We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic House B&B

Atlantic House B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantic House B&B to your Saves list
Atlantic House B&B
Coast Road, Castletownshend, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I needed a place to stay near Castletownsend for a few nights and decided on Atlantic house and how glad I am to have done so..the setting and view is superb .Im a light sleeper so a comforable bed is important and so it proved.The conservatory syle breakfast room was bright and airy and helped the enjoyment of a great breakfast.Then step outside and relax in the quiet countryside

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweety066, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Niall Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We really do appreciate everyone who goes to the trouble of a review as we know they care about where they stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We picked this Bed & Breakfast by tossing a coin and it really worked out well. The staff were wonderful and helpful with giving the right and some very good informations about the area. The breakfast that was included was really nice - made fresh to order with a lot of cold/hot options. The rooms were really nice and clean. They have a nice study where you could sit and enjoy a beverage. We will come back again as our annual petanque "Sandy Cove grand prix" is on the next Beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweety066, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Glad you picked our place to stay. We do really appreciate all your lovely comments. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We recently stayed with Kathleen and John at the start of our holidays towards the end of July of this year. We had the triple room which was spotlessly clean and tidy, very comfortable and a perfect size even though we were three adults sharing the room (rather large ones in some cases, at that!). Breakfast was lovely - my husband helped himself to the fry up every day, happily munching into sausages and bacon and eggs, all washed down with excellent fresh coffee. I tried a variety of breakfasts, possibly my favourite being porridge with honey and scrambled eggs on toast. Our friend loved the fruit salad every morning - which is funny because she never eats it at home!

Kathleen gave us such a welcome to her home and was always lovely, taking time to chat and talk alongside running a family home and business. Nothing was too much for her. John's cooking went down a treat. The free WiFi was well used and the guest sittingroom with the view of the sea was so lovely. Castletownshend is a fantastic village, so pretty and quiet with stunning views and we've visited many many times.

We would heartily recommend a stay with Kathleen and John, you will NOT regret it!!

Oh and Tweety stole our hearts... hello Tweetie!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweety066, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Celine Delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to have ye stay with us. We do really appreciate your lovley comments. We look forward to meeting you again next year. Tweety says "Hello"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Service was excellent. Kathleen dropped us into castletownsend whenever we needed a lift. She also provided honey and hot lemon to ease a sore throat which was very kind. The room was spotless and breakfast was good. The breakfast room over looked the sea and we were invited to use this room if we wanted to sit there and read. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweety066, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Very comfortable and quiet in beautiful settings in a lovely part of the country. Kathleen was so helpful and lovely to talk to. we very much enjoyed our weekend there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Lovely B&B, bright, spotlessly clean, quiet, great location by the sea in beautiful west Cork, lovely gardens, very good value. Kathleen went out of her way to accommodate our early starts each morning as we headed off scuba diving. Thank you so much. Would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweety066, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Hi Yvonne

Thank you so much for your review. I''m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you at another time.

kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We want to thank Kathleen and John for a wonderfully warm welcome in beautiful peaceful surroundings...and an incredible view. We were going to a wedding in Glandore the same weekend and the weather was amazing. Glandore was only 15 minutes drive away. And our gourmet breakfast was just as amazing! Without question one of the best guesthouses I've personally stayed in in West Cork. It is also excellent value. Thanks a million guys and hope to be back soon again. John, Lisa, Billy and Therese.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweety066, Owner at Atlantic House B&B, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
To John Lisa Billy & Theresa

Thank you for your lovely review. It is much apprieciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to meeting you again.

Best Wishes

John & Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic House B&B

Address: Coast Road, Castletownshend, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castletownshend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castletownshen...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathleen and John Cronin welcome you to Atlantic House, their comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation near the enchanting West Cork village of Castletownshend. Atlantic House offers quality bed and breakfast in a beautiful setting overlooking Castletownshend harbour with the Atlantic Ocean beyond. The bedrooms are well appointed and decorated in keeping with the surroundings. In the morning you can enjoy a traditional Irish breakfast, individually prepared while you admire the sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Atlantic House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.