer print out confirming my booking SO BEWARE

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
I am sorry that you didn’t get the rooms you were expecting. We do offer a room selection service which is £10 per room, maybe this would be of benefit to you in the future. We try our upmost best to meet requests, however this cannot be guaranteed and isn’t always possible.

Thank you for your feedback.

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have stayed a few times at Cricket st Thomas, so thought we would give Holme Lacy a try. We were not disappointed. The check in at the front of the house is a great idea and saves lots of time at Reception. We entered then into the main part of the House which I have to say is very impressive. We stayed in Room 210 an Historic room overlooking the lawn and down to the lake. Although the bathroom is looking a bit tired, overall the room is great, plenty of space and lots of character. Being able to eat in the main house, again is different to Cricket and makes the experience feel very special. The food was superb, the choice at the carvery and from the menu was very varied and cooked to perfection... we were spoilt for choice. A nice touch was when the Chef came out and went to a few tables to see how everything was.
The entertainment provided by a hard-working Alison was great and we really enjoyed ourselves... she works so hard and her enthusiasm is infectious.... well done!!
Our only negative comments would be the compere who didn't interact with the audience, something we missed from James at Cricket, and secondly on Sunday night the evening was bought down by bringing on Colin to play classical music from the piano when the majority wanted to party on and celebrate the end of their holiday. We have been spoilt by James and Neil at Cricket.
We had a fantastic stay at Holme Lacy and cant wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Room 210 and historic room was very quiet and great location for all amenites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I can not express enough how wonderful our weekend at Holme Lacy has been. It actually started from the time we arrived through the grounds and greeted at the house by staff - who checked us in. We didn't even get out of the car, and very impressed at this point. We quickly unpacked and husband went in the direction of the gym and I went to the pool. I actually made the use of the pool ever morning and husband the gym which I was glad to get the exercise out of the way before breakfast because the entertainment and activities was outstanding and free, and kept us busy. Lucky for us the guest participation was of a comfortable number. The staff through out the hotel were friendly and helpful. The entertainment was fabulous and in fact I enjoyed the resident entertaining team far more than tribute band on the Saturday night. Overall the weekend was fabulous, from start to finish with the activities, entertainment, food, great night sleeps in comfortable bed, no kids and everything inclusive including our drinks so the wallet didnt come out at all. A must to book again with Warner and a must to return back to Holme Lacy!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
On behalf of the team here at Holme Lacy House I would like to thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed every aspect of your break- from your check-in experience to the entertainment and leisure facilities.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Address: Holme Lacy, Hereford, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Holme Lacy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel Herefordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel to your Saves list