We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, friendly service and a wonderful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peacock at Rowsley

The Peacock at Rowsley
Bakewell Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park de42eb, England
+44 1629 733518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Rowsley
Price range: $6 - $94
Cuisines: English, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Description: A perfect spot for visiting the Peak National Park, Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. The Peacock is located in the small, pretty village of Rowsley. We serve delicious food both lunch and dinner in the warm and cosy surroundings of our atmospheric bar. Our 3 dining rooms overlook our gardens and lunch is served from 12 noon til 2 pm and dinner from 7pm to 9 pm (8.30 Pm) on Sunday. We offer something for everyone from a bowl of homemade soup to our fine dining experience in the evening and we have been awarded 3 rosettes by the AA. Reservations for our dining rooms and first come first served for our bar. We look forward to welcoming you. The Peacock at RowsleyBakewell Road, Rowsley, Derbyshire. DE4 2EB
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service and a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We attended a dinner at The Peacock, celebrating the fiftieth birthday of a friend. I see that other reviewers found the atmosphere cool and the staff less than helpful. I'm sorry that they didn't have the same kind of experience that I did. We were in a private dining room which was beautiful. We couldn't fault the staff and the lady I took to be the manageress was warm, friendly and extremely helpful. The food was very good indeed and everyone had a superb evening.
They really couldn't have done more, in an unobtrusive way, to make the occasion a success. I wasn't sure if they had been told that I am vegetarian and would have been quite happy to just have vegetables. They had been told - and there was a fab veggie menu waiting for me. We had been warned to expect at least an hour's wait for a taxi (it was a nightmare getting one to The Peacock from our overnight accommodation) and when we asked at Reception, they had a car for us inside ten minutes. Really recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    13
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmorton, Derbyshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch but not a relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed a lunch here recently and though the food was good we will not rush back as it is a little pretentious. We have dined at many top restaurants including le gavroche and Claridges and felt much more at ease in these venues. This does not come close and needs to take a chill pill!
Lovely surroundings and food good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awful manageress - cold and unaccommodating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having been on the website, which looks great, my partner and I decided to have dinner here. We deeply regretted the decision very early on in the evening and wished that we’d just left it at a drink and found somewhere else to eat.

The food was quite good but overpriced and completely overshadowed by the awkward atmosphere and the cold, inhospitable and unaccommodating manageress. There was no music and we had to whisper awkwardly all evening. There was no space in the bar area to eat so we had to eat in the lounge area, despite there being a dining room that was completely empty. The chairs and tables were not well-suited to dining, nor were they in the bar area where people were almost sitting on each other’s laps.

The worst part of the experience was the manageress who was cold and fake. She was sycophantic towards those staying in the hotel and looked down her nose at all of those who weren’t. She seemed to think she was running the Ritz and that, as other people have commented on here, she had to vet all of those who entered and if you weren’t up to scratch, you were treated like a second-class citizen. She also wouldn’t substitute the onion rings that came with my meal for a small amount of veg – she said I could either not have them or I could not have them and buy a side order of veg. I don’t find this acceptable when I’m paying £20 for a main meal – most places are willing to swap an ingredient that someone doesn’t like for something of similar value. We were also given bread and butter before the meal but weren’t given any plates or knives with which to eat it – we had to use our steak knives and napkins instead.

All in all, it was an unpleasant experience and I wouldn’t recommend the place to anyone. It was the first time we’ve never left a tip and I think rightly so.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very good food......but a little pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited the peacock for dinner in the bar whilst staying at a nearby B&B. The food was very good (if a little pricey for bar food!). There were only 3 tables occupied when we visited (a monday evening)....couldnt help but think the atmosphere was a little cold and would have been enhanced by some soft background music!

Having said that.....we would still go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

July - on holidays heading from the Lakes District to the Peaks District we came across The Peacock.
Carrot soup followed by fish n chips was enjoyed over a glass of wine at lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock at Rowsley also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Crowdecote, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Peacock at Rowsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peacock at Rowsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.