We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Lodge Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added East Lodge Country House Hotel to your Saves list
East Lodge Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EF , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Other than being woken at 4 30 am by someone stocking up the bar (next door to our room) it was a really lovely stay and somewhere we would recommend. Our room was lovely other than the rude awakening, the hotel and it's grounds were second to none and the chef is to be commended, the food was delicious, the breakfast menu was extensive and all guests we spoke to had nothing but praise. We did have a problem with the tv sorted immediately by the staff and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were friendly, professional and just excellent. A big thank you to all at the hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 15 a lovely ground floor room disabled friendly, comfy beds, large sitting area, tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    50
    12
    10
    12
See reviews for
55
138
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from an overnight stay at East Lodge. Whist I've had Sunday lunch there before, it's the first time I've stayed and it won't be the last! Room 14 was very comfortable with great views across the rolling fields. Bathroom was enormous!! Dinner on Saturday night was great, plenty of choice, very tasty and with great service. Indeed, the service from the staff was top notch from the moment we arrived until the moment we checked out.

Breakfast on Sunday morning again was superb.

Great location, nice gardens, great staff and we will be back.

Thank You!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I recently had my 40th birthday tea party at East Lodge having never visited the hotel before but after a recommendation from a lady at Hassop Hall. What a fantastic place ! the pictures on their website don't do it justice as the gardens and hotel are very lovely.
We had afternoon tea for 34 people and 15 children and the staff and hotel coped brilliantly - nothing was too much trouble. We arrived early to decorate the room with bunting ect and they were more than happy to help us. The food was excellent and more than enough to feed my greedy friends and family.
We also booked a children’s entertainer to keep the kids happy and they were very helpful and took all the pressure off myself in getting him sorted.
My only grip is that I offered to bring my collection of vintage china to serve the tea on but was told that they already serve on vintage china - in reality they serve on modern white hotel china and vintage plates; not quite the same.
However I would be more than happy to go back to East Lodge and would highly recommend the venue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast at East Lodge. The gardens were glorious, the room was comfortable with Sky TV, the staff were helpful and the food was sublime. Day trips to Bakewell, Chatsworth and Monsal Head were wonderful. I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

In a beautiful and peaceful setting this hotel has everything you could wish for. The staff are unobtrusively friendly and helpful, the restaurant is first-class and the rooms are comfortable. The location is very handy for Chatsworth and Haddon Hall, and not far from other places of interest in the Peak District.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We decided to hold our wedding there after many hours of research. The venue did not disappoint our special day, the staff made our guests and us very welcomed. They were very professional and the food was superb, especially the breakfast. We will definitely be celebrating our anniversaries there for years to come.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked East Lodge hotel for our wedding as soon as we saw the beautiful grounds and it suited our wish for an outdoor wedding perfectly. The staff could not have done more in the year building up to our special day and the weekend itself. We had exclusive use over the weekend, starting with a lovely afternoon tea for all our guests on the Friday (where we sat in the grounds for hours watching the fountain and the beautiful changing lights) right through to the HUGE and delicious breakfast on the Sunday.

The day itself went without a hitch and everyone was truly impressed with all the service they received. Sometimes wedding food can be a bit mundane - not here. It was all delicious and great care had gone into all of it, not to mention the amount of food. There was loads! We truly felt like East Lodge would have done anything we asked and dealt with any request.

Every single one of our guests was truly impressed with the venue, the food and the staff. I can not say enough about how wonderful the whole weekend was and it would not have been possible without the professionalism and expertise of East Lodge. Big shout out to Sam and Emma for their support. We had a fantastic wedding weekend and will be back for our anniversary - can't wait! Thanks East Lodge!

Room Tip: Everyone said they had a great room, but they especially loved the baths with TV's in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lodge Country House Hotel

Address: Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your East Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Country
East Lodge Country House Hotel Rowsley, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Lodge Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.