We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but clean, quiet and comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elsinor Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elsinor Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Elsinor Motor Lodge
Cnr Kanahooka Rd, Dapto, New South Wales 2530, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old but clean, quiet and comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed on a Sunday night and it was very quiet, not many guests. While the décor is very dated the room was very clean, smelled fresh and had very comfortable furniture. The bedlinen was crisp and clean and the towels and toiletries were good quality. The large flat screen TV, microwave and provided cutlery provided everything I needed to relax in preparation for my work the following day.
The dodgy phone on the wall outside reception made me a little uneasy, but I shouldn't have been. The reception staff responded quickly and she was bright and cheery and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I must say this was a quick booking. I had time to read through the reviews before we arrived, which did make me re-think of taking my family to this place!
However once in the room I was pleasantly surprised. It was clean & tidy!
The kids loved the pool, and the bbq was spotless.
Bedding was clean and crisp as where the towels.
Yes I agree its in need of a makeover, but for the price we where happy.
The only thing I could say is yes it was a bit musky when we walked in, but it was only that closed up smell, maybe management should leave a can of air freshner in the room.
Once aired out was fine.
Overall we where happy with our stay.
We would stay again!!! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We Should have listened to the other reviews! A friend went and looked at the rooms and said they weren't too bad. That is rooms 1-6. The others are awful! The only window was the little one next to the door, room was dark all day. Bed lamps didn't work, Wardrobe door didn't slide, so I couldn't hang the clothes. We put it bak on the rollers but it wouldn't stay there. Entire wall and robe doors were all mirrored. Towels extremely well worn, Bathroom filthy! Long black hairs(5) on the basin, shower and bathroom floor. Bathroom very tiny & very grotty! Reception staff were not friendly and yelling and screaming came from reception most of the afternoon. Only motel in the area so no option but to stay there, Beds were only good thing. Our stay was not at all pleasant!

Room Tip: Ok for a double if you get room 1-6
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElsyDapto, Manager at Elsinor Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We were on holidays when Sally stayed with us and there were relief managers there at the time.I have tried to ring Sally to apologize to her.
I would like to apologize to Sally for her negative experience and to let other future guest know that we strive to have clean rooms and we have very friendly and happy staff and we ensure that our guests leave us happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dapto hotels

Nowra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

we stayed here 10 years ago then stayed again 1night recently ,nothing has been renovated since ,the shower hot water taked 5minutes to come through then it's boiling to regulate with cold water the hot stops this is dangerous , the kettle was dirty, the room had a smelly odour ,overpriced and overated will never stay again ....ever

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

my wife and have stayed a several times and we really enjoy the stay.The rooms are clean the bed is comfy,the staff are fantastic and the restaurant is terrific. whenever we are in town visiting family we always stay here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I needed to be in Dapto for one night, TA reviews did not speak highly of this motel. I would not have booked it myself, in the end the booking was out of my control. The motel was well situated for my purpose, upon checking in I found a smell in the office that is present in too many country motels. A musty odour, I hoped it wasn't going to be in my room as well. The check in staff member was friendly and efficient. My room was located around the back, I was a bit concerned at first, but only the entrance was at the rear and a window faced the courtyard. I was pleasantly surprised with the room, it was clean and fresh. Although the bathroom does need to refurbished. I had ordered a cooked breakfast, it was delivered to the room and I would say enjoyable. Overall not the best country motel, but if I needed a Dapto overnight stay again, I would stay here. I noticed on the website that they had an indoor heated pool, I checked it out with the view of having a morning swim, it didn't appear to be used too often not as clean as i would expect. I didn't take a morning swim.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stay here when I am in town for work and I have never had a reason to complain,the staff are lovely. I have dinner in the restaurant and the food is great and great value for money.The rooms are spotless. Oh and I have never had a problem with the WiFi

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elsinor Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsinor Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Kanahooka Rd, Dapto, New South Wales 2530, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dapto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dapto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 25 rooms,some with spa baths,twin rooms and triple rooms, we have an indoor heated swimming pool,restaurant and bar and a function room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elsinor Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elsinor Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.